We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the Altstadt”
Review of Hotel Elch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elch
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the Altstadt”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, the parking area, while small, is right across the street which is very convenient (see pictures). You can't get much closer to the Altstadt, which was great for visiting the Christkindlmarkt or anything in the central part of the city. The staff speaks good English and were very friendly, so that is a plus if you do not speak German.

The hotel Schnitzelria downstairs was excellent so be sure to book early. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage a lower floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xHypex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    122
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
157
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - 23/24 Dec :)
I was drawn to the hotel for booking - due to the building itself being an old half timbered "gingerbread house" and the age of it having been established as a hotel in 1342 and being the first hotel in Nuremberg - the reviews online were mostly positive and the price was within budget and included breakfast and wifi - what wasn't to like.

Travelling during the Christmas period ment that alot of the larger atractions in town were closed but the staff were able to point us in the direction of a few gems to keep us entertained and get a feel for the town.

The room was a great size, room to dance if you want to have a groove - a barfridge, tv, small amount of hanging space - bathroom clean and nicely sized. Walking distance (15mins) from the main train station into Nuremberg.

I noticed somebody in another review mentioning it being "dark" in the rooms - we noticed that though most of Europe they are using power efficient globes in many of the hotels, that become brighter as they warm up - so initially when you turn them on they are a little dim but this does improve over a short amount of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_loves_Dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My parents and I came here on the 17-19 December. They had a spacious double room (number 7) and I had number 10 in the attic, which was smaller, but still had a double. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous! The showers were hot and very powerful and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast consisted of- any beverage hot or cold, cereal, cooked breakfast to cold meats and cheeses and breads. Very nice! What really impressed me was how close the hotel was to everything- the underground, the christmas markets and the museums. There are also some lovely restaurants around. The staff were so very lovely with a good sense of humour and they spoke flawless english, even if they were very modest about it! If you want a hotel with character and close to everything this is perfect! The only downside is that the walls are rather thin and can hear other people and noise outside, but this does not go on for too late! I had the most wonderful time here, and if I could I would be back there now!

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage or are less mobile, as to be on a lower floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaspeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a really lovely two night stay here, the location is ideal and I love the decor, especially the timber! Comfy beds, friendly staff, good breakfast with plenty of choice. Only criticism is tht it's quite dark in the rooms even with all the lights on so hard to find things in your luggage etc! Definitely recommend the place and would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent five nights in room number 2 during the chrismasmarket. The room was charmingly half-timberd, quite large and had very comfortable beds. Also there was a sittingarea with two armchairs and a small table. Our friends had the room next door. It was very different: walls painted in pink and with the most colorful and eyecatching lamp hanging from the ceiling. But they too had a sittingarea and the same comfortable beds. Our only complaints are that the bathrooms did not have a heatingsystem. In December it was a bit uncomfortable in the morning. But the heater in the room functioned well!
The breakfast was served in the restaurant, which really gives you the feeling of being back in the old times. It was exceptionally pleasant and cosy! And the breakfast was good with enough choises.
We highly reccomend trying out the restaurant for dinner if one likes schnitzel. It seemd to be popular with locals and visitors alike.The staff both in the restaurant and in the hotel, could not have been more helpfull and friendly.
The property is situated in a very charming sidestreet, and is only about a five minutes easy walk from the mail market square. Nurenberg is a very beautifull city with a lot to see and learn, so chanses are that we will return there some day. If we do, we will most likely choose Hotel Elch again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature_coupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This historic hotel is cosy and in a perfect location in the historic center.
Don't expect room service and amenities in this small place. We gladly lugged our suitcases up to the third floor to a not so small room overlooking Irrerstrasse. Soon, the hotel brought in an additional bed for our daughter (we had not been able to book another room for her). The breakfast buffet is not opulent but served well to prepare us for a day of walking through historic Nuremberg. The downstairs restaurant is a 'Schnitzeleria', and those who are fans of milanesas of all kinds are in for a treat. The owners/personnel are friendly. The central location makes it possible to enjoy long summer nights in town and to take in the atmosphere without having to use bus, subway, or taxi.
Here are a few caveats:
We had to park in a parking structure nearby, because the hotel has limited space (13 Euro for 24 hours). If you plan to explore Nuremberg on foot, this should not be a problem.
There can be noise on the street from people returning late, the occasional car, and partying locals.
Not every room looks as historic and stylish as shown in the photos on the web site.
Our room had a large street light just in front of the window.
Upstairs rooms can be very hot in summer and there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you want history and character stay at The Elch. We spent 2 nights in Room 2 on the first floor and were very comfortable in a good sized room on the front of the hotel. The little touches were nice - chocolates on the bed on arrival and fresh tulips in the room. Location wise it is perfectly situated on a quiet side street with a sprinkling of restaurants nearby, The Castle is 5 mins walk uphill and the main square just minutes walk away aswell.

We liked the fact the hotel was family run and all the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast served by the grandmother in the very old rustic beamed restaurant was delightful - hams and cheeses, fruit and yoghurt, bacon and scrambled or boiled eggs, coffee, juices, toast etc. In the evening, the restaurant becomes a 'Schnitzelria' and we enjoyed some of their special Schnitzels on our last evening served by the granddaughter who runs the evening restaurant separately. The first night we dined in 'Bratwurst Roslein' in Rathausplatz and again had a very good meal. We thought Nuremberg was beautiful and enjoyed just wandering around exploring the back streets. There is a daily walking tour at 1pm (I think) from outside the Post Office on the square if you would prefer a proper guide.

Our only complaint was the shower screen was very stiff and awkward in our bathroom, but other than that we had a perfect stay in The Elch and would definitely return if we were ever in Nuremberg again. Finally, there is no lift so if you have heavy luggage ask for a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if that is a problem ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#15 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elch

Property: Hotel Elch
Address: Irrerstr. 9, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elch Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing