We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Albrecht Durer House
Book In Advance
More Info
$281.16*
and up
Heidelberg and Nuremberg Tour from Frankfurt
Ranked #16 of 177 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

There is a lot to see in Nuremberg even if you're not fortunate enough to be here for Christmas Market and the house that Albrecht Durer and his second wife inhabited within the historical city walls is one of the more interesting places of interest in the Old Town. I am usually not a fan of the overacted and stilted script that audioguides in these types of attractions present, but here it was helpful to understand a lot more about the life and times of this prosperous city and one of its most notable citizens. Unlike many artists, Durer was famous and richly rewarded during his life, so he enjoyed the comforts of an upper class residence and all that comes with that. Seeing this aspect of medieval Central Europe was most enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    260
    123
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
392 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

As a long-time fan of Durer (also called the Leonardo Da Vinci of Germany) I thought it was quite informative. The English audio guide is a bit silly with the "voice" of Agnes Durer and even though the house has been reconstructed you still get a feeling of what life must have been like in his time. There are some of his art pieces (of course copies) and on the top floor is what was his workshop which I thought was quite interesting. There is also a small museum shop across the street when you exit the museum with nice souvenirs and copies of his work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
405 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Okay if you are in the area”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

After reading the reviews we didn't know whether to look forward to the AD house or to dread it. It ended up being a little bit of both. There is a small museum and an audio guide (with the pretend voice of Agnes Durer) telling a little about their life. Would have been more interesting if the audio guide didn't keep saying things like, "of course this room is not exactly like it was in my day..." or "this is not the same furniture I would have had," etc. One upstairs room is dedicated to his paintings--sort of... [They are all copies painted by other artists.] Like so much of Nuremberg after the WW2 bombings, this house has been reconstructed. Probably would have liked it better if I had only spent about 2-3 Euros instead of 5. They did give me a voucher for a free postcard from the gift shop area for visiting that day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahuhara
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If there is nothing else to do...”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very small museum of Durer's house - only one room with the copies of his paintings (no originals), the rest are the rooms were he lived, including a kitchen, living rooms and studios. Quite dull to my taste.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiaVerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Big Fan”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I know next to nothing about art, but I've loved Durer's work since I was a kid: the Hare, the Owl, his famous self-portrait.
There aren't any originals here, but the visitor can see his workshop complete with the type of tools and equipment he used. The audio guide, narrated by his "wife" Agnes is a hoot as well as being informative. Be aware that it's just below the castle, so you'll have a bit of a climb getting there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albrecht Durer House also viewed

 

Been to Albrecht Durer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing