We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Stephan's Passau & organ concert”

St. Stephen's Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“St. Stephan's Passau & organ concert”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The cathedral is a unique and beautiful church and well worth a visit, but the much hyped world's "largest organ" concert is dramatically over-rated.

The day we attended (along with about 2000+ other attendees) to the standing-room only noon concert, the music selection was unusual, and while it likely was intended to demonstrate the volume and range of this organ (there are actually several different organs that contribute, that are scattered around this huge church).

I would definitely visit the cathedral, but I would skip the concert and see another sight or 2, in this fantastic town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gjk0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    270
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guri, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
1,743 reviews
536 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

C1 ( 2013.08.27 )
There was the most biggest building in Passau. At the front of church, the tower that look like blue onion stand. I heard that organ concert was held in church, but I didn't attended. We just looked around there. Good place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Highlight of Passau”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Breathtaking majestic, ornate cathedral. Lovely organ concert, would have liked to know who was playing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very unusual looking altar statues and amazing organ”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Worth going to listen to the organ recital. An amazing sound. There is a charge to do so and the crowds are large during tourist season .Mostly of river cruises I guess so pays to turn up early for a good seat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful...but beware”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were fortunate to be at St Stephen's on a Sunday morning and did think it was a beautiful church. However, I let my guard down during mass and had my wallet picked clean.....beware while you are appreciating the beauty. Lesson learned....never let your guard down!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPlan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Cathedral also viewed

 
Passau, Lower Bavaria
Passau, Lower Bavaria
 

Been to St. Stephen's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing