We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint historic hotel in the Old Town”
Review of Hotel Elch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elch
Ranked #6 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Datchworth, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quaint historic hotel in the Old Town”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Hotel Elch in Nuremberg (room 2 again !). We travel to Nuremberg each September in order to visit the Altstadtfest (beer festival).

This hotel is an old historic building, quirky with uneven creaky floor boards. The hotel staff are accommodating, breakfast is very good and the rooms are clean, simple but very nice. If you like staying in modern accommodation then go elsewhere.

The location is very good, the hotel is positioned within the old town and a short walk from the castle. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 was perfectly ok and overlooked the street. No street noise to speak of that we were aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    135
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
173
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My sister and I booked this hotel as it looked interesting and central. It was also old,clean and homely.
This means no lift and as we are a little older in years, if not spirit it meant a steep three floors climb to our twin room but the cases were brought up/down by friendly staff. Still it was a little limiting, this in spite of our request for a room on a lower floor.Alas no special view from the window because this was a room in a roof space overlooking only another roof opposite.
The hotel is very friendly,very clean with aircon, lovely shower and a good breakfast.Loved the smiley faces drawn on our morning boiled eggs. Nice touch. The helpful staff spoke several languages including English and Czech. Great!!
The location was fantastic - right in the middle; near the famous Market square, castle, Toy museum, Durer museum, City museum, bead shop and restaurants and vast variety of shops. We would like to return there but would prefer to stay at a lower floor .

Room Tip: Try to avoid upper floors if less agile. Children ( and grown ups) may love the Toy museum locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StridLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Elch for four nights in June. The hotel, although only a short walk away from the main square, is situated in a peaceful area of the old town. Our room on the second floor was well appointed, the bed very comfortable, with pleasant views from the window.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was generous and filling.
We ate twice at the Schnitzelria restaurant on the ground floor. The menu and wine suggestions given by the waitress were spot on both occasions and we enjoyed our meals immensely.
We would definitely stay at Hotel Elch again if we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffNoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff at the Hotel Elch was very welcoming and accommodating during our stay. The rooms were somewhat small, but very adequate and decorated lovely. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious and a delightful German atmosphere. The location is great - a short walk to the town square and an easy walk to the castle. The day we left the hotel let us keep our car parked in their lot for some time after checkout so we could tour more of the old town. It was raining, and we didn't have enough umbrellas, and they were kind to lend us three for our walk. Would definitely recommend! (Note: there is no elevator, and our floor was up 4 flights of stairs - not a problem for us, just something to be aware of)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wanted to stay in old town area,so spent a night there.Easy access to shopping area and underground.The hotel's facilities are kind old,but the view from the room was cute looking worth drawing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyoukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. There was some initial confusion of where to check in since we didn't see the sign to head into the restaurant. Really enjoyed the restaurant downstairs for dinner one night and breakfast one morning. The staff was great about sharing tips and history of the building. The room itself was ok decor wise (the randomly plastic beaded chandelier was strange) but the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaYunC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our two night stay at the Hotel Elch was wonderfull. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, room was quiet, just the right size for two, and very clean. Lots of character in the exposed wood beams and creaking wood floors. Staff were friendly and accomodating even though we arrived early on our first day. Highly recommended for anyone who is not afraid to stay in an hotel that is not the holiday inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
517 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
868 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
196 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Hotel Agneshof
#22 of 126 in Nuremberg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elch

Property: Hotel Elch
Address: Irrerstr. 9, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elch Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing