We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel spoiled by the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel spoiled by the basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located to the train station and old center of town. The bedroom is roomy and comfortable and the bathroom has proper lighting. Unfortunately, my 3 night stay was hurt by a couple of really basic items: 1, the internet connection was horrible, nearly useless, and it cost 18 euros extra for 3 days access. If you're going to charge extra for internet access (which is a pretty lame practice worldwide these days), then the internet bandwidth should be AWESOME rather than nearly USELESS. 2, taking a shower at 7AM for the past two mornings, the water temperature varied between freezing and scalding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidcstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    183
    50
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
153
57
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pros: Fantastic Breakfast, Right Next to Main Train Station
Cons: Tucked "Around The Corner"

This hotel is a great choice when travelling by train to Nuernberg; it is located only one block away from the main station. The trick is knowing which way to go, since it is kind of hiding around the back street. Don't let this deter you; it's still quite easy to get to even when arriving after midnight as I did this time.

The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The beds have typical European linens and pillows, the desk had plenty of room for working, and there was ample space for luggage and even a nice closet with room to hang all items. My room also had an iron and ironing board, so I didn't even have to ask to borrow one.

The bathroom was quite large by European standards, including separate shower and tub as well as two sinks. There was also a heater to warm it up on cold winter mornings.

The breakfast buffet was impressive, including a wide choice of pastries, fruits, yogurts, meats and cheeses, and hot foods like eggs, bacon, sausages, and omelettes. Most hotels in Europe tend to have better breakfast buffets than in the US, but this would still be considered better than most in Europe.

Overall, American travelers will feel quite at home, and overall I would consider this to be a great choice when passing through. The only reason to perhaps not choose this location would be to decide to stay in the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
316 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spend there a longer weekend with family (2+3) and enjoyed very much the location since there is very little good hotels in central Nuremberg. Parking is a bit challenging since there are few parking lots in the hotel and bigger cars are allowed to a limited number of parking spaces. Rich breakfast, very good service, very personal and attentive staff. Small but enjoyable spa at the roof with a nice view of the old town from the jacuzzi :-). Italian restaurant on the other side of the street is a good alternative to a hotel restaurant, when you are looking for bigger variety of meals. Nice place, worth price paid, good access to the city.

Room Tip: Pick the room heading to the inner part of the block, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed New Year's Eve on way to skiing trip. The room was spacious, up to date, clean and comfortable. Dinner in the bar and breakfast buffet the next day were very good. What we really loved was the service and personal attention from all of the staff, who really made us felt welcome and attended to all of our needs. Would recommend highly and would return myself if opportunity presents itself.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Nuremberg while visiting the Christmas Market and this fascinating historic town. We had to make an initial decision between the historic Grand (run by Starwood’s sister brand Meridien Hotels) or the more modern Sheraton. We opted for the latter and we are fairly certain we made the right decision. The Sheraton is on a side street on the west side of the train station and adjacent to a construction site. This concerned us, but we did not hear any noise during our stay.

Reception was efficient although there was some confusion about an SPG elite upgrade, which we eventually received. Even though our suite faced south toward the train tracks, we could not hear a sound when the windows were closed, which was always during this winter stay.

The front desk continued with good and cheerful service, from solid recommendations for dinner to directions for visiting the important sites that were not in the Old Town, the medieval walls of which were just a block away.

There were some glitches – the Internet did always work well in the room and housekeeping was a bit erratic. Nonetheless, the ample room size, cleanliness of the modern bathrooms and excellent bed probably did still make this the better choice than the more atmospheric Meridien Grand with its unpredictably-sized and –shaped rooms.

Room Tip: We expected that rooms facing the courtyard would be quieter but we were pleasantly surprised that e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very good stay in this hotel, nice people at the reception and very good catering and meeting room service.
Walking distance from both train station and city center.
Good breakfast. I've had dinner once, I tried the buffet menu and it was a little bit expensive.
Only one suggestion: I would avoid using the first lift on left side for both guests and room service: it happens in the morning to find it full just because there are cleaning trolleys inside...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Came to this hotel after a week on a river cruise. We really appreciated the space and comfort - a great king size bed and plenty of space for luggage, hanging clothes and a roomy bathroom (where I could do all my washing!). We had a lot of luggage and were able to spread it out and not feel cluttered. Good fittings and very comfortable. The outlook was the railway but we didn't mind because we were out, walking around the old town, most of the time. We didn't need a view because theIt's an easy walk to the old town and perfect for the Christkindlmarkt. We were able to go out and back a number of times. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the restaurant is convenient, and the food is good - for those times when you don't want to go out again.

Room Tip: Probably all are of a good quality. We are near the railway but can not hear any trains and we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anushena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg

Property: Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg
Address: Eilgutstr. 15, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#18 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is pledged to cater to the highest standards. As a privately managed first-class hotel it is one of Nuremberg's prime locations. Welcome to the Franconian metropolis and its historical old town. Since 2003 Nuremberg's No. 1 in the major hotel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Carlton Hotel Nuernberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nuremberg
Sheraton Nuremberg
Nuremberg Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing