We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel&Restaurant Steichele”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel&Restaurant Steichele”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I found this Hotel to be very good, the location was excellant for sight seeing around the city centre. My room was good and their breakfast of a good standard. I was most impressed
with the Restaurant and the food was great. Staff very helpful to a non german speaking
person.I ate there both nights I stayed and would stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    74
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
53
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had one night here and found it convenient for the centre of Nurnberg. It is in a quiet side street, our room at the back was very quiet. Parking is in the multi story almost opposite the hotel - expensive but you get a discount from the hotel reception.
We arrived at 11am but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in early. The room is a little dated in appearance and the bathroom was very small but both were nice and clean. We booked an evening meal in the restaurant, which was just as well as it was full when we eat there. Breakfast was ok, not the best that we experienced in Germany and the staff didn't seem to fill up items as they finished. Not bad - just OK.
The wifi didn't seem to work for us but it wasn't a big deal and we didn't take issue with it.
Nice stay overall and fine for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good location, next to metro station and at the old city centre. Very good breakfast and nice breakfast room.
Room was quite big, but it had a very bad smell (like mold smell). The room and furniture was very old, carpet very old and dirty. Bathroom small and awful decoration and colour. Needs renovation. No staff at the reception, you should always wait until somebody come from the restaurant. Only for one night stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenaalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 7/2013. Location is great, peaceful little street within walkingdistance from the centre. Service is friendly and you'll get all the info you need from the reception, they are very helpful. Rooms are comfortable, perhaps a little retro, but very clean and in good shape. Wifi is working not so good in the room, but in public areas perfect. Breakfast has coldcuts, cheese, breadrolls etc. All you need to start the day.
Do not miss the terrace of this hotel/weinstube. Good vinelist with menu of local specialties. We had fish, and it was very good.
We can recommend this hotel, when visiting Nurnberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed for a weekend at the Hotel Steichele and was very glad to see that it was an authentic Bavarian experience. The newer building hotel is attached to the very traditional and historic restaurant ( this building escaped bombing during WW2 so it is absolutely authentic and the restaurant decor has been left in situ ) You can eat roast venison and imagine the people that came before you over the past 100 years ! My room was modern and comfortable with a pillow and duvet cover of pure cotton and airy goose feathers. The weekend buffet breakfast is served until 11 am which is late for most German standards, so if you need a rest this is great. The owner is friendly and charming and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has many extra touches such as umbrellas you can borrow, allergy free pillows.I highly recommend this hotel for an authentic experience especially since a great deal of hotels in Nurnberg are either chain type or in modern buildings.

Room Tip: The hotel has an elevator and the rooms are on 4 floors so there is no problem in transporting your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Terrific Bavarian restaurant in Old Town Nurnberg. Diverse menu (available in English), wonderful food (the best goose I've every had), friendly staff. Not a large place, so reservations might be a good idea. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the largest room here (attic). Family of 2 adults and 2 tweens. Good amount of space, but noise can be an issue. Hotel is on small street with restaurant below so there is congregating directly outside. Fire truck station is around the corner and sirens go off all night. Church bells also ring thru the night every hour, and every 15 minutes in the morning and eve. Skylight-type windows in attic only do cannot open to ventilate when it rains. None of this is unusual for a German hotel, especially in the Altstadt. Owners are really lovely and you will be treated well here. No fridges in rooms, no a/c, and the hotel shower soap and shampoo comes in ketchup-type packets so bring your own. Area is quiet and the only restaurant in area to get dinner after 8pm is Argola, which is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Agneshof
#18 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#50 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#7 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#44 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Property: Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Address: Knorrstr. 2-8, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steichele, Hotel And Weinrestaurant
Steichele Hotel Nuremberg
Steichele Hotel Weinrestaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing