We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drei Raben

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Drei Raben
Ranked #1 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Funky and Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is definitely my idea of a fun and funky hotel. While in an old building, the common areas and the rooms are fully updated and include all amenities. The rooms are themed around a set of German folk tales. In our room, #14, the tale was artfully calligraphed onto the ceiling above the bed. A booklet of all of the tales, in German and English, was included. The location, in the old city, is excellent, a short walk to the market, the various cathedrals, and other sights. Rooms are clean and crisp. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was street noise, although it largely quieted down in the night.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that don't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jww1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    97
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
122
239
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Hotel Drei Raben Nuremberg. The hotel is so popular that we agreed to change room 2 times to stay for 4 nights. The idea of Mythical Theme Rooms adds personal touch to attractions in Nuremberg. We stayed at theme rooms of St. Sebaldus, The Nuremberg Funnel and one night upgrade to Rabenspiegel Conference Suite. Having lots of fun reading the legend story book by the hotel.
Staff members are young, cheerful and enthusiastic. The very young Hotel Director Ralf Steinmann is hands-on and dedicated. Often we find him attending guest enquiries at Reception or having a chat with guest at the bar.
Nuremberg is historical, beautiful city. Our experience with Hotel Drei Raben confirms every good comments from Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent 4 days in Nuremberg and stayed at the Drei Raben. Both city and hotel are wonderful.Its well worth a detour to visit Nuremberg and if you do you MUST stay at this hotel. Location could not be better - a few minutes to tram and Hbf and an easy stroll to the Old Town. Close to a wide range of restaurants. The staff were so friendly and helpful in every way and could not do enough for you. Our room was good size and very clean and comfortable and extra quiet. Excellent breakfasts and an added bonus was a free wine tasting available each night. Added to all of this rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The young staff here was so friendly and helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. The rooms are very comfortable and interesting with nice breakfast in the hotel lobby. We could walk to everything we wanted to see. Loved this hotel and loved Nuremberg!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JgEg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This wonderful hotel, a modern rendition of an aged building, is situated 5 easy minutes from the river, street market, sausage heaven, castle, etc. Right across from the big round tower. Exactly 1 room+1 hall wide, it still manages to have a little elevator, + great breakfast bar and afternoon wine. Friendly staff, valet parking. Surprisingly quiet sleep.
Each room has a different little local story written on the wall. Best of all (..don't laugh...) the heated bathroom floors made clothes-drying a snap!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjudyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was small but what a gem! We stayed there on September 15 on our way to our river cruise. The location is perfect, located on the main street within Nuremberg's old city. it is about a block from the train station and an easy walk to anywhere in the old city. The room was a good size and the bathroom was modern (both were very clean) and the hotel provides all the normal toiletries and then some! Each room has a theme and the hotel provides a nice pamphlet explaining each. The breakfast was the usual European style but there was plenty and cooked eggs and breakfast meats were available as well. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful. They even provided a friend who was waiting to meet us with a cup of coffee. The elevator is tiny so you may need more that one trip if you have a lot of luggage but it is a very minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Take some time to find out the theme of each room before you book. You may want to be in a specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in July. After arriving to Nurnberg by train, we headed down the street to the hotel and found it easily. Upon check-in (which was efficient and easy) we were upgraded to the top floor suite! The hotel has an elevator which takes you up almost to the top, just a few flights and then we were at our room. The location of the hotel is great, close to all the things you want to see in Nurnberg (except for Zeppelin field which is an easy bus ride). The room, being at the top of the hotel was a bit stuffy and, it being July, also rather hot. In the room, there was a small air conditioner which we used, but it was not very powerful, so we were a bit warm, nothing a cool shower couldn't fix though. The room had a beautiful claw foot tub at the foot of the bed (a little strange for placement) but it was nice nonetheless. Small in-room tv, internet was slow and only available in certain parts of the room. One side of the bed was unlevel and super uncomfortable (I kept rolling to the middle of the bed where the beds meet), so I switched with my husband and it was fine. Nice view from the windows! It was also strange to have the sink in the main room area, so after using the washroom you needed to come out and wash your hands. I suppose this is the only configuration that would work given the space in the room.
All staff spoke English very well, were polite and helpful. Breakfast was really good and included in OUR room rate. Vast array of goodies including soft boiled eggs! You can also order items from the menu (i.e.: German pancakes <crepes>, scrambled eggs, etc.) as well as have coffee, tea and cappuccino brought out to you. They have a cocktail hour in the evenings too. The bar area is a bit dark and is where breakfast is served daily.
All in all this hotel was nice. A few things were maybe a little too quirky for my taste but I really enjoyed my stay here!

Room Tip: All rooms have a different theme, check the website to see what you'd like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Raben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Raben

Property: Hotel Drei Raben
Address: Koenigstr. 63, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#2 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drei Raben 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Drei Raben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Raben Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing