We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel in Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Elch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elch
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small Hotel in Perfect Location”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This historic hotel is cosy and in a perfect location in the historic center.
Don't expect room service and amenities in this small place. We gladly lugged our suitcases up to the third floor to a not so small room overlooking Irrerstrasse. Soon, the hotel brought in an additional bed for our daughter (we had not been able to book another room for her). The breakfast buffet is not opulent but served well to prepare us for a day of walking through historic Nuremberg. The downstairs restaurant is a 'Schnitzeleria', and those who are fans of milanesas of all kinds are in for a treat. The owners/personnel are friendly. The central location makes it possible to enjoy long summer nights in town and to take in the atmosphere without having to use bus, subway, or taxi.
Here are a few caveats:
We had to park in a parking structure nearby, because the hotel has limited space (13 Euro for 24 hours). If you plan to explore Nuremberg on foot, this should not be a problem.
There can be noise on the street from people returning late, the occasional car, and partying locals.
Not every room looks as historic and stylish as shown in the photos on the web site.
Our room had a large street light just in front of the window.
Upstairs rooms can be very hot in summer and there is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    122
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
156
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you want history and character stay at The Elch. We spent 2 nights in Room 2 on the first floor and were very comfortable in a good sized room on the front of the hotel. The little touches were nice - chocolates on the bed on arrival and fresh tulips in the room. Location wise it is perfectly situated on a quiet side street with a sprinkling of restaurants nearby, The Castle is 5 mins walk uphill and the main square just minutes walk away aswell.

We liked the fact the hotel was family run and all the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast served by the grandmother in the very old rustic beamed restaurant was delightful - hams and cheeses, fruit and yoghurt, bacon and scrambled or boiled eggs, coffee, juices, toast etc. In the evening, the restaurant becomes a 'Schnitzelria' and we enjoyed some of their special Schnitzels on our last evening served by the granddaughter who runs the evening restaurant separately. The first night we dined in 'Bratwurst Roslein' in Rathausplatz and again had a very good meal. We thought Nuremberg was beautiful and enjoyed just wandering around exploring the back streets. There is a daily walking tour at 1pm (I think) from outside the Post Office on the square if you would prefer a proper guide.

Our only complaint was the shower screen was very stiff and awkward in our bathroom, but other than that we had a perfect stay in The Elch and would definitely return if we were ever in Nuremberg again. Finally, there is no lift so if you have heavy luggage ask for a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if that is a problem ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Neat and clean rooms, very spatious.The girl at the reception is very kind. It has no elevator, so you have to go up carring your luggage yourself. The hotel has a parking nearby that costs €10

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patoymajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just back from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Hotel Elch in Nuremberg. Lovely old hotel in the historic Altstadt. Hotel is in a fantastic location, close to all the main sights. Everything is within easy walking distance, even the walk up the hill to the castle is not too hard going. Hotel is nice and clean, as was our large bedroom The hot buffet breakfast is excellent, also plenty of cold meats and cheeses. Staff were also very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again if we returned. Nuremberg itself is absolutely wonderful, the castle and all the old town are beautiful, a photographers dream.
One slight fault was the room could have been a little warmer at this time of year, but apart from that everything else was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim_m_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had 3 rooms as there were six of us, including children. They were all double rooms, but definitely differed in size. The attic room on the top floor was the smallest but the other 2 rooms off the first landing were much bigger. It is a gorgeous and unique place to stay. There are lots of stairs to the attic room and you need to carry your luggage so be aware of that. Lots of choices for breakfast. I enjoyed the quirky feel of this hotel, even the creaky stairs. Perfect location for the old city of Nuremberg and less than a 5 minute walk to the castle. Yes if we could we would be back to stay here again! Tried to on our return through Nuremberg in December but it was fully booked months in advance. Cost was 78euros per room, including breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is in a good location for exploring old town. The rooms are very clean. We arrived and were given a room on the 4th floor. It was an odd shaped room with dormers and beds on opposite sides of the room. It was considered a double. I asked for another room and was given another room the next day on a lower floor. There is a certain amount of character given the age of the building, however I felt it was overpriced for the accommodations. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was good, lots of variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevinfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Pros:
- excellent location within the city
- rooms clean and comfortable
- ancient building of considerable charm (plus elk)
- breakfast adequate
- in the evenings the ground floor turns into a smiley schnitzelria serving very tasty food - worth trying even if you aren't staying at the hotel. Note that it is run separately from the hotel so you pay separately.
Cons:
- the floors (and much else) are wooden so unless you are on the top floor you are rather at the mercy of the room above you unless its occupants wear slippers.
- there is no general "lounging" area for guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elch

Property: Hotel Elch
Address: Irrerstr. 9, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Elch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elch Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing