We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break in Nuremberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Ranked #59 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice break in Nuremberg”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five days. The location is perfect, literally a few minutes walk from the train station, you can walk through the underground and come out onto Konigstrasse and the hotel is less than a minutes walk from there. we were on the third floor and had a lovely room overlooking Konigstrasse. By now I have worked out that there are very few hotels in Germany with air conditioning and this was one of them. We left the windows open most of the time and when the noise of the street became too much we switched on the fan and closed over the windows. Our room was a good size, not the biggest double room I have ever stayed in but I liked the fact that we had great views from the windows. The lift was a bit shaky so we only used it for bringing our luggage up to the room and back down when we were leaving. We got used to the stairs after a while!! I am reliably informed by management that the lift is checked every month to ensure it is working properly and as a result this would not deter me from staying at this hotel again. The people working on reception and in the dining room were helpful and friendly at all times. The breakfast was nice, there was an okay choice of food but I would prefer if the food was kept covered especially when the weather was so hot. The tourist information office is just around the corner and the hotel is located in the old town so everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet then request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spurs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
58
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights when temperature was in the mid 30s. The hotel, like many in Germany, had no air conditioning but fans are supplied and windows open wide to give some relief. Our superior room was large with comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Hairdrier, safe and kettle were all included (though no milk to go with the tea). There's good free wifi (a code and password is required for each machine). The breakfast buffet is extensive with everything you could want. It's location is a 10 minute walk to the market place. Overall, no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansted
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I think this hotel is overpriced for what it provides. It was very hot, there is no air conditioning (apparently in Germany they don't use air conditioning, which I found amusing), just electric fans. The room we were given was their standard room, however it was too small and very hot, with the window open we could hear a constant engine noise which apparently was the wash room, we asked to change rooms and we upgraded to a room at the front which was fine. The staircase is spectacular, the lift very old and small. The "computer room" is a laptop on top of a high table so you have to stand to see the screen, we couldn't make it work. We couldn't make the ice machine work either, but we didn't ask for help. The breakfast was fine and the lady who works there was very kind and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located. Nuremberg is a great city with plenty to do. There is a Nuremberg card at the tourist office near the hotel which costs 23 euros and lasts for 2 days, this allows free public transport and entrance to all the city attractions, we went to the zoo, the castle, the museum, Duhrer's house and the caves, if you go to the caves take some warm clothing because it is very cold down there. The bar immediately outside the hotel is very slow with it appears only one waitress who isn't the friendliest person in the city. The Istanbul Turkish restaurant over the road from the hotel is very good and reasonably priced. The only place to change cash is at the train station, but there are plenty of ATMs everywhere. The beer is reasonably priced but difficult to understand. I fully recommend a visit to this city, but this hotel needs to reduce its prices or improve its services, at the end of the day we had a great time though in Nuremberg.

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantabria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Nuremburg. Our room was not very large, but it had a very large bathroom and was quite comfortable. The location is outstanding for enjoying the extensive fussgangerzone (pedestrian zone) in central Nuremburg. We came by car, and the hotel has a limited number of dedicated parking spots in the narrow alley behind the building -- a little tough to find at first, but actually very convenient for a city center location. I was disappointed that our schedule only allowed us to spend one night here; we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekurtzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Perfect location in the center (many chain hotels ring the city, not quite as walkable/picturesque). We splurged on a suite and it was divine. Contrasting with the more traditional appearance of the rest of the hotel, the suite had modern furniture and hardware floors, without sacrificing old world charm. Plenty of room for our little family--separate large BR for us with ample room for baby bed; older son loved his comfortable bed in the living area. There were at least six windows in the rooms, which was lovely. Cool enough at night; despite a little outside noise, great sleeping conditions. Excellent service, fantastic breakfast. Should we return, would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I and my wife stayed 7 nights at this City-center hotel last week. Checking-in started with the surprise of getting an upgraded room where the bedroom was connected to a small living room opening to a big full bathroom. During our stay we had wonderful breakfast. The service at all stages was second to none . I, highly, recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Room 17 is very silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aydin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great Value for money hotel.
Serivce is good.
Breakfast has a brilliant range they should please everyone. We found if they didn't have something you wanted then just ask.
Rooms were clean.
Overall this is hotel is excellent for service and value.

Good other rooms to use like a TV room/lounge if you room gets a little crowded.

Room Tip: We had the suite, room 54 at the 4th floor which gives you a wonderful view over the main street. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
585 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
170 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
367 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
868 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#22 of 126 in Nuremberg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Property: Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Address: Koenigstr. 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing