We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is minutes away walking from the major attractions. Germanique Museum, Opera House and of course the Christmas markets. The hotel is located next to the medieval wall, very calm. The rooms are standard size, the bathrooms ver ymodern a,d practical.

Room Tip: If by car, ask for a space to be reserved for you in the inner court yard, or arrive early :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiestalegre888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Room ok, clean and comfortable. pillow was a bit on the flat side, despite looking fluffy.
Strange smell in the hotel hall way area, owing to the Japanese eatery next door, however this did not affect the room.
Strange set up with the bathroom, in that the bathroom door was frosted glass, that did not leave toomuch to the imagination (if you get my drift), so probably not ideal if you are trying to impress a new beau.......... Also the light was on a movement sensor, which if you stuck your arm out of bed and the bathroom doors were open, then suddently the whole place was illuminated (not good at 3am).
Location wise it was fine, yes the red light district was nearby, but we really were not bothered by this.
Also read that complaints that the staff were rude, well as a non German speaking English couple, we found the staff to be very helpful and informative. Slight probllem at checkout, but this was quickly resolved.
Christmas markets ok, although a bit repetitive, and we highly recomend a walk around the walls, and a trip to the rally site (very interesting)

Room Tip: Pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisnsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in oct 2013. Was on a business trip and visiting a fair. Arrived after midnight but friendly staff waiting and no issue to get a drink in lobby/reception area. Simple but good breakfast, everything you'd want is there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice a stylish hotel in the historical heart of Nuermerg. Very nice rooms with modern furniture and well equiped bathroom. Promised free parking was full the charge for underground parking lot is 12€. It should have a free internet connection, but to confirm the connection you have to sign into your email - impossible without internet connection. Staff at the reception was friendly at all time. Breakfest was good but limited selection. I can recomend if you want to be in the town centre and you dont need much comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great rooms, with all up to date amenities. Extremely devoted front desk staff as Katherina always is! The breakfast is quite large - buffet style. The rooms are nice and very clean, and modern. Easy hotel to find, as there are little signs leading you to it from a few blocks away. The hotel is about 600 feet away from the majestic Nuremberg Opera building and just within the ancient city wall. I will always return to this hotel. Don't forget to grab a fresh fruit at the reception ! Btw, nice lobby bar too! Great all around place, and very decent prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've been in this hotel on a family holiday to Nuremberg. We booked a Superior triple room. We got a wide room on 2nd floor. The bed for the child was not a couch. The room was nice, well equipped and with a design touch that we liked. The bathroom was separated by the loo. The room gave on a small and quiet courtyard where guests could park their car. Breakfast was served in a very nice and comfortable ambience, with a lot of food despite more croissants or cakes would not be bad. The people we met at reception and breakfast room were friendly (exp. Anja) and helpful. The hotel is located inside the walls, at two minutes'walk from U-Bahn Weisser Turm, a couple of stops from the HBF central station. The only problem we had were the pillows, too soft. I asked for hard pillows but they got none.
Nuremberg is a pleasant small city, very well kept and with efficient services, in the German way. We recommend you to visit the DOKU and the castle (even if completely rebuilt after the terrible bombing in 1945), walk along the canals and the bridges. A suggestion: if travelling with family, buy the Ticket Plus Card at € 8.50 (if you buy it on Sat it is valid also on Sun).

Room Tip: ask for Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabriquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting town. It is a short and scenic walk to center of the Altstadt, and to the Hauptbahnhof. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were excellent, really cozy with comfy beds. And there's a great Backstube around the corner for breakfast. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Nuremberg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjc2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#46 of 126 in Nuremberg
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novina Hotel Tillypark
Novina Hotel Tillypark
#14 of 126 in Nuremberg
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agneshof
Hotel Agneshof
#31 of 126 in Nuremberg
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Nurnberg
Derag Livinghotel Nurnberg
#44 of 126 in Nuremberg
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt

Address: Schottengasse 5, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly City Partner Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: $75 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well being of our guests was always our greatest concern and therefore we welcome you with a great amount of conveniences. Due to the good connection to the highway – that is located only one kilometer from our hotel – we can guarantee you a stress-free arrival and departure. The Check-in starts daily at 14:00 o´clock, the Check-out at 11:00 a.m. Simply park your car on our hotel-owned parking lot or in the underground car park. Due to the location of our hotel there is no need for a car during your stay. All the rooms in our main building are accessible via elevator and have free W-LAN, SKY-program, a wake-up service as well as a room and cleaning service available. Start your morning at our substantial breakfast buffet and end your day at our hotel bar. In order to relax we have a sauna and fitness room available for your personal comfort. Our reception is staffed 24 hours and our we will be happy to help you to plan your day trips during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Partner Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing