We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuremburg Prison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochgefangnis Prison

Lochgefangnis Prison
Rathausplatz 2, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Sebald)
0911/233-60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 120 things to do in Nuremberg
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nuremburg Prison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I think this is the one very near the centre of the city. Lots of torture going on .Tour in German but our hosts translated for us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PepperedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lakeville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must know German”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fortunatly we had someone in our tour group that spoke both languages and was able to translate most of the information. There is a pamphlet in various languages that you can use to guide yourself too. The overall experience was interesting. You are able to go into rooms and see how the prison system was before. You will not regret going to this attraction if you don't mind following along with your pamphlet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
292 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wonder what is was like to be imprisonned in the medivial? Step back in time and make a guided tour. Learn about what was considered a crime and the punishments. Not recommended for small children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cibiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really need German for this one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the real deal- very creepy without trying to "spook it up". I think what really got me was the indentions in the corridors' stone floors- I couldn't help but imagine how many people must have walked those hallways to have worn them down like that. Dark, sobering, has the feeling that it was just emptied and forgotten. If you notice the out-of-the way corners you'll see (real) cobwebs. We weren't offered literature in English as a previous poster mentioned and you really miss a lot during the tour if you don't speak German. I see devices and racks, but really don't know the details- maybe that's a good thing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank gypsypermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/US
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Man's inhumanity to Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A former bakery under what became the City Hall, this must have been hell under earth. Torture rooms, stocks, pitch dark with no windows or ventilation. Only shut in 1806 by order of Napoleon, the accused were sent here to be tortured until they confessed, then what was left of them was executed (usually, hung or decapitated, though by that time the victims may well not have cared much). Scary to think what we used to do to each other; scarier to realize that we still do it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochgefangnis Prison also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Lochgefangnis Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing