We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke
Ranked #2 of 179 Restaurants in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food was excellent and the service superb. The building itself was also interesting (I noticed some old glass in the windows).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heimbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    99
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic, charming, delicious--ja, ja und JA!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the front desk staff at Hotel Weiser Hase -- one quick step across a cobblestone lane away. I am so pleased to be able to add to the many good reviews! We liked it so much the first night that we decided to return on our second and final night in Passau. My husband had the lamb (requested rare and extremely happy to receive it rare) our fist evening and the roast suckling pig the second. A huge lamb fan, when it is well prepared, and therefore his favorite, he declared both dinners excellent. I could not drag myself away from that experience of Wiener Schnitzel (chicken rather than veal) on the first evening, had it again the second night. Thin as paper, moist interior wrapped in a delicate crispness -- just the way it should be! Over the two nights our salads included plain, greens salad; the 'mixed' salad (fabulous with a small dollop of cabbage salad hidden under a green salad. We enjoyed the garlic baguette. For dessert we tried the French strawberry strudel, plain vanilla ice cream and hot berries with ice cream. Decaf coffee: one with 'schlag' one without. So what can I say? Two nights of bliss, not a missed step by the chef and a staff that is courteous, attentive and patient, very patient. The service is excellent with regard to pacing and in leaving time for guests to just enjoy the atmosphere and conversation at the end of the meal... no rushing to move you out.

Tip: Ask for the English menu if you are intimidated by the German although the staff is happy to try and explain the ingredients. If you do ask for the English menu, know that it is an abbreviated one and if you can muddle through the German, you will have more choices.

Wait until you see the back garden! On a breezy day, ask to sit a little further back in the garden, about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way in where the wind protection is better. I'll just add the photos. Would we go again? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend it? Certainly. So if like us, you search for authenticity, charm and local experiences in your travels Heilig-Geist-Stiffschenke is for you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Genuine Bavarian atmosphere”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A 14th century monastery turned to wine cellar. Warm environment, typical Bavarian furniture. Many different rooms with special decoration and Bavarian features. Very good and quick service. Friendly smiling people. Reasonable prices. Excellent food. Generous portions. And...good, first quality local draft beer. The beer garden is very inviting and there is a fish tank for those who want to choose their fish live. Next to Passau's shopping centre. Easy to find. Perfect choice for lunch or dinner. Many rewards and Tripadvisor's special quality certificate for 2012! I totally agree!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“yes it's ancient”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

That is what we love about this restaurant each time we visit Bavaria. In the summer time we sat outside in the garden and enjoyed dinner and the ambiance. In the winter the indoor setting is cozy and you literally feel the history surrounding this eatery. We have never been disappointed with lunch or dinner when we were there. I recommend it to any American tourist who might want to experience the old-timey atmosphere of this former monastery,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 912mytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
285 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with fine Bavarian food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spend a nice evening in this lovely restaurant. It is located in a very old building and has tons of atmosphere. The food is typically Bavarian, but with an extra fine toch. Service is fast and pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke also viewed

 
Passau, Lower Bavaria
Passau, Lower Bavaria
 

Been to Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing