We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel; but service not what it should be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Nuernberg City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Nuernberg City Center
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
599 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,187 helpful votes
“Good hotel; but service not what it should be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed one night in December 2010 at the NH Nurnberg City Hotel to visit the Christmas market. We choose this hotel because of its location, near the historic city center and because my husband wanted to pay for the nights stay with his NH points. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the train station and 12 minutes to the old city walls. It was a good location to visit the Christmas market, German museum, cathedral, restaurants and historic sites; however the immediate area around the hotel is uninspiring looks at the train tracks and looks a bit drab. Check in was fast and efficient. Parking was very convenient; attached to the hotel, covered and luggage carts are provided; it costs 14EU/per day. Our room was typical for business hotels, moderate size, modern and very clean. Water pressure fluctuated as did the hot/cold water from warm to near scalding temperatures in the shower. There was a mini bar, but no coffee making service. The TV was not flat screen. The room had wired internet service at 15EU/24 hours and was very fast; cables are obtained from reception.
The gym has 6 cardiovascular machines, no free weights and is very small. There is a nice spa with a sauna, showers and stone beds all very well maintained. Breakfast was not included in the room rate and was 20EU/pp, rather expensive for someone who doesn’t eat a lot and it’s not possible to order a al carte so after inquiring they offered me a “small breakfast” from the buffet at half price, which we thought was very fair. If you can’t find something to eat, nothing will please you! It was a very extensive spread of food and beverages. Over all a good stay until we checked out. My husband attempted to use his NH points to pay but “the computer wouldn’t accept them: just 43 points”. Rather than solve the problem, off line, taking care of the costumer, they insisted on a credit card to pay for the stay and they were unable to explain why we couldn’t pay the total bill with points. As a long time NH costumer my husband felt this was very poor service and left us with bad feelings upon departure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    479
    113
    22
    18
See reviews for
116
299
66
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I Chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and it was way way better than expected!
Our room was soo nice and the bed amazingly comfortable. The room temp had to been set to a really warm temp so when we went it was great - we defrosted quite fast. Seeing its winter and its snowing there! It was great!

Good that they have an English Movie channel. Each nite we look fwd to going back to ur room, unwind and watch a movie!!

The staff was helpful and accomodating. They even have a massive jar of candy on the desk - awesome! Always good to have some 'sugar' to get energy started!

The hotel is soo conveniently located u cant really ask for more! Once u walk out the main train station, u turn right and walk for 3 minutes, and once u see the Chinese restaurant on the corner ( across the road) not far from there u will see the massive NH logo!

The Christmas Markets in Nuremberg is sooo cools! Love it heaps! Definitely worth staying at NH Nurnberg City! U wont be disappointed!

I am definitely recommending this hotel to all my friends if they go to Nuremberg!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmerstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I chose this hotel due to its high ranking on tripadvisor and I was very pleased with my choice. We stayed for three nights and we were very happy with the room. The staff were extremely helpful and would go out of their way to help. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the last night and the food was very good. I think they were perhaps slightly short staffed as there was some waiting time but you could see that the staff were trying and doing their best.
The location of the hotel is convenient for most things around Nurnberg, as it is within walking distance of the U bahn and the Hauptbahnhof. It's not the most desirable part of town but it feels safe, is convenient for public transport and was quiet. There is a fairly major road outside but we were not affected by the noise of the traffic.
The cost of the hotel was reasonable and the bar was also reasonably priced. Some of the food was expenisve on the menu but I had an excellent entrecote steak, which was 27 euros, and despite being fairly costly, it was one of the best I have had. Cooked to perfection.
The hotel was clean. They had to cope with the snow, and therefore people trudging in snow from outside, and they kept the floors clean and dry. I cannot fault the hotel. It was not in the top bracket price range, so do not expect glitzy decor, and you should be happy with what you pay for.
It was about 15 minutes walk to the famous Nurnberg Christmas market.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The NH Nürnberg City is located at a convenient distance from the central train and bus station, aswell as downtown. When entering the lobby you are met with a very elegant and somewhat sterile feel that will remain throughout your stay.

POSITIVE ASPECTS
The hotel puts value on elegance, comfort and stylish decoration. which is reflected in the lobby, the bar and of course the rooms. The buffet breakfast, though quite expensive, is a real feast with a rich variety and freshness.

NEGATIVE ASPECTS
The hotel is located in front of a busy road and the "back yard" of the train station, so having the windows open during the night guarantees a lot of noise. There is no parking or even a drop-off zone in front of the lobby, so guests arriving by car will have to search the sidestreets for a spot.

LOCAL TRANSPORT
The central station is located 300m from the hotel, with local and international trains, aswell as an intersection for trams, buses and the metro.

IN CONCLUSION
This hotel welcomes guests who value modern design, elegance and upper-class flair. It is especially suited for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petersouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Level Contributor
170 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I spent two nights at this hotel. It is just a 2-3 minute walk to the hauptbahnof. So, reaching this hotel is very easy and you have connecitons to everywhere from here. The breakfast at the hotel was outrageously expensive at 20 euros. Of course I avoided it. The staff was friendly, room clean, attractive decor and calm. I would recommend this hotel for business travellers.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank oxymoron2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Our family stayed at the NH Nurnberg during a heat wave so we really appreciated the A/C. The rooms were modern, comfortable, and clean. The front desk was great, they even offered us umbrellas when a little rain shower came through. The location was handy for exploring the old historic city center and there was a parking garage. The 85 Euros seemed like a good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This hotel is located 5 min. from the central station, also very close to the city center and main shopping area. Despite being centally located it is very quiet. The rooms are very clean, the furniture is new. Bathroom is very clean as well. There is a parking underground, but you have to pay extra. We stayed during the weekend, hence parked on the neighbouring street. The hotel is a partner of the Miles and More program - you get at least 500 miles per stay. The good thing that you get Miles directly unlike in many other hotels where you have to register for their own customer loyalty program and then exchange their points for mile.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Nuernberg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Nuernberg City Center

Property: NH Nuernberg City Center
Address: Bahnhofstr. 17-19, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly NH Nuernberg City)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nuremberg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#23 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Nuernberg City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Nuernberg City Center is located in the very city center of Nuremberg, just a two-minute walk from the central station (an important hub for ICE and long-distance trains) and a five-minute walk from the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NH Nuernberg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Nurnberg City Hotel Nuremberg
Nh Nurnberg City Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing