We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended - would stay there again without hesitation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
UK, Essex
2 reviews
“Highly recommended - would stay there again without hesitation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great Hotel - when we arrived we were upgraded to an apartment which was very spacious - even had its own doorbell! Staff were extremely polite - always greeting you when you walked past. Breakfast was fantastic - could not fault it. Tea, Coffee, cake and croissants in reception all day to help yourself to with no extra charge which was a lovely touch. The restaurant I would also recommend - food although not a great selection, again could not fault, portions were very generous and the price very reasonable. Location was great - very close to the shopping centre but a bit further walk to the christmas market than what I expected which is why I have only rated the location 4. As previous reviews have mentioned, it is by the red light district but it did not cuase any offence or problem for us. Christmas Market was fantastic - one of the best I have been to.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    346
    66
    14
    17
See reviews for
106
205
61
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 12/22/10 - 12/24/10 with our 3 teenagers. My husband and I had stayed here previously when we came to see the Christmas Markets in 2008. The hotel itself is pristine with an excellent staff. The rooms are modern, roomy, and comfortable. There are computers with printers available on every other floor for guests to use free of charge. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24 hrs/day. Breakfast is wonderful with a huge variety of both hot and cold items, freshly prepared and constantly replenished...one of the best we've had in Europe. The best part of staying here is the proximity to the Christmas Markets. In a few short minutes, you'll be in the center of shops, produce markets and all of the Christmas action. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allumer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed there based on Trip Advisor comments and was happy that we did. Much nicer than what you might expect, very nice and helpful staff, great breakfast, close to everything in the Old City, rooms all updated, an adequate gym, parking.....would defintiely go back again. And yes, there is a small red light district around the corner but has no impact on hotel. Felt completely safe..I would not let this deter you from staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

The hotel is situated in, not near, but in the Red Light District of Nurnberg. No more explanation is needed regarding that other than to say you walk out the doors of the hotel and do not feel at home... Do not bring your family here.

As if that's not enough, I was woken last night at one thirty in the morning to the sound of a piercing alarm, followed by a man's voice over the loudspeaker that happens to be in my room, 'Ladies and Gentlemen, this is an emergency broadcast. Please exit the building immediately. Do not use the elevators and be mindful of other people.' Thus, I left the building wearing nothing but my night clothes and a coat. Keep in mind it is 20 degrees farenheit outside. The fire department and police arrived and searched the building for nearly thirty minutes only to tell us that there is no emergency and that someone merely took a very hot shower for too long, resulting in the steam tripping the smoke detector and setting off the alarm. I asked about it in the morning and all I received was an 'I'm very sorry.'

The reason I chose to stay at a 'four-star hotel' was so that I could sleep comfortably and did not have to deal with situations like this. The staff, although cordial, offered no compensation whatsoever for the dreadful night. That, from a multinational hotel chain, in my opinion is unacceptable. Grossly unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CRANK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Holiday Inn whilst visiting the city for the Christmas Celebrations/Market etc.
The hotel was booked last January because we had realised that during the Christmas Market period all the Hotels in the city would be fully booked.
We arrived early at the Hotel and were not suprised to be told that our room was not ready yet. We left our luggage in a locked room and went walkabout.
We returned mid afternoon and went to our room. We asked at reception for our bags to be bought up. After 20 mins had passed I called reception to be told that they had expected me to bring the bags--some mis-communication there!! After another few minutes had passed a girl from reception had delivered our bags--they were heavy and not something a young woman should be asked to do. I asked where the bell boys were and she just raised her eyes. A couple of small issues in the room that we mentioned were sorted out without any fuss.
We had noticed that a number of large German companies were at the hotel for conferences etc--one day we returned to the hotel and discovered that the foyer had been transformed into what could only be described as a scene from Emergency Ward 10--hospital equipment salesmen had set out their wares--it was quite bizare. We were beginning to realise that the business community were the main focus of attention for the hotel.
We always take our netbook to keep in touch with emails etc. The Hotel offered web connection in the bedrooms at 8euros per hour, obviously catching the business traveller who of course could claim expenses, but it was well advertised that connection to the web was free in the reception/foyer area. When I asked the reception for the web password I was told I could have the info but I must give my credit card over. I queried this and was informed that the free web connection had been withdrawn for a period of time. I can only deduce from this that the Hotel had decided to milk the vast amount of business trevellers there at the time for all they could. I was not happy!!
But after all matters taken into accout this is clearly a good hotel, but one where the emphasis of service was clearly skewed to the business community. The staff seemed hard pressed and the overall impression was that they were struggling slightly.
The room we had was large and had a view over rooftops--it snowed whilst we were there and the view was very pretty. Good supply of bathroom toiletries and fresh towels. Tea and coffee making facilities were always kept refreshed--we had to ask for English breakfast tea--but a good effort from housekeeping.
I use the Holiday Inn group for a lot of my travel--would I use this one again?--probably not.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Good location, walking distance to most sights and shopping. Friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms and good value for money. Breakfast buffet is well worth the €15 with lots of tasty options. Internet access with printers, softdrinks in room & coffee in reception were all complimentary - a very nice touch. The only negative was that the beds are not as comfortable as other hotels and need to be upgraded

Red light district is very near the hotel but easy to avoid and should not deter you from staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We got a great rate (via the FlyerTalk website) for two rooms at this hotel at the start of Nuremberg's famous Christmas markets. Breakfast was not included but there is a good buffet for only 15 euros per person, and children staying with parents are not charged. Priority Club members get a newspaper, and can check out as late as 1400. The hotel is within the old stone walls and 15 minutes walk to the heart of the Christmas markets, many old churches, Railroad museum, etc. It is also a short U-bahn ride to the main train station. The one caveat about the location is that it is near the "red-light" district, but this presented no problem at all to the ordinary tourist. The rooms in the "apartment" wing were large and had well-stocked kitchenettes. The hotel is not luxurious but it is solid Holiday Inn value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing