We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Albrecht Durer House
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.08*
and up
Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #16 of 172 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
budapest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small, there is almost nothing in it. I love paintings but I have seen much more original of those in Vienna when there was a Durer exhibition couple of years ago.
I expected a well furnished house with a selection of paintings so I was really disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    249
    121
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
298 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very interested place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is very interested museum-house. We could understand here as Durer lived and worked. The private information (about his family etc) is combined with data about his art and professional deals. Museum is very suitable for foreign tourists as has electrionic guide recorded by professional actors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting museum house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is a small house/museum, the electronic guides however are almost 5 minutes for each of 6 locations visited so you spend minimum 30 minutes and get information on Albrecht Durer from the voice of his wife. Beware of low doorframes!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a must-do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This house and the guided tour are an absolute must when visiting the city. This painter experienced so many society changes and influenced his century, met Erasmus, worked for the king, revolutioned the way they painted portraits at that time, was also a fond of astronomy and a gold handcrafter. Very impressive, I learnt a lot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zuly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersaurach, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went here as a school teacher's group and enjoyed an excellent presentation by "Albrecht Duerer's Wife." The guide dressed in period costume and explained life in the house from 'her' point of view. She told us about the local art scene and sales and how his painting and prints were made. Afterward, a local artist assisted us in making our own prints on a 1600 era press. It was quite educational and entertaining.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albrecht Durer House also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Albrecht Durer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing