We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Ranked #58 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short business stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

A very cozy little place conveniently situated with close proximity to town centre, trains etc.
Rooms and amenities were satisfying.
Staff with smiles...... Always works magic to weary travelers .
Excellent stay during our visit to Spielwarenmesse Toy Fair (2014)

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sirCyril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice commentary about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time. Thanks also for your nice words about my staff. I hope you had a successful toy fair here in Nuremberg. I wish you a safe flight home and I am lookung forward to seeing you next year in Nuremberg again at the TOY 2015.

Yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    141
    79
    30
    14
See reviews for
76
96
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
at home
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The price for our family of 4 was fantastic, especially for Europe! The staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The location is just outside of the old town…you walk through the main halls of the train station across the street & exit right by the old city wall where the handicraft market is. It's not in the middle of the old city, but right next to it, so easy to get around on foot. The rooms are very small, you won't want to do anything here but sleep!

The restaurant was good & fairly priced. Breakfast was typical European…for an American probably not very good value for the variety/price, but kids were free, so it was great for us! Easy to park (extra charge) and get in & out.

No free wifi in room?!?!
The hotel is a maze…very difficult to find your room (fire exit?!) follow the signs very closely! Rooms are tiny, the smallest I've been in! You don't want to stay here if you plan to hang out in the room much. Not very handicap accessible either, I'd say…we had to use lots of stairs with our bags! There is also a lot of noise from the hallway & alley in the room…so not very soundproof.

Room Tip: You definitely want something away from the elevators & not in the main building where everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your comment referring to your stay at our hotel. Me employees and me are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your enthusiasm about our price-value ratio and that you write that we are an perfect hotel for familiies.

Please let me add some information: WiFi in the rooms is free for all our guests who book directly via our homepage.

It is true, what you write: Some of our rooms are only accessible by using stairs. However we are also an officially ceritfied hotel for handicapped people and all our guests who have problems with their mobility get rooms, which have direct access to the lift and are easy to reach.

Concerning the size of the rooms you mentioned we evidently offer different categories. So it's in the decision of the guest to book a standard room or to choose a category where the rooms are more spacious.

I hope, you and your family had a good journey back and I wish you and your familiy a Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely

Perter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For a four star hotel it's not acceptable not to have wifi for free. The room was small but clean. On the plus side the 30 inch flat tv. Being next to the train station and a busy street it a bit noisy. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. The location is the best asset of the hotel. It right next to the main train station as well as the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice and competent comment about our hotel.

I just want to inform you and the general reader that every guest of our hotel gets free WiFi if he books his room directly via our homepage. Tis is a service we offer since several months.

Best wishes

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to the Alt Stadt. Our two night stay was great even though we were across from the train station we found our room to be very quiet with the windows open. The room was large and had been updated. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was large with a nice Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We had two double rooms( as we were four adults) and the second room same price was much smaller and did not have a tub or updating. Only drawback was that breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi were all extras 11 Euro for breakfast, $12.50 for parking per day and around 5 Euro for 24hr Wi-Fi which most places we had stayed in included this. It ended up being a bit pricey but all in all the hotel was nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an updated room and one on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice and positive comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Nuremberg and that you give a recommendation of our hotel to future guests.

Let me just add one important information: You name the extras absolutely correct: We charge 11 Euro for our big breakfast buffet, what is below the average for a German City hotel and we charge 4,95 Euros for a 24 h Wlan-Ticket.

However: Guests who book directly online via our homepage get a free 24h Wlan ticket.

The parking fee is 12,50 Euros, not Dollars.

Thank you for your nice description of our hotel: I hope you had a pleasant time in Germany and a safe flight home.

Yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel (a couple of days in the second half of September 2013) visiting Nuremberg for business purposes. Having in mind the austerity of the German Hotels I have made a reservation and I got a comfort single room (which I strongly recommend), large enough and decently equipped (maybe minimalist, but convenient after all), but the view was poor (interior patio of the hotel or something like that). The hotel and the rooms were clean and the service acceptable, the staff (front desk and restaurant) generally friendly and helpful; no bellboy available, so the transfer of the luggage through the narrow corridors and half-levels on the same floor it is was not easy. The hotel is under renovation on the second floor, so do not stop the elevator at this second floor since the doors still open and there is a risk of accident (I was warned of the situation by the front desk staff). The breakfast was also decent, German style too, efficiently served and I recommend it since is optional. The hotel is situated very close to the central railway station (very convenient if you have a connection by train) and also a 10’ walk to the downtown . As a location for short business purposes the hotel is suitable and convenient, but a wouldn’t recommend it for a longer stay with family or kids since is a little bit austere.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your detailled and friendly comment on your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the time in Nuremberg and at our hotel. We appreciate your correct and fair description of the hotel, its facilities and departments. And it's true: We don't have a bellboy.

Let me add just a few information to readers who haven't been in our hotel before. The modernisation and refurbishing of hotel rooms you mentioned now has come to its end. Since the end of September we are very proud to welcome our guests in 16 new refurbished and icompletely modernized hotel rooms.

Concerning the boring view from your room we can also offer our guests a spectacular view on the main railway station and its 24 platforms, if they like. Please let us know if you would like to have a room, where you can enjoy that spectacular view when you are staying in Nuremberg next time.

Yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I traveled with a group to this hotel and stayed two days.

Pros: The view from my room! My room faced the city and the train tracks. I was placed in a blissful trance looking out my room window! The location was good for walking to the city center and for taking the train. My room was fairly large for european standards and was clean and comfortable. The pool was a welcome surprise! Enjoyed the water massage and the sauna.....great for relaxing after a day of walking!

Cons: Each time you lifted the telephone receiver you were charged! Even to call the front desk or other rooms in the hotel! We were not told this upfront. Some rooms were much smaller than others and had little to no view. Getting to the pool is a bit of a challenge as they are undergoing renovations. The room key is very heavy.....I know that this may seem silly but it adds weight to a purse and is bulky for a guy to carry.

Room Tip: Ask to face the train station for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your friedndly commentary concering your stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our indoor swimming pool and other facilities at our hotel, especially our new dreamwater lounge - that is what you described as our massage.

Referring to yor comment on our old traditional hotel room keys you are absolutely right. There are quite heavy. But there is no need for our guest to carry them much around because our receptionist is always happy to receive your room key and our reception is always on duty.
24/7.

Concerning the charge of an information call to the receptionist I still have to find out what went wrong because a direct call to our receptionist is always free of charge - and our telecommunication network is always working on that standard. However it can be that if you dial the official telephone number of our hotel in your hotel room than indeed the system will identify your call as an outside call and charge s small fee. Probably this happened.

Best wishes, yours sincerely

Peter Löw, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted visite also Nurenberg centre and not only Playmobile park as always - and for our intetions suits this hotel very well. We were accommodate in house 3 - so were suprised by labyrinth which lead to our room - but we were navigated by staff and second time we found the way without problem.
Plus - friendly staff, location, great breakfast, swimming pool
Minus - parking, recontruction at 2nd floor - but still with possiblity to get out from the lift seems to me dangerous, our familly rooms was closed - but still not right beside or right in front - one of them had smaller bed, so it wasn't comfortable to sleep there as in the second one...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaMachackova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthalt auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Für Ihr großes Lob über meine Mitarbeiter, das Frühstück, die Lage oder unseren Swimmingpool möchte ich mich bedanken. Es freut mich, dass Sie all diese Dinge genossen haben.

Ein Wort zu der Baustelle, die Sie ansprechen. Dieser Modernisierungsabschnitt befindet sich auf einer einzigen Etage (2. Stock) in einem Gebäudeteil unseres weitläufigen Hotels. Dort finden während der Umbauarbeiten, die in ganz kurzer Zeit abgeschlossen sein werden, selbstverständlich auch keine Zimmervermietungen statt. Es ist also kein Gast in irgendeiner Form genötigt, im zweiten Stock den Lift zu benützen. Wehnn Sie aus versehen dort aus dem Lift traten, tut mir das leid - und dafür möchte ich mich entschuldigen. Auch ich würde erschrecken, wenn ich plötzlich aus dem Lift trete und in eine Baustelle blicke.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freuen sich mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
#54 of 126 in Nuremberg
538 reviews
Hotel Fackelmann
#39 of 126 in Nuremberg
126 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Property: Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Address: Pillenreuther Str. 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur is located in the heart of Nuremberg, a former medieval imperial town and now a bustling, young metropolis. We offer hotel-own parking and are only a few steps away from the main train station. The subway lines to the exhibition center and the airport (direct lines, no transfers) and the tram station to the zoo Tiergarten are just around the corner. The historic district with it´s famous "Christkindlesmarkt" in december, the Staatstheater theatre and the Germanische National Museum is located within a short and easy 5-minute walk from Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur. The Meistersingerhalle, the NS-Dokumentationszentrum and the Industriekultur Museum are easily reached by tram. In addition to our 200 Comfort Rooms, all equipped with minibar and free Wi-Fi access, we offer a restaurant, a hotel bar with generous lounge, a pool area with sauna, our fitness area "Mercurialis Gym" as well as various rooms for festive events, conferences and seminars. Our guests include not only business travelers and conference participants, but also art and culture lovers, sightseeing visitors to the city and many international tourists. Over the summer we also welcome many cyclists. Families are always welcome. Children under the age of 15 stay for free in their parents’ room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast. We have one room which is wheelchair accessible and many allergy-friendly and non-smoker rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing