We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burghotel Nurnberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burghotel Nurnberg
Ranked #32 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed one night and immediately the staff greeted us with more than just a smile. They offered information in the city before we asked. They were more than willingly to highlight the city. Centered in Old Town amidst all the sites, shopping, and food. If you want to stay in Old Town, which I highly recommend, this is a great option on a budget. Very clean, bathroom up to date as well.
Nurnberg is worth seeing. Be sure to walk the Old Town because you will not appreciate the town until you do. There is a lot of history so read up before you go and you will appreciate it all the more. Nurnberg is a charming, delightful town. Staying downtown is a must.

Room Tip: Did not use room service or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROTO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    79
    26
    13
    3
See reviews for
36
77
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel a couple days ago. I loved the street - great location in Old Town. I like the ambiance of the hotel - medieval feel. Rooms are dated and small, but each has small bathroom and very clean. Wouldn't want to "hang out" in my room, but for a place to sleep and catch a great German breakfast, I would go back. Breakfast 8 Euro, but well worth it, when you consider the price of a cup of coffee on the street is at least 2 Euro's min. The front desk staff were really friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an updated bathroom and shower - just note it will not have a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel and appreciated the fact that everything was within walking distance from this hotel. It was pretty reasonable, and they even had a pay and park facility at a discounted rate in one of the nearby parking plazas. The breakfast was average but decent, the staff was really nice and sweet and helpful. Overall for the price and the location, it is a decent hotel to live in if one needs something close by.
The drawbacks to this hotel are, the rooms are really small, so are the bathrooms. Plus the rooms have no air conditioning and as we were there in July during the peak of summer the room was unbearable to live in as it did not even have a fan and there was absolutely no breeze since there are buildings surrounding it. Plus the buildings surrounding it are so close that one does not even get any privacy if one opens the drapes.
So I would classify it as an average and budget hotel which is livable but would not really be my first option or even 2nd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombaySymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

There is no doubt that this hotel is a wonderful starting point for visiting Old Town Nurmberg. I acknowledge that it is an old hotel yet it felt more dated than old world charm. Our room was small, looking out into surrounding buildings. The pillows on the bed were so flat that even folding them in half did not give much support and I did not sleep well. The bathroom had been updated and was very clean. However the hair dryer which was located under the sink was meant to be mounted on the wall. In order to use it I had to hold the dryer in one hand and the wall mount fixture in the other which meant I was unable to style it with a brush.
Thankfully our stay was for only one night. I would only recommend this hotel again if I were able to view the room before I committed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved this hotel. Best I've stayed in for a long time and the price was reasonable. Situated near the castle but close enough to the main town and market to walk and approximtely 20 minutes walk from the station. Best breakfast ever. The room was comfortable, clean with TV and hairdryer. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The terrace was a nice quiet place to have a drink at the end of the day. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Nurenberg is well worth a visit, buzzing and great shops.

Room Tip: It may be quieter at the back of the hotel. My room was at the front and there was noise from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The main issue we had at this hotel was that there was no air-conditioning and our room was almost unbearable to sleep in. (it was in the 90's and humid) We were told upon mentioning this at check-out that small fans were available upon request. This info would have been great to know during check-in! I don't recommend the breakfast, as it was decent, but overpriced. Much better and probably a little cheaper to visit any number of nearby restaurants. On a positive, the hotel is very charming and old world feeling. Also, the pool in the basement and sauna were very cool. It immediately feels like you are in some weird 70's movie. Should also be mentioned that there is no wifi available at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

As a former resident of Nuremberg, this hotel fits the charm of the city well with its central location in the old town on a quiet street. The breakfast was probably the best one can get in a German, small hotel. The terrace for breakfast was lovely, as was the spectacular view of the castle from our room, especially lit up at night. The cool of the pool was a welcome reprieve from the heat of the day. Two suggestions would be to include fans in rooms on hot days (we had to ask at he desk of one, even though staying on the top floor) and to have free wifi. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly, nevertheless.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyUlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Agneshof
#14 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel Elch
Hotel Elch
#6 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#11 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
TOP Duerer Hotel
#25 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel Nurnberg

Property: Burghotel Nurnberg
Address: Lammsgasse 3, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Sebald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burghotel Nurnberg 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Burghotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Nurnberg Nuremberg
Burghotel Nurnberg Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing