We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
Ranked #46 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting town. It is a short and scenic walk to center of the Altstadt, and to the Hauptbahnhof. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were excellent, really cozy with comfy beds. And there's a great Backstube around the corner for breakfast. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Nuremberg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjc2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    39
    8
    0
See reviews for
31
44
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel is perfect for visiting the town expecially if you have the car because there is a good private parking. It's located in old town.The room are good, the breakfast is excellent, the staff is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the AM Jakobsmarkt for 4 nights at the beginning of December, this is an average hotel, very central to the main Christmas Market, it was warm and the reception staff very friendly and helpful, our room was a bit on the small side, no tea/coffee making facilities, but we always take our own kettle. We had a problem with the shower, the glass sliding doors fell off due to the metal strips being rusty, we reported it to reception in the evening, and it was repaired the following day, the showerhead, did not stay up, so it was very awkward to shower, take the thing off and hold it, especially while trying to shampoo your hair, also the cubicle was very small, OK for us, but for anyone a bit larger would have had a problem.The breakfast was adequate, mainly cereals and the usual array of meats, cheeses rolls & bread, only hot food was a mixture of scrambled egg & bacon, no toaster. Our friends were up in one of the attic rooms, but theirs was larger with a settee an armchair. There was free WIFI in the room. No drawers, just shelves in the wardrobe, together with a safe. The TV had very little in the way of English stations, most of the info in the room and reception was in German, The restaurants nearby were very busy, always had to book, not that cheap, about the same as UK prices, although wines and beers were reasonable. Being December it was very cold, so come prepared, we had a lot of snow. One good thing is that they do grit and salt the streets, so the snow doesn't tend to settle for long, unless of course it snows for a very long time,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I hav stayed at many hotels in Nuremberg and no matter what you choose you will not be dissapointed. Fantastic location in the Aldstadt surrounded by old and modern buildings. Underground car parking. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with modern styling and tastes. Comfy beds, warm rooms and plenty of hot water. The view into the courtyard extolled the buildings archtecture and history and is a very pleasant view.

Room Tip: Inward facing rooms have the view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found this hotel most satisfactory. I was worried about reports of the red light district, but we didn't see anything of the sort, and it was only a 2 min walk from a very nice and busy pedestrianized area.
It was about a 10 minute walk to the markets, although took longer as the children stopped every minute for snowball fights!
The rooms were neat and clean and enough space. There was no bath except in the shower stall, but that was still ok for a child.
The reception staff were always pleasant and professional and all but one spoke perfect English.
We thought the breakfasts were good and nothing ever ran out without being immediately replaced, despite being the busiest time of the year.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 322 twin room, on the street but still very quiet. Room 401, bit of a rabbit warren to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Centrally located, near to red light district, near to subway. Friendly staff. Not well know by taxi driver "ah, near to Holiday Inn, that's known by everyone". 20 min from airport.
WLAN not properly working - WLAN not working in the room, another WLAN in the lobby.
Lobby has a small bar. Beds are quite small, room is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

+ Small and cozy hotel in the old city, 3 minutes by food from the station of underground 'Weisser Turm'. Usually the streets are quite. Good cleaning. Very nice and friendly personnel. Fintess and sauna. Parking. lways fresh free fruit on reception.

- I wish breakfast was more diversified. Sometimes when many people have brekfast at the same time there is no enough food for everybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#54 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#59 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#14 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt

Property: Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
Address: Schottengasse 5, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly City Partner Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well being of our guests was always our greatest concern and therefore we welcome you with a great amount of conveniences. Due to the good connection to the highway – that is located only one kilometer from our hotel – we can guarantee you a stress-free arrival and departure. The Check-in starts daily at 14:00 o´clock, the Check-out at 11:00 a.m. Simply park your car on our hotel-owned parking lot or in the underground car park. Due to the location of our hotel there is no need for a car during your stay. All the rooms in our main building are accessible via elevator and have free W-LAN, SKY-program, a wake-up service as well as a room and cleaning service available. Start your morning at our substantial breakfast buffet and end your day at our hotel bar. In order to relax we have a sauna and fitness room available for your personal comfort. Our reception is staffed 24 hours and our we will be happy to help you to plan your day trips during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Partner Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing