We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the pork”
Review of Der Andechser - CLOSED

Der Andechser
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
358 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Order the pork”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After a rude experience at another restaurant nearby we happened upon this place...thirsty for a good local beer we went in. We were immediately seated at a large table family style with another couple.
We ordered a local Hell and then decide to eat...couldn't pass on the Schweineschaufele with Potato dumplings and red cabbage...YUMMY
in fact it was so good we went back the next night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only disappointment in Nuremberg!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday, just prior to our departure from this beautiful Franken city, we stopped for a simple lunch at the inviting patio of this historic property. It was 1:00pm and apparently there was only one server on duty over the lunch period. After 15minutes, she arrived to take our drink order. We asked to order our lunches as we were somewhat short of time before our train departure. 4 soups and a pretzel. 30 minutes later we inquired how the order was coming and were asked it we wanted the soup hot. Her attitude was surly and unfriendly. When the order finally came, it was incomplete. She made no offer to complete it and we quickly ate it, paid the bill and left. This incident was totally unexpected at this 4 star property and we would be unable to recommend it to other travellers.

Helpful?
3 Thank BRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An excellent meal, nice calm atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Nuremberg has a variety of restaurants, but if you want a decent German meal many are essentially fairly small pubs, full of locals sitting around big tables: not always what you want every night. I arrived at 9pm and they were still serving food. Restaurant has a cosy atmosphere but space to spread out, lots of more secluded corners. There was one big group, a few couples, a few low diners. Excellent beer - as you'd expect from the Kloster Andechs! - and splendid food as well. Two beers, main, dessert and coffee came to just under €25: great value. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bach1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful German meal at this restaurant and we really enjoyed the beer. I mean, we really enjoyed the beer. We are looking around our area to see if we can buy it here. The service was a bit slow when we were ready to leave but there was only one waitress and a full house so we weren't upset about it. I'd return and I recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JMurph40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bavarian Soul Food and amazing Beer”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant is in the same building as the Deutscher Kaiser hotel but not affiliated with it. The food and beer is the 'real thing' ... we were there twice during a five day trip for the Embedded World conference.

First time, I had the Frankischer Teller with a sausage, slice of roast pork and potato salad. Second time was the classic 8 Nuremberger bratwurst finger sausages (NOT the big Wisconsin-style brats that North Americans may be used to) with sauerkraut and rye bread. The only downside was that the mustard came in a plastic packet rather than bottle.

For larger appetites, there is a combination with a pork shoulder (local specialty), a couple of Nuremberger bratwurst finger sausages, and one other meat item (I forget what, sorry).

And of course, the beer brewed at the Andechs cloister! The regional specialty is Heffe Weizen and I would encourage you to try that. Other people made more conservative choices with clear lagers or ales, or dark ales. I did deviate once to try the dark Dunkel Weizen and was not disappointed. (Other heffs are worth sampling too!) I have to admit that my first exposure to Heffe Weizen was by Widmer Brothers in Portland, Oregon and to their credit, they do justice to the real thing. Do try the real thing!!

Price-wise, I would rate Der Andescher as moderate, not higher priced as another reviewer put it, based on our hotel dining room and other restaurants that we tried. Der Andescher is a SOLID value for your money!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank garydpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Andechser also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing