We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
74
24
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
24
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two flights of stairs stayed nights yogurt close to the train station old town perfect stay rooms are modern nice room recommend this hotel meats cheese floor luggage lorenz accommodations hallway german
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 104 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

I am happy to recommend this hotel even though the staff speak little English, they know enough to get by. Breakfast is always a treat, with loads more food than you could possibly eat. I think I'll have an omellete tomorrow! The hotel is right next door to the Modern Art Museum shop.

Room tip: Try to avoid room 7 near the front door.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

We loved this location and the people here were the friendliest we encountered in Germany. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was wonderful and they encouraged you to take something with you and even provided the bags to do so. Room a
Was spotless and comfortable.

To reach the hotel leave the train station, go under the street and go straight ahead and turn left at the Burger King. Hotel is on the left and up two flights of stairs.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Within walking distance of all old town area and quick walk from train station. Rooms are very clean and beds comfortable. Frau Keiml and staff were very accommodating and took great care in seeing that we liked our room and enjoyed breakfast (which was beyond wonderful--such attention to detail and the offer of plastic bags for "take away" was something I've never seen). When we explained to Frau Keiml that we needed to check out early due to our early train departure time, which was before the 7:00 am start of breakfast, her response was, "Then we shall have breakfast ready for you at 5:30, would that be ok?" We told her that wouldn't be necessary and her reply then was that she would have something ready for us to make a sandwich for the train and have a coffee pot ready for us for a quick cup before we left. Her hospitality and extra care made such an impression. We would definitely stay here again. The only negatives I should mention are 1) smoking is allowed in the stairwell and in some of the rooms so you do smell cigarettes as you walk up the stairs to the hotel (no elevator) 2) Wi-Fi signal doesn't reach all rooms, but the signal was fine in the breakfast room and 3) if you stay on a Friday or Sat night, the crowds get loud on the street until the clubs close at 5:00 am so you need to keep windows shut (and maybe earplugs in) or ask for a room that faces the courtyard if you are a light sleeper. ---A conveniently located, cozy, very reasonably-priced hotel that we look forward to spending time at again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

This is a quaint, old place - which is my preferred style of accommodation when in Germany. The host was very nice and accommodating. The room is basic but the necessities are there. It is extremely clean and the location is good. A wonderful traditional breakfast is provided with lots of choices. My only negative comment is that they indicated there was wi-fi. I had reserved two rooms on different floors and both rooms had connection problems. Also, be aware that there is not an elevator and no ground floor rooms.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! The entrance had us worried as it looks like a semi "red light district" just past the entrance. However, the neighborhood is pretty tame and the rooms face a quiet courtyard so there was no street noise. The breakfast was substantial and included eggs to order and a flask of coffee right at your table. The server was extremely attentive and offered us plastic baggies so we could pack up sandwiches and fruit for lunch on the go. Who does that? Nice touch.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Formulaman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews