We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel - a real hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Marienbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marienbad
Ranked #44 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

When you book a hotel you don't know about, it's always open to a bit of luck as to whether it's good or bad. Pleasingly, after a very long train journey from the UK, Hotel Marienbad turned out to be a real gem of a place.

The welcome was warm, the rooms spacious and comfortable, breakfast excellent and the service that little bit more personal than the big chain hotels, which reflects that this is a family owned establishment. Its location is excellent - a two-minute walk from the railway station and five minutes (if that) from the city centre, and for railfans, the very good DB Museum is a five minutes' walk away.

I must single out Stefan and Berndt for the care and attention they showed me during my two night stay: they were so friendly and welcoming that Hotel Marienbad felt like a real home from home almost immediately.

I'll certainly be returning - and if you're travelling to Nuremburg, I can't recommend this excellent hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Within a stones throw from the station yet we heard no noise even though we slept with the windows open. This is an owner run older hotel so the rooms are quite compact. Our room was not one of the renovated ones but it was wonderfully clean and had old world charm. The breakfast was great, we missed the "hot" breakfast as it is immediately on your left as you enter the breakfast room but had it the following two mornings - easy to miss with lots of other choice.
The owners son is extremely helpful and aims to get you the best deal on train fares etc. They are not into making a quick buck off unsuspecting tourists and genuinely try and give you the best advice. This is over the road from the olde town and is great value as you don't have to pay premium prices for those that are located in the old town. Pick up a brochure at the reception and do one of Billy's walking tours. Cheap and good.
The only recommendation is that they provide alternatives to continental pillows as they are too soft.

Room Tip: We had an attic room which housed three of us and it was great - bathroom is very cosy though but cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrainChangeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is its location next to the train station while at the same time being near to the city. It is one of the few hotels that we could find that was spacious enough to accommodate 3 beds and still had space for our luggage and for us to walk in the room. The room we had was quiet even though it faced the train tracks. Very well sound proofed windows.

The buffet breakfast was very generous and of a good quality. In addition to the normal cold cuts, fruits, yogurt and bread, it also had hard boiled eggs and sausages. The hotel staff was very friendly, making great suggestions for dinner.

In addition, the price was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated just across the street from the southern entrance through the old city walls. It is on a small street behind and that makes it nice and quiet at night. The windows face the train tracks but we slept with the window open and were not disturbed at all. Staff are SUPER friendly and helpful. Easy walk to and from all tourist sites within the old city. Highly recommend this for location, price, friendliness and cleanliness.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BD_in_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice hotel convenient to the train station and other attractions. Best breakfast in a 21 day European trip. Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable, bath very tiny but clean. Staff very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just walk out of the West entrance to the main train station, cross the road walk a few metres and you will reach the Hotel Marienbad. A perfect location and a lovely hotel. We had a family room with 4 beds (Two downstairs and two up in a loft area). The room was spacious yet cosy with a huge, well equipped bathroom. We just LOVED it. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety catering for all tastes. The station was full of interesting shops and restaurants. The car hire place was here so it was very convenient. The old City and castle is about a 5 minute walk away, just across the road from the station. Full of quaint shops, supermarkets and coffee houses. A really lovely place to stroll through. We really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: If a party of 4, choose the family room. Good value and quite spacious too. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waveracercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just a short walk from the railway station this hotel is not much to look at but don't judge a book by its cover.
We were welcomed by the receptionist who spoke good English and were given a good size room overlooking the rear. Numerous hotels in this street are currently being renovated but we were not disturbed by the building works.
There was a odd smell in the corridor which could have been carpet glue as the carpets looked new.
A minor problem was the shower head over the bath - this could not be adjusted and when you turned it on the water sprayed the full length of the bathroom and hit the far wall.
The breakfast was good and plentiful the staff were very helpful.
If you are visiting Nuremberg you will not go wrong if you select this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
art & business Hotel
#9 of 126 in Nuremberg
382 reviews
Gostenhof
ArtHotel City
ArtHotel City
#74 of 126 in Nuremberg
75 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#46 of 126 in Nuremberg
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gostenhof
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
Leonardo Hotel Nurnberg
#59 of 126 in Nuremberg
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marienbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marienbad

Address: Eilgutstr. 5, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#8 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $96 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marienbad 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideales, familiengeführtes Stadthotel für Städtereisen und Geschäftsreisen nach Nürnberg.Nur 100 Meter vom Nürnberger Hauptbahnhof entfernt liegt Ihr Domizil in einer Nebenstraße und ist nur 500 Meter vom historischen Zentrum entfernt. Das Messezentrum Nürnberg erreichen sie bequem innerhalb von 15 Minuten.Traditionelle Werte, authentische Gastlichkeit und moderne Ausstattung zeichnen unser privat geführtes Hotel im Besonderen Maße aus und machen es für Sie zum idealen Ausgangspunkt um Nürnberg zu entdecken.Unser aufmerksames, kompetentes und freundliches Team sorgt immer für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marienbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienbad Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing