We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the visit of the town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel is perfect for visiting the town expecially if you have the car because there is a good private parking. It's located in old town.The room are good, the breakfast is excellent, the staff is nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the AM Jakobsmarkt for 4 nights at the beginning of December, this is an average hotel, very central to the main Christmas Market, it was warm and the reception staff very friendly and helpful, our room was a bit on the small side, no tea/coffee making facilities, but we always take our own kettle. We had a problem with the shower, the glass sliding doors fell off due to the metal strips being rusty, we reported it to reception in the evening, and it was repaired the following day, the showerhead, did not stay up, so it was very awkward to shower, take the thing off and hold it, especially while trying to shampoo your hair, also the cubicle was very small, OK for us, but for anyone a bit larger would have had a problem.The breakfast was adequate, mainly cereals and the usual array of meats, cheeses rolls & bread, only hot food was a mixture of scrambled egg & bacon, no toaster. Our friends were up in one of the attic rooms, but theirs was larger with a settee an armchair. There was free WIFI in the room. No drawers, just shelves in the wardrobe, together with a safe. The TV had very little in the way of English stations, most of the info in the room and reception was in German, The restaurants nearby were very busy, always had to book, not that cheap, about the same as UK prices, although wines and beers were reasonable. Being December it was very cold, so come prepared, we had a lot of snow. One good thing is that they do grit and salt the streets, so the snow doesn't tend to settle for long, unless of course it snows for a very long time,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I hav stayed at many hotels in Nuremberg and no matter what you choose you will not be dissapointed. Fantastic location in the Aldstadt surrounded by old and modern buildings. Underground car parking. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with modern styling and tastes. Comfy beds, warm rooms and plenty of hot water. The view into the courtyard extolled the buildings archtecture and history and is a very pleasant view.

Room Tip: Inward facing rooms have the view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found this hotel most satisfactory. I was worried about reports of the red light district, but we didn't see anything of the sort, and it was only a 2 min walk from a very nice and busy pedestrianized area.
It was about a 10 minute walk to the markets, although took longer as the children stopped every minute for snowball fights!
The rooms were neat and clean and enough space. There was no bath except in the shower stall, but that was still ok for a child.
The reception staff were always pleasant and professional and all but one spoke perfect English.
We thought the breakfasts were good and nothing ever ran out without being immediately replaced, despite being the busiest time of the year.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 322 twin room, on the street but still very quiet. Room 401, bit of a rabbit warren to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Centrally located, near to red light district, near to subway. Friendly staff. Not well know by taxi driver "ah, near to Holiday Inn, that's known by everyone". 20 min from airport.
WLAN not properly working - WLAN not working in the room, another WLAN in the lobby.
Lobby has a small bar. Beds are quite small, room is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

+ Small and cozy hotel in the old city, 3 minutes by food from the station of underground 'Weisser Turm'. Usually the streets are quite. Good cleaning. Very nice and friendly personnel. Fintess and sauna. Parking. lways fresh free fruit on reception.

- I wish breakfast was more diversified. Sometimes when many people have brekfast at the same time there is no enough food for everybody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Couldn't get into my favourite hotel in Nuremberg as there was yet another trade show on and was recommended the City Partner. Prices reflected availability and I got a small single room at a ridiculous price. Location is good, just inside city walls. Reception and breakfast areas both pleasant with a good breakfast at extra charge. Room was fine, wifi effective. Acceptable, not exciting in the least.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#46 of 126 in Nuremberg
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novina Hotel Tillypark
Novina Hotel Tillypark
#13 of 126 in Nuremberg
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agneshof
Hotel Agneshof
#31 of 126 in Nuremberg
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Nurnberg
Derag Livinghotel Nurnberg
#45 of 126 in Nuremberg
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt

Address: Schottengasse 5, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly City Partner Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: $75 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well being of our guests was always our greatest concern and therefore we welcome you with a great amount of conveniences. Due to the good connection to the highway – that is located only one kilometer from our hotel – we can guarantee you a stress-free arrival and departure. The Check-in starts daily at 14:00 o´clock, the Check-out at 11:00 a.m. Simply park your car on our hotel-owned parking lot or in the underground car park. Due to the location of our hotel there is no need for a car during your stay. All the rooms in our main building are accessible via elevator and have free W-LAN, SKY-program, a wake-up service as well as a room and cleaning service available. Start your morning at our substantial breakfast buffet and end your day at our hotel bar. In order to relax we have a sauna and fitness room available for your personal comfort. Our reception is staffed 24 hours and our we will be happy to help you to plan your day trips during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Partner Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing