We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing view”

Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.05*
and up
Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 171 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Let me start off by warning you: the climb up to the Kaiserburg might be challenging for some and you need to wear the right shiesfor the climb. That being said, the climb was totally worth it. You will be rewarded with a wonderful view of the city. Afterwards, go into the restaurant locate on the base and have some great lunch

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaxfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,207
    1,006
    264
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leskovac, Serbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kaiserburg Castle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was in February by business in Nuremberg and I decided to take a look over this castle.
This is a place from which they say Hitler got his first speech before starting his tour of conquest.
Place has location on hilly part of Nuremberg and if you plan to go by foot you will need to prepare yourself for this. Looks nice and strong when you look it from distance, but I need to say that I was not so much delighted when I get up there. It is just a castle. But, I need to say that the view from the top is wonderful and that the whole city is on your hand palm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra1982-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Really great views of the city from the castle walls. You have to hike up a short hill but well worth the walk. Nice to see the castle and learn about the history, very interesting

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A sight to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went during Labor Day and to our surprise it was still quite warm (80's). The hike up from the city center to the castle can be hard on those not so in shape travelers but once there it is easy to walk around. Not very handicap accessable due to stairs and narrow passage ways. The views of the city were wonderful. The Kaiserburg castle is a must see if in Nuremberg.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisk1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great views, great history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visiting in the dead of winter, most of the tourist attractions were under construction for remodeling until the Spring, as was the castle museum. However, just seeing the grounds and views of the city was well worth the hike, and they offered a reduced price for the medieval museum (optional) that offered a nice overview of the castle history, as well as some great armor and weaponry from the middle ages. Every hour or two, they also offer a fun demonstration of the well in the middle of the grounds that is well worth catching.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kandyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle) also viewed

 

Been to Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing