We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ranked #18 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora
1 review
“Great location and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location is perfect - near the train station, inside the old city wall, and at the beginning of Rick Steeve's Nuremberg city walking tour. It felt safe and even though near the train was a nice part of town. The room was clean - Ikea-like furniture and was everything we needed. The AC was very nice so that we could close the windows to keep out the city noises. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage as we toured during the day. The only down side was that the wifi was not free - but for 59 Euro for a twin room we could have purchased it if we really wanted. There was a computer in the lobby that was free to use. I spent a lot of time trying to find the perfect hotel - looking for location, price and AC and was not disappointed. I would stay here again and will recommend.

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    372
    126
    21
    10
See reviews for
131
326
83
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Perfect location, five minutes walk from the central station and the U2 line from the airport. Just over £50.00 for a twin room per night was fantastic value for money, located on one of the main streets in the old town the hotel is an ideal base for exploring and eating in the many restaurants which are close by.

My daughter wanted to visit the parade grounds from the 1930 and these were a short tram ride away, again the tram terminus is close to the hotel being a few minutes walk away.

Its a budget hotel but in a perfect location and ideal for that weekend trip where you are out and about exploring the city.

Would return and more than happy to recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here one night and I enjoyed the stay.

The best:
-location (very central, close to the city center and to the central station)
-rooms are confortable and clean
-air-conditioner


The worst:
-no free wifi
-breakfast too expensive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located to visit the city centre of Nürnberg; it is right after one of the main gates to the old city and very close to the public transportation. The top floor penthouse room we stayed in was facing the street and was very cozy. For a 2-star hotel the accommodation was very comfortable, the breakfast included in our rate was also of high quality. Despite some negative comments the staff at the reception as well as in the breakfast room were very nice and helpful. We stayed here for leisure however the hotel is also suitable for short business stays.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms at the 7th floor are large and comfortable, but the lift goes up to 6th floor so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

perfect place for city break - next to old town, clean, good service, good price. nothing to add ;) I didnt have breakfast there - there is caffe near the hotel, so we went there to eat outside . One thing I missed was the parking ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maladiabliczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location about 5 minutes walk from the central station and an equal distance from the centre of town. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The location felt very safe. Check in was excellent despite the fact that we arrived late (about 10.30pm). The room was a good size and the beds were very comfortable.The bathroom was well appointed. I did not have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on this. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative comment is that on the day we checked out we went back to the hotel to collect our luggage and were not allowed to use the toilet but were told to go next door to Burger King. I felt this was very poor policy and is stops me from giving an excellent marking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#22 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt

Property: Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Address: Koenigstr. 74, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#14 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#20 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 150 m from the railway station and 7 km from the airport, the Ibis Nüernberg Altstadt hotel is located in the heart of the old city. Book one of our 53 rooms, all with Wifi Internet access. The hotel also features a bar, a 24 hr snack service andundercover public pay parking. The centre of Nuremberg is 800 m away. The Meistersingerhalle cultural and convention centre is 4 km away, and the Opernhaus is 200 m from the hotel. The Nuremberg Arena is 4 km away. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing