We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont believe the pictures on website!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Ranked #56 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Booked a room for one night for 134 euros and was extremely disappointed with my stay, so much so I left the hotel as soon as I booked the ibis down the road for 69 euros, the ibis being a far superior hotel than this. The first "standard" room we were given had a damp matted carpet around the shower area, black marks all over the walls and the decor of a horror movie asylum. I complained to front desk, saying I was not satisfied with the quality of the room for the money, to which I was told they were actually charging more on a walk in rate. I then said the room in no way reflected what was advertised online, to which I was told "the pictures online for standard rooms are actually of superior rooms". She tried to up sell me a room but having already said it was sold under false advertising, she said I could have a superior room for no additional charge. I transferred to the superior room which was quite old fashioned ( not in the good way), but upon closer inspection I would not have wanted to walk bare foot on the carpet as it was dirty, full of holes and matted. The woman I spoke to seemed un phased by my complaint, almost treating our conversation as a game( I am not the type of complainer who gets angry or shouts). With the poor state of the rooms, actual keys and little security on the front door, we felt very disappointed, concerned for our belongings security and let down by the hotel. Needless to say don't stay here unless you like dirty, maingy rooms that smell musty, there are much cheaper and nicer basic hotels in Nuremberg.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank stephenanstiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XXXIII, Manager at Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Gentlemen,

It is most unfortunate for your negativity towards your very brief visit. However during your approximate 15-minute stay, you used various furnishings of the booked room, then left the hotel without paying and we never charged for this service. Needless to say, so far we have not charged your credit card for the amount of the room price owed.
To allow the experience of style, comfort, willingness to provide service, individuality and the attention given to local preferences and cultural traditions is not a price issue in our hotel but our strict commitment, even we are very conscious indeed of the fact that not everyone values these criteria– as is the case with you.

Against this background, we were not surprised that in your evaluation you purposely recommend the offer and room price of a neighboring hotel located on the same street. This hotel is part of an international company group whose hotel brand distinguishes itself by a very modest, sparse supply and the promise of worldwide uniformity irrespective of the location.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "security“: Our reception staff works 24/7, the top-quality key system is coded and the keys cannot be copied. If a key is lost, the entire lock must be replaced. Every room has direct dialing telephones with emergency numbers and a large, high-quality safe with electronic combination lock that in the premium rooms even has capacity for 17-inch notebooks. At night, our staff makes several rounds throughout the hotel and the closest police station is roughly 200 yards away. In addition, we have various hidden security measures in place that I cannot discuss, of course. In the past decades, no person has ever been assaulted and there has been no incursion into the property of a guest.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "wall-to-wall carpet": Our rooms are furnished with fine wood parquet or wall-to-wall carpet. The latter is vacuumed thoroughly and chemically cleaned and disinfected every day. The room you used and complain about is furnished with a high-quality, emission-free virgin wool carpet (the presumably “felted” spots you complained about are in fact unavoidable seams of the natural material!) and there are hygienically packaged terry-towel slippers available at no charge, as in all premium "Kaiserhof" rooms. The existence of these slippers unfortunately escaped your attention.

- Regarding your appreciated critique of the subject of "old fashioned - but not in a good way": Many of our guestrooms are individually furnished with original, restored antiques – in stylish combination with contemporary functional furniture. We regret that you did not give our staff the opportunity to explain to you this misunderstanding, which was yours.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is not luxurious, but it is clean and comfortable. However the location, breakfast and staff are excellent. It is inside the old city just 5 mins walk from the railway station and metro. Access to the airport on the subway is easy. It is also on the edge of the pedestrian area with many bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. There is an extensive selection of fruit, cereal, meats, cheeses, breads and juices available at breakfast. All the staff I met spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnalyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great location, right in the old part of the city with the pedestrian walkways all around. Small city so could walk everywhere. Walking distance from the main train station. Beautiful old building. When we were there the hotel was renovating many of their rooms so we were given one of their suites which was very comfortable particularly the beds. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke English as our Germany was limited. My son particularly liked their fitness room which was very well equipped for a small area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff- parking was a slight problem as the hotel car park was full, however you can park in certain areas of the street free of charge from early evening to 8 am the following day. The room we stayed in was clean and had everything needed however the bathroom was extremely small (room 27). The hotel is in an excellent location and there is a great bar right next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

On our way to the bavarian Forest was Nuernberg the perfect stop. A city you would not visit so easlily, but excellent for a stopover to see in half a day. The hotel is smack in the "old" center (Nuernberg was mostly destroyed in 1945, so most you see is recontruction) and the untouched Imperial castle is definetely worth a visit. The hotel looks very nice from the outside, but needs some work on the inside. Since we travel with two small children, we always look for larger accommodations, which we also enjoyed at the Deutscher Kaiser, we had a one bedroom suite on a high floor. The room was nice, but smaller than we had hoped. The public spaces are basic and a little tired. The breakfast was average for Germany, which is good by any other standard. Good for a one night stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurriaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We just stayed in the fourth floor suite, which they had upgraded us to because it was empty. All the hotel reception staff were lovely and very friendly. They also let us leave our luggage there for most of the day after we'd checked out *and* let us go to our room as early as 11 am because we came on a morning flight. The suite was fab, breakfasts generous and very nicely prepared. If we return we would definitely go back there. It's not the cheapest hotel in the town, but we couldn't fault a single thing about it and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: It might be that the bigger the room is, the nicer it is, judging from some reviews here. It's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulineBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Spent a mid-week holiday in Nuremberg. We made a mistake in train reservations and hotel reservation dates. Hotel staff very politely shifted our reservation to match our train travel plans. The hotel is a grand old building. Public areas are a bit bland with antique furniture placed randomly in public areas. There was a floor by floor cosmetic overhaul going on while we were there (that didn't impact our lodgings) that should address some of the previous comments about this property.

Rooms were nice but plain. Beds comfortable and for the price rather spacious room size by German standards. Front desk help was solicitious and polite. Definitely will return again in 2012. Reasonable price but not necessarily a bargain but certainly better than the cookie cutter world of chain hotels located nearby.

All in all a nice choice that facilitated having a nice time in Nuremberg during the week before Christmas 2011.

Room Tip: Room 35 has a nice view of the Fussganger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrmdispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
618 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#33 of 126 in Nuremberg
293 reviews
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg

Address: Koenigstr. 55, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: $160 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutscher Kaiser Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing