We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Ranked #52 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We needed an affordable hotel for a family of 6 with 4 teenagers. I researched for many days trying to find one that would accomodate our needs and have good food and a convenient location for touring.

I am so glad I chose this hotel. It was so much better than a 4 or 5 star hotel because it has old world charm and exceptional customer service. We wanted the old world charm. Our rooms had been upgraded ( remodeled) and they were very clean.

The breakfast was amazing and they have REALLY good cappuccinos. Every morning there was so much food to choose from and the ladies who worked in the kitchen were so friendly. Also, every evening at the front desk was complimentary Gluhwein (hot mulled wine).

We stayed here for 7 nights during the ChristKindle Markets. The location was perfect. It was a 5 minute walk from the train station. We took the subway to and from the airport and it was very easy. The walk to the Christmas Markets was very easy too.

The hotel Concierge was most helpful and made dinner reservations for us and recommended good places to eat. They gave us good directions to visit things like the Toy museum and Albrecht Durer's house.

My 4 teens were very happy and loved this family trip very much.

I had been concerned about some of the bad reviews regarding bad plumbing and old rooms, but we requested rooms that had been remodeled and they were very nice and had no problems at all. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had all new fixtures and tiles.

We met the owner and he also was very friendly and helpful.

Adrienne and Brian
Dallas, Texas
USA

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adriennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed here for one night, saved a bit of our budget in Munich so we splurged and rented the suite on the fourth floor. Front desk staff were superb and very helpful, room was great, clean, roomy. Breakfast was top notch. The hotel itself fits in with the 'old town' theme of the area. Short walk from the train station was a bonus as well, and in fifteen minutes one can be at the castle. I would definitely stay again should the opportunity arise and the budget can afford it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel is located in a charming, historic building in the center of the old city. I had a beautiful double room with a window looking on Konigstrasse. Maybe the cost is not in line with the quality of service and facilities for the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flucini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed at Kaiser for one night passing through Nurnberg on the spur of the moment, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a beautiful old building in the centre of the old town on a beautiful road. Our room had a beautiful view, was very clean and spacious.
The breakfast was the best we had had on our two week trip, staying at various 3 and 4 star hotels. The best buffet I've had.
Location is great if you are a tourist as it is within walking distance to the castle, toy museum, executioners island, and dungeon. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Hotel on a fantastic Location in a charming building .
All the rest is not bad but also not good :-)
Parking Facilities VERY LIMITED !
The best thing is the Bier-Stube-Type-Restaurant on the ground floor .... not managed by the Hotel !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sipenholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Having read some of the other reviews I wonder if they were staying at the same hotel! The staff are great here and bend over backwards to help. The reception chap actually acted as a translator over my phone to sort out a problem for us.

The location is perfect for the centre of Nuremberg.

The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and well appointed. It had a large TV and a comfortable bed.

The breakfast was great. Buffet style with a massive range from smoked Salmon through a selection of artisan cheeses to crispy bacon and eggs.

If you are staying in this town you should be at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This hotel has a great location, less than a 5 minute walk from the main station. However, the hotel was wayyy overpriced. Our room was very small with very dirty carpet. I think the fact that it is an old, historical hotel means that they dont do any renovations. The breakfast was okay. The next day we found a hotel 2 blocks away in a better location for half the price and it was much cleaner.
The best thing I can say is that the staff were nice but seriously, this hotel was smelled smokey and was over priced for sure!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank sarahrempel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
611 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
968 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#36 of 126 in Nuremberg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Koenigstr. 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: $158 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing