We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at Motel One for one night and found it to be excellent value for money.

Check in was fast, efficient and we were readily helped out with advice on local sights etc. Maps are also provided :)

The room was small, basic but had a comfortable and contemporary feel.
Air con was a plus as it was a warm night and was put to good use.

Breakfast was included in the cheap rate and was great. A high standard is achieved with good quality products.

The hotel is within walking distance to the sights and provides parking (for a fee) that is easy to use.

As a side note we ate at Kettensteg (Maxplatz 35) for dinner which was delish! Franconian cuisine in a half-timbered house by the River Pegnitz. Admittedly a bit of a walk from the hotel but worth it and close by if your in town.

Great value all over!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Grux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    101
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
58
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Booked three nights in a double room. The rooms are compact, but clean and well decorated, with a bit more style than the average hotel chain. En suite bathroom had an amazing shower!

The hotel is located just outside the city wall, to the south. The main road outside the hotel is pretty noisy, which was my only gripe, but with air conditioning in the rooms you can try to avoid opening the window. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk into the centre of the city, and 15 minutes walk to the main train station. If you don't want to walk, there is an U-Bahn station nearby, which is also on the direct line to the airport.

Staff were on the whole friendly and helpful, and I recommend the breakfast buffet with cereals, fresh bread, croissants, jam, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juice, tea and fresh coffee all on offer.

I would definitely use the Motel One chain again. The hotel was comfortable, clean, and felt more expensive than it actually was.

  • Liked — More charm than the average chain hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcherrypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

On arrival at Motel One we found the place to be clean, modern and the staff were friendly and approachable.

The rooms, although on the small size, were also clean and tidy and the decor was lovely and very up to date. The bathroom was great - the shower incredible!!! Towels were cleaned every day. Flat screen TV in each room which was a good touch.

Breakfast was superb. Fresh bread, colds meats, cheese, yoghurts... basically all continental style. It is well organised by the staff and we very much enjoyed it!!!

Nuernberg itself is a lovely place. We went over for 5 days on 17 December 2007 to visit the Christmas market. I think 5 days was too long for us - we would have liked somewhere more lively, but enjoyed our pre-Christmas break anyway :)

  • Liked — The breakfast and the decor.
  • Disliked — One of the receptionists was a bit abrupt... but no big deal.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Nikki_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Location: A short walk from the U-bahn, and a short 10min walk to the main square. The area where the hotel is located is outside the walled old town, surrounded by lots of hotels, and as with all Motel One's near a major road.

Room: We stayed in a double. Good sized room. Cleanliness was very good. Bathroom was fairly large, good shower. Bed was firm and comfortable. Just note, there is not much in-room information about the hotel, no phone or fridge. No big dramas.

Service: The staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have breakfast but it looked good.

Value: Its very good value and was perfect for us visiting the Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandangledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

situated just a short walk from the centre of nurnberg , motel one was a pleasant clean hotel with comfortable beds and good clean bathroom with powerful shower. lobby area served drinks and the staff were excellent , very friendly and helpful, definately value for money

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank khmerbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Although the word "MOTEL" made me a tad scared- this hotel was just perfect! We wanted an inexpensive hotel centrally or close to the downtown area and this "motel" met all those expectations.

PROS:
1. Room was super clean, modern and fresh
2. Bathroom was also super clean, modern and had a wonderful shower.
3. Lobby was cool looking and front desk staff while a tad understaffed helped us with any of our needs.
4. Location- Hotel is 5-8minutes walk from the wall of Nurnberg which is basocally the downtown area so we were really happy with this.
5. Parking was right at the hotel. Since much of the downtown area is a pedestrian area I think it's hard to park downtown so being on the outskirts of the city was much better for having a car/parking etc.

CONS:
These were not cons that affected us yet could be to others.
1. The hotel or motel is really basic, hardly no bathroom amenities, no coffee maker, no safe etc. Really just a basic NICE COOL & HIP ROOM.
2. Again, location was good for us and close enough 5-8min. walk BUT I must tell you that in walking back we did walk by a sketchy road with strip joints etc.
3. A tad noisy.. we were in Room 103 and this was the only complaint- we could hear young voices prob. coming home from the clubs and bars yelling and being drunk. This was annoying but then again this can happen anywhere!

So... for 59EURO.. we were more than thrilled and happy.

Raffy

  • Liked — The Rooms were clean, trendy, modern and hip!
  • Disliked — It really was fine for what we needed. Maybe more maps, literature of the area.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BellinaRaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

I spent four nights at this hotel for a Christmas shopping break in Nuremberg. It is only a few minutes walk from the old centre of Nuremberg - a fantastic location.

The breakfast was a little uninspiring and the coffee dreadful, but apart from that it's a very nice environment - modern and clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Coffee!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire2Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Motel One Nuernberg-City
#33 of 126 in Nuremberg
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fackelmann
#39 of 126 in Nuremberg
126 reviews
Gostenhof
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
#62 of 126 in Nuremberg
413 reviews
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
#26 of 126 in Nuremberg
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer

Property: Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer
Address: Steinbuehler Str. 13, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#31 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Motel One Nuernberg-Plaerrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Nuernberg Plarrer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing