We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice castle, did not go inside”

Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.83*
and up
Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip
More Info
$11.73*
and up
Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour
More Info
$75.59*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Day Trip with Train Transport from Munich
Ranked #4 of 178 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice castle, did not go inside”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Enjoyed our walk up the hill to the castle and walking around reading the history. We did not go inside so cannot comment on this. Castle in comparison to others in Europe was very plain but the history was interesting.

Free to view from outside, only cost involved is to view inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,292
    1,057
    273
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice castle on a steep hill”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The castle is nice and we can see Nuremberg city from the castle. We need to climb up a steep hill in order to arrive the castle. The castle is very classic. However, there are not much inside to see. I find that the best thing in the castle is the video show on the ticket office. The video shows the development of castle from a small one to a big one. Also, the last photo of video shows how it was destroyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwkchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice castle but not much inside”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The castle has been restored very nicely and is in excellent condition and the views over the old town are fantasic.

However we though the museum inside could have been better. But still probably just about workwhile.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very steep”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visiting Nuremberg, you have to go to the castle. It is from the city parkhouse a very steep walk, but after you reached the top it was worth the climb. In the museum you can see a lot of history of the city. Buy a ticket for all the attractions of the castle and climb the tower to have a wonderfull look over the city and also vist the waterwell, where they let you see how deep the well is by dumping water in it. AMASING

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“aka Rapunzel's tower”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

One of our daughters insisted we visit the castle; we had already planned to do so. She saw the rounded tower as we drove into the city the night we landed and was ecstatic.
It's a nice walk through the city to reach it. The climb is a bit steep if you have a buggy or pram like we did. We saw a tour guide leading a group but a smartphone is good enough for the casual visitor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank westernkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle) also viewed

 

Been to Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing