We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a Good Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marienbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marienbad
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just walk out of the West entrance to the main train station, cross the road walk a few metres and you will reach the Hotel Marienbad. A perfect location and a lovely hotel. We had a family room with 4 beds (Two downstairs and two up in a loft area). The room was spacious yet cosy with a huge, well equipped bathroom. We just LOVED it. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety catering for all tastes. The station was full of interesting shops and restaurants. The car hire place was here so it was very convenient. The old City and castle is about a 5 minute walk away, just across the road from the station. Full of quaint shops, supermarkets and coffee houses. A really lovely place to stroll through. We really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: If a party of 4, choose the family room. Good value and quite spacious too. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waveracercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
50
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just a short walk from the railway station this hotel is not much to look at but don't judge a book by its cover.
We were welcomed by the receptionist who spoke good English and were given a good size room overlooking the rear. Numerous hotels in this street are currently being renovated but we were not disturbed by the building works.
There was a odd smell in the corridor which could have been carpet glue as the carpets looked new.
A minor problem was the shower head over the bath - this could not be adjusted and when you turned it on the water sprayed the full length of the bathroom and hit the far wall.
The breakfast was good and plentiful the staff were very helpful.
If you are visiting Nuremberg you will not go wrong if you select this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We rang on our way to Germany (long drive from Croatia) after having some trouble with our car. The night porter said he will wait for us and show us the car park and things. We arrived at 3 in the morning, the gentleman was very helpful and kind. In the morning, the receptionist was equally as helpful and kind and the service left us all in a great mood. Of course quality of the hotel was outstanding and spotless cleanliness. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Family room has a double bed and two singles with an andresola - very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartosz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
398 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Family owned private hotels in Germany are always the best bet if you appreciate a good service. Marienbad is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in Germany. The receptionists - Stefan and Bernd - made us feel very welcome and happily pointed us the must sees in Nuremberg as well as the best spots for dinner. The hotel is conveniently located just outside of of the main gates of the Old Town. Railway station is also next door, but unlike in most big cities, the Hauptbahnhof Nurnberg does not represent a social danger to it's adjacent neighborhood. Highly recommended, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful property, just steps from the main train station. Wonderful value and charming staff who were extremely helpful with any request. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet outstanding with good variety abd generous quantities. Have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yünlin, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The stuff was pretty nice and helpful for our town trip.
He gave us lots of useful information.
Besides, the location was just nearby Hbf, and u can just walk the old town in 5 mins.
And also nice breakfast..
工作人員友善的介紹景點並且推薦路線,給了我們很多的意見。
此外,這家飯店的地點相當方便 就在車站旁,走路到古城也只需要5分鐘
早餐頗不錯!

Room Tip: location was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fafadadeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying in this very clean Family run hotel .We spent quiet a few days there last year in September I think it was, we were travelling freelance for 3 months on Eurail pass . We didnt book any hotels before we left. Marienbad Hotel was so nice and close to the train station . What we loved was the Family run feeling and the staff were extremely caring , I would definitely go back to this hotel .

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
#54 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
art & business Hotel
#8 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#36 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marienbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marienbad

Property: Hotel Marienbad
Address: Eilgutstr. 5, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marienbad 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideales, familiengeführtes Stadthotel für Städtereisen und Geschäftsreisen nach Nürnberg.Nur 100 Meter vom Nürnberger Hauptbahnhof entfernt liegt Ihr Domizil in einer Nebenstraße und ist nur 500 Meter vom historischen Zentrum entfernt. Das Messezentrum Nürnberg erreichen sie bequem innerhalb von 15 Minuten.Traditionelle Werte, authentische Gastlichkeit und moderne Ausstattung zeichnen unser privat geführtes Hotel im Besonderen Maße aus und machen es für Sie zum idealen Ausgangspunkt um Nürnberg zu entdecken.Unser aufmerksames, kompetentes und freundliches Team sorgt immer für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marienbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienbad Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing