We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved since I was there last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have been here several times and I have complained about the availability of internet. It was very costly. This is improved, free wifi now also in the room. Very happy about this.

The service was again very good. That is what I am used to here. I did get a very nice room but that was an upgrade since I am platinum member. The room was basically a double standard room. The standard rooms are already a decent size but this room was very large.

The suite is with an additional separate toilet and does have all the things you need. The mini bar is poorly stocked but is free. (only 2 drinks).

The breakfast is good. They make egg to order if you want and for the rest you can order your own coffee (esspreso f.e.).

Some people complain about the location but when you go out the front go left and you will not be bothered by the redlight district. The hughe advantange of this hotel is that you are in the middle of the city and can walk immidiatly into the center.

Parking is a bit expensive but that happens more often in city centers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_Nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 744 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed here for four night stay whilst on some business in the area and was very impressed with the hotel; one of the best Holiday Inn's that I've have stayed in.

The hotel is situated very close to the city centre, just inside the city wall and within short walking distance to the main railway station (10 mins) and U-Bahn station (1 min). There are numerous restaurants all within a short walk of the hotel.

The hotel building seems fairly new, but the design is sympathetic to the local surroundings and blends in well. My room (on the 6th floor), which had a good view of the city wall, had a well appointed bathroom, large bed, flat screen tv, iron, safe and fridge.

Internet access is free - just ask for a code from reception. If you don't have a laptop, there are four computers in the lobby that are free to use.

The breakfast was excellent; a menu with a cooked food selection, plus a buffet with the usual meat, fruit, muesli, yoghurt, bread etc. Even though the breakfast room was busy, service was fast. I think I had a pot of tea within a couple of minutes of sitting down every day.

I only tried the restaurant once in the evening, and while the service was good, I wasn't too impressed with the food. However, this may have just been the dish that I ordered and I would be happy to go back and try something else.

Reception, breakfast and cleaning staff were all friendly and polite. Taxi's can be ordered at reception and arrive from a nearby taxi rank in a couple of minutes.

Yes, this hotel is very close to the red light district, but for people to give this hotel a bad review because of this is completely unfair. Firstly, it's completely legal in Germany. Secondly I walked through the area every evening on my way back to the hotel, and at no point felt uncomfortable or at risk. I think you'd struggle to find a more harmless red light district.

As for one reviewers comment : "The hotel appears to operate as an annex, as the number of comings (sic) and goings. Kept the receptionist busy directing 'nieces' to their uncles", I saw no evidence of this and simply don't believe it.

As the previous reviewer stated: I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Nuremberg.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor - had a great view of the city wall.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Compared to other properties of the Holiday Inn brand, this one is superb! (Particularly if compared to most of its siblings the UK or the U.S.) Contrary to the comments of some Californian reviewer, the fact that the hotel is located close to the gigantic, ancient city wall and amidst what is left over of a peaceful and absolutely civilized red-light district, the location is great - and absolutely harmless! A 2-minute walk to the downtown all-pedestrian shopping mall, one minute to the Weisses Tor subway station, 10 minutes to Nuremberg's Main Train Station (Hbf) - what more does a tourist or a business traveler want?
Reasonably priced during non-trade show periods, the hotel charges over EUR 250 a night during the big dates! Apparently, this type of road robbery is commonplace among Nuremberg hotels, though.
The lobby is inviting, modern, spacious (for Europe) and very clean. Hallways are also spacious and very clean. The breakfast restaurant sports a nice and inviting buffet where a friendly and professionally caring international staff is always available.
Lunch and dinner are offered in the much smaller bar area which has comfortable dining tables. Despite the bar, families can feel comfortable. Food is not "bar food" at all, but very good. Many good restaurants are within short walking distance.
Rooms are modern, spacious, comfortable and - also - CLEAN! Housekeeping does a consistently good job, as your reviewer has been able to observe over six years of visits. As a Priority Club top tier member he has always been upgraded to the largest available room category, but from visiting standard rooms he can attest to the fact that all rooms give the same positive impression.
Reception staff may not always deserve the label "excellent", particularly when under some pressure, but "very good" is consistently achieved.
Whether your reason to visit Nuremberg is business or leisure, this hotel is highly recommendable! Your reviewer wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when in Nuremberg.

Room Tip: High floors are always more quiet, but not necessary because the area is quiet despite the red-light...
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paquisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Well, I probably would have never stayed here except a friend recommended the hotel to me.

And there really is no reason not to like it, it's in a great location, in the old town just inside the city walls, with parking, and you can just walk everywhere from here.

There are some dodgy looking bars around and some naked ladies in the windows just around the corner, but there was absolutely no trouble at night, no fights, no louts, nothing that you'd normally associate with the red light district. And if it bothers you that much, just walk the other way. Seriously, if you exit the hotel and turn left you won't see any of it.

We got a free upgrade to an apartment, which was great, so I have no idea what the normal rooms look like but the apartment was fantastic, roomy, with a large bathroom and a small kitchen area. There were Hachez chocolates waiting for us and some mineral water. The place is nice and clean and modern, and I've been told the breakfast is good, but with so much choice in town we decided to go out and try a different place each day.

The parking is 12 euro per day, which is quite reasonable considering the location, and if you're nice to the hotel staff they might even throw in a free parking ticket for you.

If I was going back to Nurnberg I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, this hotel was just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is one of the better Holiday Inn hotels. It is quite newly renovated, the rooms are large enough and clean, it offers a very good breakfast, it is centrally located with a reasonable price (although you should keep in mind that everything is quite cheap in this area - Franken - cheaper than in other parts of Germany).
A few "bars" are close to this hotel, but I would say you can´t call it red light district, for me it wasn´t disturbing. It may just be a little bit surprising since Nürnberg isn´t really a city where you would expect this. E.g. in Amsterdam nobody would complain.
And, on the other hand, you are really close to the center of Nürnberg.

The hotel offers a garage but it was full. A good alternative: just hundred meters away there is a large public garage (13.- € per day).

What else? I have read that some reviewers complained that they had booked a room and had to additionally pay for the second person. Well, this may not be a problem of this hotel, it may rather be that some travellers are not used to book a room. In several hotels all around the world you do not pay per room but rather "per person". The wording "breakfast rate for 1 or 2 people sharing the room" just means that the breakfast is included for up to 2 people. So, these reviewers unnecessarily reduce the score of hotels like this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xirxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very great location, just 10min walk from Xmas market and just next to old city wall. Saves time & very convenient. Next street is a red light, but in winter you don't see anyone outside & it was actually an interesting addition. Has a nice English pub close to it which apparently is a big deal in Nurnberg, you really find it hard to find a pub there:)
Service was pleasant, room was clean and nice.

For breakfast they wanted 15EUR additionally,but there're plenty cafes in the city centre (though they open at 10a.m.)

Good value! Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is within the old city wall but it is just aroung the corner from the red-light district. The room was ready when we arrived and we were offered a daily newspaper as a priority club member. However the paper only arrived one day out of two. The hotel is quite a walk from the Christmas markets, so on rainy days it was quite a treck. The brasserie was fine. The room was large enough and the television had the best offering of English-speaking channels during our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suefromCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,348 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
884 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $92 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing