We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviewed under Palace of Justice”

Nuremburg Trial Courthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.22*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Sightseeing Including Old Town, Rally Grounds and...
Ranked #7 of 175 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,303 reviews
619 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“Reviewed under Palace of Justice”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The court room is not to be missed. Getting to sit in there with the history surrounding you is incredible, especially with a knowledgeable guide like we had. They are thinking about closing the court room and moving it, restoring it to its original state and making it a museum. If you go during the week, know that it might be closed because they use it as a working court room now. We went on Sunday, and it was open and not crowded.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    105
    19
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,303 reviews
619 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“Must see museum”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Maybe I'm too much into history unlike some of the other reviewers. I don't know how you could help not giving this Documentation Center/Nazi Museum a 5. We were on an organized tour from our river cruise, and we were given a set amount of time. Without exception, everyone we were with said they wish they had had more time. The audio presentation of this museum is very well done, and the amount of information is overwhelming, so they organized it very well. This gives the reasons why Hitler was the way he was from childhood, shows the propaganda sights and his persuasiveness, the Holocaust and the final days with the Nuremberg trials in Court Room 600, which we also visited. It is understanding young people would be bored because this was so long ago, but it is one of the most important times in the history of the world. Many lessons to be learned here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Leaves you thinking...”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The audio guide is good. Take time to go to the exhibit upstairs. Also while in Nuremburg, take time to go to the Nazi reviewing arenas. The size of the facility gives you a sense of how scary Hitler was in his quest for power.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ehmmm....yes well, OK if you don't expect to learn anything.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well it was interesting for about 5 minutes. If you know nothing about the period or the trials, you'll be fine but for me it was very much about experiencing the room, the space and the import of what happened. The educative value is minimal. The experience, something else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colonelharlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comprehensive”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

You need to set aside a fair amount of time if you are taking the audio tour, 2-3 hours. This is a comprehensive history lesson which is a little hard going to get through, but you will appreciate the detail at the end. A sobering experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuremburg Trial Courthouse also viewed

 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Nuremburg Trial Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing