We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Ranked #12 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel conveniently located”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a very modern hotel with great rooms located at the beginning of the pedastrian central area and close to all sites, commercial areas and main station/theatre. The garage is very small and not recommendable for medium and larger cars. Only negative aspect is the lack of wifi in rooms. They told that this was going to be put in place. We did not try the breakfast, as price was beyond reality

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    356
    69
    15
    17
See reviews for
109
208
61
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel was very clean and properly staffed. The only problems were that the air conditioner did not work. (July in Germany can get very hot.) The television worked part of the time (due to maintence issues with the electricity in the building). I wish they could have resolved those issues before we checked out 7 days later!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennysquiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London/Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is now the second time I have stayed in this hotel, and once again I was 100% happy with everything, so will definitely continue to stay here every time I return to Nuremberg. Sure, the hotel is in the Red Light district, but that is absolutely not a problem at all, the area is not unsafe, and its conveniently close to the centre of Nurmeberg. The start of the pedestrian zone is just a couple of minutes walk from the Holiday Inn, and from there you are 10 minutes to walk to the river and the main square.

Regarding the hotel itself, I did not use the bar or restaurant (there are lots of great eating and drinking choices in Nuremberg), but the Reception area was clean and inviting, and the staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The room was perfect - 100% clean, and provides everything you will need. It is all very modern too. They also provided a complimentary water bottle and apple juice in the fridge, which was replaced every day.

I have no reason to look elsewhere next time I stay in Nuremberg, I will choose this hotel every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My son and Istayed at this particular Holiday Inn in mid July and I must admit that yes, it is in a red light district, yet on the flip side, it is conveniently located near the centre of town, the U and the staff are pleasant. The room was big by European standards. I particularly enjoyed the coffee table. I would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantravel4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Central location, in the old town. Large comfortable family room, with a sofa bed (book by e-mail, the internet booking system does not allow that). Safe underground parking (paying). Fantastic generous buffet breakfast. Efficient and attentive staff.
The only negative comment is about the adjacent bistro, but since you do not really have to eat dinner at the hotel, I will not let it bring down the overall rating (on the other hand, kids under 13 eat lunch and dinner for free, provided the parents order at least main courses).
As for the fact that it is close to the "red light district", two comments: Firstly, it is easy to avoid that "district", that starts on the corner of the street where the hotel is located, towards the city wall. Walk towards the center of the old town instead (to the left when leaving the hotel). Secondly, do not forget that in Germany (as in a few other European countries) prostitution is not only legal, it is regarded as any other profession, subject to taxes and covered by social security. Like it or not, but that's the way it is, so don't be surprised...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strumpalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just happened upon this Holiday Inn when we landed in Nuremburg and were driving round looking for a hotel. I got an inkling things may not be all they seemed as we parked up outside the hotel to enquire re: a room. Several shady-looking characters were seated at the cafe next door and a few others loitered nearby.

The hotel itself was clean, with underground parking for 10 euro a night and an efficient check-in. Several American & German business people were checking in at same time as us and a large family reunion stayed there also so it is obviously a popular spot.

Our room was medium-sized,comfy beds, clean. No tea/coffee making facilities or iron in the room but maybe you can get one from reception desk. I was woken the first night by someone walking round upstairs around 3am but outside noise wasn't a problem.

Internet access was provided using your credit-card at terminals in the room corridors.

We didn't eat here as breakfast wasn't included but the bar is very nice and the bar food menu looked varied and well-priced.

I have to say I'd be a little reluctant to return here solely on the basis of the location. It is definitely central, 5-7 minutes to main shopping area but we didn't realise until we were walking from the city centre back to the hotel the first night that the red-light district is LITERALLY round the corner. We were a bit taken aback, doesn't tell you that in the brochure!! Business was conducted day & night from what we saw so this might put people off. This doesn't bother me per se but the aforementioned loitering men were a little sleazy plus I didn't feel the area was the safest at night as several other dingy-looking bars were on the opposite side of the street.

This is a pity, this is otherwise a nice 4 star hotel but a questionable area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishbrightsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This property is located with in the Altstadt of Nuremberg. Everything is within walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful from check-in through check-out. The rooms were large, clean, and air conditioned. My room had a mini-fridge.

I did use a cab to go from the Nuremberg Hbf back and forth to the hotel due to my luggage. The cab was less than 10 Euros. You could walk from the Hbf to the hotel, but finding the hotel the first time around would be difficult.

I did not partake in breakfast as it was 15 Euros and I simply don't eat that much. There are a dozen coffee shops within a 5 minute walk.

It is disappointing that the rooms did not have free Internet, but this property is clearly a business hotel, just like in the US.

The gym and sauna were clean and well maintained. There is a restaurant associated with the hotel that was busy at both lunch and dinner. That is a good sign.

Yes, the "red light" district is close by. But a "red light" district in Germany is not like one found in the US. The area is very safe, even at night, by yourself. The girls did not harass me at all and I am a single male.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
517 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
868 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing