We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDED”
Review of Hotel Marienbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marienbad
Ranked #43 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is well-located near the main train station. The front desk was efficient and friendly. The room was nicely appointed, spacious, and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the satellite TV, mini-bar, and free wi-fi. Breakfast was excellent, abundant, and varied. Overall, it was a positive experience and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

A small, quiet hotel just outside the city walls, a short walk from the Bahnhof, which means shops and services are very nearby. Easy to reach by rail from the airport, and convenient to the area's rail system.
I arrived very early, and the owner offered breakfast and storage for my luggage. By the time I'd finished breakfast, my room was ready. He mapped out a walking tour of the city for me, which I thoroughly enjoyed.
When I left, they packed a lunch for me so I could eat on the road, adding fruit, juice and water to the sandwich I'd composed from the breakfast table.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripEvalu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is just next to the train and bus station, no need for taxi. You can also walk to the old town. Clean normal hotel with a decent breakfast. There was no hot water but they waited for the plumber since Sunday, and had the same problem with the credit card, but they finally figured it out

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedondaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked a family room and were upgraded to two spacious rooms with no additional charge. Hotel was clean and quiet with excellent buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff, no problem leaving our car there after check out. It was a nice gesture that the owner was there to say goodbye to us. Great location. Love to return one day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There was no access to hot water across the entire hotel due to a problem with the boiler and we were not informed of this in advance, despite the hotel having our email address.

The heater in the room did not work and the bed sheets were very thin.

Additionally, there was also a broken lightbulb in the bathroom which kept turning on and off intermittently - quite annoying. Adding to this, a very small, hard to notice elevation between the bathroom floor and the room caused my 60 year old father to trip and hurt his leg.

The receptionist did not speak English and the credit card machine did not work either, which was quite inconvenient.

I did not enjoy my stay here and neither did the rest of my family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we checked in on Friday night we were met by a very friendly Man who spoke English very well.He was the Son of the owners .We were given a good size room with bathroom ,Tv is good it gives at least 3 english speaking channels. Wifi is available for a few euros , Breakfast was very good there was choice of yoghuts and fruit cereal and Eggs and sausages . For the price of $89 euros this i thought was very good , There is also a small minibar fridge in the room which can be used for your own things , The hotel is about 50 metres from the western end of the Central station. This is very convenient for anyone travelling by train like myself ,Personnally i like to support Private Hotels and this is a good one

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quiter because they are not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank victoria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we had been informed when we booked that the elevator will not be working due to renovations.we were on first floor.it was silent,we slept well.the hotel was very close to the train station and the police headquarters.we stayed about a week as we planned daily trips to Bamberg and Munich and Würzburg.however mostly when we entered the hotel there was no one around at the reception.people usually stayed for a day or two.linens were clean and the towels were changed every day.but twice we found things that did not belong to us in our room.once a screw driver and then an invoice for some guest! some long hair on the bathroom wall which did not belong to us as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayhan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Gostenhof
ArtHotel City
ArtHotel City
#72 of 126 in Nuremberg
75 reviews
art & business Hotel
#9 of 126 in Nuremberg
378 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Nurnberg
#70 of 126 in Nuremberg
342 reviews
Derag Livinghotel Nurnberg
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
361 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marienbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marienbad

Address: Eilgutstr. 5, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $89 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marienbad 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideales, familiengeführtes Stadthotel für Städtereisen und Geschäftsreisen nach Nürnberg.Nur 100 Meter vom Nürnberger Hauptbahnhof entfernt liegt Ihr Domizil in einer Nebenstraße und ist nur 500 Meter vom historischen Zentrum entfernt. Das Messezentrum Nürnberg erreichen sie bequem innerhalb von 15 Minuten.Traditionelle Werte, authentische Gastlichkeit und moderne Ausstattung zeichnen unser privat geführtes Hotel im Besonderen Maße aus und machen es für Sie zum idealen Ausgangspunkt um Nürnberg zu entdecken.Unser aufmerksames, kompetentes und freundliches Team sorgt immer für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Marienbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienbad Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing