We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant cuisine, knowledgable staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restauration Fischer

Restauration Fischer
Ranked #41 of 1,116 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant cuisine, knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away on a side street of Nurnberg is thus hidden gem of a restaurant. We tried a prix-fixe seafood menu with all seafood. Delicious fresh thoughtfully prepared food. The quality of seafood is the best we've had in Germany. Extensive german wine list along with austrian and world wines as well. Upstairs is the restaurant, downstairs are 4 tables with the open kitchen. This was great as we got to see all dishes go out! Very nice place for a romantic dinner. We'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top Notch Dinning Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic dinner here during a recent business trip to Nuremberg. The food was fantastic, the service was spot on, and the wine selection was very good for such a small establishment. It is a bit small so large parties might be a problem. This is Europe but I found the pacing a tad slow even by their standards. Selection is limited to Land or Sea, but everyone in our party was very pleased with every aspect of the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb small owner/chef operated restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of taking folks from one of our partner companies to this lovely little restaurant in the old town of Nuremberg. We were staying at the Sheraton and it was but a 10 minute walk to get there. Its basically a converted house with the eating area split over 2 floors and we were upstairs in a room with our table for 8 and 2 tables of 4. I believe the restaurant can do 26 covers at a time so its pretty intimate. Greeting was good and we were shown straight to our table and offered water and an aperitif. The menu consisted of a choice of three menus; a grand 6 course for 89 € a person (i think) and a choice of 2 four course - fish and market - for 59 euros a cover. Our table was split with the added complication of one of our guests suddenly announcing he was a vegetarian. you could mix and match but they obviously preferred you stick to the script. I had the Market menu which was absolutely superb! Tuna carpaccio in Borsht sauce, Rabbit with Gnocchi and parmesan crisp, a selection of beef cooked in different ways and then the most sublime creme brûlée with fresh cream ice cream. Mains washed down with a bottle or two of Ca' Marcanda Magari 2010, which was very reasonably priced, and the desert with a german dearest wine. (sorry forgot to note the name). Service was excellent with our own dedicated waitress who did a fantastic job even with me making her giggle at every opportunity.

Would I go back? Damn right! I have already promised to take another partner there at the next event in that part of the world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“WORLD CLASS DINING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had an extraordinary dinner at Fischer, taking a break from junk food eating at the Christmas Market. In fact, the dining experience in this historic Old Town townhouse was one of the most memorable I can remember in a very long time.

Chef Ingo Fischer is essentially a one-man show and the trick is to get a front row seat near the “stage”, which of course is his open kitchen. We accomplished that by sending an email a few weeks in advance, requesting and receiving one of the four coveted downstairs tables that are an extension of the kitchen. The cozy main dining room is upstairs and while that is perfectly suitable for a romantic dinner, you do miss the action that’s taking place below. Essentially, eating downstairs is like sitting in a chef’s own kitchen in his house, while he cooks for you.

As we saw as soon as we sat down, Chef Fischer presides over his kitchen with a firm hand. He did not like something about the lettuce for the salads, so he sent someone out to get more lettuce right in the middle of cooking, but without missing a beat or holding up a single dish. His staff consists of only three other people that we saw, one of who is his wife and she alone glides in and out of the kitchen, knowing just how to handle any situation. Meanwhile, Chef is quite busy preparing one beautiful dish after another, balancing perfect cooking with spot-on presentation, while a young man and woman silently whisk the dishes to their tables and provide friendly conversation with the diners.

The menu is limited to about three prix-fixe meals, although you can leave out a course or substitute a course from another menu. At first, that seemed limiting, but when we realized that Chef Fischer is preparing everything himself then it becomes clear why he could not really have an extensive menu. We just let him do his thing and we loved everything we ate – duck, veal, fish – as one mouth-watering course after another were placed before us. And then we were truly surprised as the evening wore on and the chef turned himself into the desert chef and began preparing the final course for his patrons. And that course also did not disappoint from this truly multi-talented man.

As you would expect, this is not an inexpensive meal. However, for the quality and overall experience, Fischer provides excellent value and an incomparable dining experience. There is just one thing missing – that well-deserved Michelin star!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Definitely one of THE best in Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a surprise this turned out to be! The restaurant is in an unassuming refurbished old timber house with 2 floors, both with guest seating. We had the table by the open kitchen (downstairs) and what a treat this was! We felt that we were welcomed into someone's house, except we don't have any friends who cook this well. Ingo Fischer seems to be prep chef, sous chef, executive chef and dessert chef rolled into one. The kitchen is clearly his domain and he prepared each dish for each diner personally. I don't know how he can do everything on his own with such perfect timing. The wait staff is extremely friendly and efficient, frankly I don't know how they do what they do. We come to Germany often, this time we came just for the Christmas market in Nurenberg and to visit some friends in Munich. This meal was one of the highlights of our trip for sure. It is worth a trip to Nurenberg just to eat here! Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauration Fischer also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Restauration Fischer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing