We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kaiserburg Nurnberg
from $11.52
More Info
from $25.35
More Info
from $91.04
More Info
Reviews (3,667)
Filter reviews
3,667 results
Traveler rating
1,764
1,454
391
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,764
1,454
391
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice castle holy roman empire old city guided tour worth a visit chapel german fortifications wwii structure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 3,667 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

This castle was only ok. High up on the hill (where else!), it's under renovations and had very poor signage throughout.
We paid extra to see the deep well.
Had to wait for 40 minutes for the next tour, so went for a walk whilst we waited. When the time came we asked the guide whether it was in English.
He laughed, took us in and proceeded to talk mostly in German with a smattering of English. One other couple needed the English language, and when they talked quietly
amongst themselves they were told off.
The tour lasted a whole 10 minutes and we virtually wasted our time as we didn't understand anything. On a positive note, when he poured water down the well, you realised how deep it was.
Wouldn't bother with the castle or well.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

We enjoyed our visit here. We did have a guided tour with an English speaking guide. The history is quite fascinating and the views over the city are very nice.

We came on a Saturday and it was quite crowded with masses of tourist, so it would probably be a good idea to come early or not on a weekend. During the summer busy season it is probably very crowded.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank leont975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

It's currently under construction so you can't walk all the way around but the view from the top is beautiful. If you walk around the corner you can go to the castle gardens and walk along the wall surrounding the old town.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

Lots of restoration work taking place. Very informative with a selection of many historical exhibits. A fascinating incite into the history of the castle. Recommend the deep well in your visit, a short guided tour of how the water was sourced for the castles inhabitants.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank W0ody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Nice castle in the heart of old Nuremberg. Definitely will want to have a guide to explain history and details of the castle. Our tour only went outside and no rooms were on display - were told that it was used a working youth hostel.

Nice place to see if in Nuremberg.

Jay

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank JayG2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews