We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Hotel Keiml

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuremberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Keiml
Ranked #52 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Everything was new and clean. The breakfast was surprisingly good for a little hotel of this scale. There were ham, cheese, boiled eggs, different types of juice and yogurt to choose from, cornflakes, etc etc which I can't recall others.
The only not-so-good point is the hotel is on the 3rd floor, but the building has no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie_mcqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
32
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I have stayed at the Hotel Keiml twice this year. I read the previous reviews and want to give a more accurate picture. I was travelling alone and I was not put off by its location in a mildly "pink light district". The pedestrianised road is wide, well-lit and not at all threatening. The hotel is so clean you could eat off the floor. Frau Keiml is a delight, the German breakfast is enormous, but she always offers a boiled egg and tea if you want it. The rooms are basic but very well appointed, with desk, tv and an en-suite shower room, which was brand new. The only negatives for me were the stairs up to the hotel which is situated on the second and third floors of a large building, ie travel light if you can.

I have stayed at Easter and during the Christmas Market period and both times the room rates were very reasonable compared to other people's accommodation. I am sure that in the summer the rooms could be hot. There is no airconditioning but you would not get that in most German B & B's and certainly not at that room rate. So Americans beware - in Europe airconditioning is not standard in hotels.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and safety
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mature_studentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space (and well heated). The staff was friendly and it was in a good location - in the old town. There were a lot of bars and night clubs around but we didn't have a problem with noise. The only problem was there was no free parking - we had to pay 13 € / day to park in a nearby garage. The breakfast is included in the price and is very good with a large variety (meat, cheese, rolls, eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, fruit juice, coffee, tea ...).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColmarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My girlfriend and I found this place through Rick Steves guidebook. Unfortunately, this was to be the first of many places we stayed at because of RS that were awful.

The "pension" is in reality a series of floors in a big urban apartment building. It is located on a pedestrian-only street and parking is impossible. The hotel operator, Frau Keiml, makes no effort to speak English even though she can (we caught her doing it with her friends).

The rooms were medium-sized. There was no A/C and only an old, rickety water heater that did not work. There was a tiny closet shower set up in the room, with a confusing hot water heater hooked up to it that had to be activated before you could use hot water.

The window had no screen and the insects invaded the place after we were forced to open the window due to the intense heat.

The shower drain did not work well and took several hours to drain after a shower. After it started to drain, there must have been a leak because soon the entire carpet of the room was soaked.

The locks on the doors were not secure at all and we could push our room door open after we locked it.

The toilets down the hall were out of TP the entire time and they were filthy and full of bugs.

Breakfast the next morning was sparse: meats, cheeses and rolls.

All-in-all, this was the most expensive place we stayed, and almost the worst. It was not worth the 50 euro.


Stay somewhere else. Rick Steves obviously hasn't updated his guidebook on this place in a long time, or else seems to think all of these problems are "charming."

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SeattleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Found this through Rick Steve's book. Very nice room, big, high ceilings. Frau Keiml is very nice. Even washed some laundry for us. Room great. Breakfast great. Good/bad location

Two drawbacks: Our room faced the street with a bar on it and the noise was loud the whole night. Also there is no elevator, and you have to walk 2 flights of stairs.

But you are smack downtown, and I would go back there for sure.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 26478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Caritas-pirckheimer-haus
Caritas-pirckheimer-haus
#99 of 126 in Nuremberg
7 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Garni Probst
Hotel Garni Probst
#37 of 126 in Nuremberg
161 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#18 of 126 in Nuremberg
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
85 reviews
Lorenz Hotel Zentral
#89 of 126 in Nuremberg
66 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keiml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keiml

Property: Hotel Keiml
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Keiml Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing