We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big tasty meals.”

Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Passau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Big tasty meals.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Passing by early evening and the entrance looked quaintly interesting, so we popped inside. It was bustling - noisy and smokey! However, on asking, a table for two was found in a quieter room with other quieter diners, away from the smoke and bustle of the main bar area.

An English menu was offered making choices considerably easier, drinks and two excellent meals arrived soon after - very large servings! By some odd coincidence, the only other English speakers were at an adjacent table and from our own small hometown half a world away! It was obviously a very popular pub/restaurant with locals too, even in a regular Tuesday night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    100
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacation
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced-slow service”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Made reservation online on their website..when we arrived no record

Food was mediocre and overpriced for what ate...had the specials
We had just arrived in Passau and went to get dinner....afterwards took dog for a walk and saw at least 1/2 dozen places to eat where the food on the plates looked much better

Nice beer garten, well layed out for distances and shrubs for privacy

Chairs could have been a bit more comfy

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Local Food in Passau”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our hotel called to make a booking for us, and even though it was a Saturday night on the first weekend of the Christmas Market in town, the restaurant was able to make a table for ten for us. The food was excellent. The pumpkin soup with pumpkin seed oil, the venison, and the lebkuchen strudel were all especially delicious, although there were so many of us that we tasted a huge variety of excellent dishes. The staff were very busy but took the time to explain the menu in the best English that they could. If you want to have local food, this would be an excellent choice.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeliosNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great choice for regional dishes in Passau”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We found this charming restaurant in Passau by wandering the streets. We were warmly greeted by the staff just as the restaurant was preparing for their evening rush. Most of the tables were reserved which indicated to us that we found a popular eating establishment. The interior had a beautiful rustic look and wood-paneled walls that reminded me of a hunting lodge. The food was fantastic - their roast duck was fabulous on the day we dined there. The owners of the restaurant owns a winery in Austria. My wife, the wine drinker in Germany, enjoyed their white wine (called Gruner Veltliner) and even purchased a few bottles to bring home.The establishment has a nice outdoor patio for dining - something we didn't see until we were about to leave the restaurant. Look for it - you'll have a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank physicsgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Summer dinner in the garden courtyard with a bottle of their house Gruner veltliner made for a relaxing evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke also viewed

 
Passau, Lower Bavaria
Passau, Lower Bavaria
 

Been to Heilig-Geist-Stiftschenke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing