We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not so great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located close to the city of Nuremberg, opposite the main train station. So if you want to visit Nuremberg, this is a good place to start. What made me down-mark the hotel were a few things: firstly, if your room is located in Haus 3, there is not easy way to get to your room. It is ore like a labyrinth. And not only that. There is an elevator only for the first part. You still have to go up *and* down with all your luggage. Quite inconvenient, Then, parking comes at a cost of 15 Euros, and the internet is, unlike in many other hotels in thsi category, charged at premium rates. On top of this we made quite an interesting experience at the bar of the hotel: we ordered cocktails. A Caipirinha and a Planters Punch, both listed in the cocktail menu. The waitress asked: what is a Planters Punch? I had to show here the item n the menu. Well, overall not such a great experience. If I come back to Nuremberg, I certainly would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

ich darf Ihnen Ihnen erst einmal ein Kompliment an Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse aussprechen. Die sind wirklich exzellent. Leider übersetzt der Google-Translator Ihre gutes Englisch dann wieder in radebrechendes Deutsch zurück, was einige Aussagen über Ihren Aufenthalt wieder leicht missverständlich macht.

Grundsätzlich akzeptiere ich selbstverständlich Ihre Kommentierung in allen Teilen, wo Sie einen subjektiven Eindruck vermitteln.

Nicht akzeptabel ist für mich allerdings, wenn Sie einfach falsche Preise nennen - und dies mehrfach!!

Sie haben weder 15 € für den Parkplatz zahlen müssen, noch verlangen wir für WLAN- Premium Rate, wie Sie das so schön formulieren.

Richtig ist, dass ein Parkplatz pro Nacht 12,50 € kostet (das sind für die Nürnberger Stadthotellerie ganz normale Standardpreise) und dass Sie im Hotel in der Lounge kostenlos das Internet benutzen konnten.

Kostenloses Internet aut dem Zimmer genießen darübeerhinaus alle Telekom-Kunden und alle unsere Gäste, die direkt bei uns buchen - und nicht über einen Reiseveranstalter. Das kommunizieren wir transparent und nachvollziehbar auf unserer Homepage. Und selbst wenn dies von Ihnen - aus welchen Gründen auch immer - nicht genutzt wurde, so kostet die 24-Stunden Nutzung des Internets bei uns mit einem HotSpot-Ticket 4,95 €. Für diesen Preis bekommen Sie auf dem Münchener Oktoberfest in diesem Jahr nicht einmal eine halbe Maß Bier. Premium Rate? You are pulling my leg!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    136
    73
    30
    12
See reviews for
74
89
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, spacious and clean rooms, with a great bathroom (not many hotels in this price class offer a bath tub AND seperate shower). The staff os very friendly and helpful. When I booked the riom on their website something went wrong with the date which i did not notice in the cofirmation email. When I arrived they showed no booking. But the lady at reception quickly solved this issue without delay.
The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cam be ordered through room service.
I will definitely come back when next in Nueremberg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrt3610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel to other readers of tripadvisor.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially your recomendation of our cuisine is something that makes us happy and is a big delight for my staff and me.

Yours sincerely

Peter Loew and the team of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is the main draw for this hotel.

Our Room was generally very well sized and lots of room of my wife and myself. Although this hotel is old they have refurbished it sometime ago and rooms are clean.

Receptionist are always helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is good compared with other European hotels but after 4 days there is no change in the selection.

The hotel is actually made up of different sections and buildings, Probably added later in its 30 year history. The point is not all the rooms are the same. We saw 2 rooms and they were very different. So what kind of room u get would be your luck.

Our room was on the first floor and the sound of traffic was very clear. With the occasional siren being very loud.

The cleaning service got progressively worse as the nights went on. By the last day we did not even have tissues and shampoo was not provided as well.

Whilst I would stay here again I would still prefer to stay in the ancient town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Mühe gemacht haben und Ihren Aufenthatt bei uns auf Tripadvisor bewertet haben. Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns so gut gefallen hat. Entschuldigen Sie bitte, dass ich mich jetzt erst für Ihre Bewertung bedanke - leider hat sich bei uns aufgrund eines technischen Problems die Antwort etwas verzögert.

Ich hoffe, Sie hatten inzwischen einen guten und gesunden Flug zurück in Ihre Heimat. Wir hoffen, das Ihr Aufenthalt in Nürnberg einen Teil Ihrer schönen Erinerungen an Europa bildet.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quite good and friendly hotel. Rooms are well kept, and quite comfortable (at least I had - staying in the older part of the hotel).
Rooms are clean. Breakfast good, with variety of selections of food. Attentive service. Despite the hotel location is nearby railway station - the external noise is acceptable. Problem might be during summer days (looks that the hotel has no HVAC in rooms, and windows opening might be the noise problem).
Parking is available, but quite complicated to go there (from the city routes), missing is good information on it.
Overall classification: Good value ratio for hotel standard & price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miroslav W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundliche Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben und dies auch den Lesern von Tripadvisor mitteilen. Persönlich bin ich immer sehr dankbar, wenn sich erfahrene Reisende auf diesem Portal zu Worte melden und Ihre Wahrnehmungen schildern. Denn gerade solche Reisende sind es, welche die Stärken und Schwächen eines Hotels mit der Objektivität des Kenners fair einordnen können. Darüber freue ich mich jedes Mal.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freut sich

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotels Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Making almost weekly business trips to different countries in Europe, I tend to have a positive impression about the quality of the average German hotel. Usually you can get a very nice and clean room for not a lot of money, and breakfast is usually great. This hotel reminded me again about the fact that there are always exceptions to the rule... What a disappointment : already from the start, when I entered the room : old carpet, at least a couple of decades old, combined with a very bad smell... the concept of renovating a hotel still needs to be invented in this place. On top of that, the hotel is located very close to the main railwaystation, and a very noisy avenue adjacent to the railwaystation and the hotel. Soundproof windows ? No, not at all... Opening or closing the windows : didn't matter, just the same level of noise !!! In the bathroom I could enjoy the fact that the person visiting the room the night before, must have had long black hair...
The girl at the reception desk, when checking in, explained me that breakfast was not included in the rate. As I had to leave early anyway, I decided to buy something at the railwaystation in stead. But when checking out, all of a sudden 11 Euro was added to the bill for breakfast... When asking the lady why it was added since I didn't have breakfast at all, she told me that it was not included in the roomrate but that I had to take it anyway...??? What a joke ! The first hotel ever where they force me to pay an additional fee for breakfast, even without having any ! A very absurd situation to be honest... not really sure how such a hotel can survive but probably they can benefit from the weeks were all other hotels are fully booked because of things going on in Hannover Messe. Probably, there is no need to mention that I will never return to this hotel at all...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

Ihren Ausführungen ist unschwer zu entnehmen, dass es Ihnen bei uns überhaupt nicht gefallen hat. Ihre Wahrnehmungen stehen allerdings in erstaunlichem Kontrast zu einer Bewertung eines hochzufriedenen Gastes vom selben Tag hier auf Tripadvisor - aber das nur am Rande.

Was die Berechnung des Frühstückspreises angeht, so gibt Ihre Darstellung ein völliges falsches, an Rufschädigung grenzendes Zerrbild dessen wider, wie wir täglich bei Dutzenden von Gästen ordnungsgemäß beim Check-Out die Rechnung darlegen.

Als Letztes möchte ich die Besucher von Tripadvisor darauf hinweisen, dass Sie eine vollkommen abwegige Theorie in den Raum stellen. Die von Ihnen erwähnte Hannovermesse findet in über 400 km Entfernung zu einem gänzlich anderen Zeitpunkt statt. Nürnberg liegt in Bayern, aber auf eine wirklichkeitsnahe, faire Wiedergabe von Tatsachen scheinen Sie ohnehin wenig Wert zu legen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen in die Niederlande, die ich als ein deutlich entspanntere Nation kenne und schätze, als es Ihre Zeilen vermuten lassen.

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very good for the station (5 minutes walk) and the centre of town (10 minutes). Enjoyed the extensive buffet breakfast. Single room had a small bed and the en suite was not the most modern. Easy partking in the hotel garage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre freundliche Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hause.

Auf ein Wiedersehen freuen sich

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed there when he was attending a trade show this month. The hotel is steps away from the main train station, so the location was perfect. The staff was very nice and spoke English very well. Because the hotel covers a few different buildings, our room was in the second building back- you can kind of tell when walking the hallway when the building changes. We had a room that was not facing the train station, and I think ours was smaller than the rooms facing the station. We had a double bed, and it was 2 twins next to each other. The TV had maybe 5 English channels- all news. The bed was a little hard and very low to the floor, but not horrible. I've never actually slept in a really nice bed in Europe- nothing like US beds. The bathroom was quite small with a shower, no tub. What I really hated was that it seem to be impossible to lock your door- no matter what you did with the lock, housekeeping always could get in. Heaven forbid you sleep in, as they will walk in on you. The breakfast was overpriced and definitely not worth the price. The food at the train station places was better and had better value. The best place for breakfast was the train station cafe that was right across the street from the hotel. I don't recall the name, but if walk into the station from the hotel, it's right there. There they served great breads, eggs, coffee, etc. I checked out their pool, and I was impressed. It was nice and warm, and so peaceful. I would recommend taking a swimsuit if there's any chance you may time for a swim in the morning or evening (I think it may be closed during midday). The bar/lounge is compact, but I felt it had a cool vibe due to the shape of the space and the nice seating. My husband has stayed there several times for his trade show, so I know he likes it. He said The Grand is better, but the cost per night was too high for him to pay.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the train station may be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre freundliche Bewertung unseres Hauses. Es freut uns, dass Sie viele Bereiche des Hauses, insbesondere unseren Poolbereich und die Bar so geliebt haben. Ihr Frühstückstipp ist ausgezeichnet und gut geeignet für diejenigen, die nicht im Hotel frühstücken wollen oder können. Auch freut es mich, dass Sie Nürnbergs geschichtliche Orte so intensiv aufgesucht haben und diese Stätten alle Bestnoten von Ihnen bekamen. Da haben Sie wirklich viel von Nürnberg gesehen und mitgenommen.Kompliment!

Auf ein Wiedersehen zur nächsten Messe freut sich

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nuernberg am Hauptbahnhof
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nuremberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nuernberg Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Nurnberg City
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
#68 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fackelmann
Hotel Fackelmann
#40 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Property: Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Address: Pillenreuther Str. 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur is located in the heart of Nuremberg, a former medieval imperial town and now a bustling, young metropolis. We offer hotel-own parking and are only a few steps away from the main train station. The subway lines to the exhibition center and the airport (direct lines, no transfers) and the tram station to the zoo Tiergarten are just around the corner. The historic district with it´s famous "Christkindlesmarkt" in december, the Staatstheater theatre and the Germanische National Museum is located within a short and easy 5-minute walk from Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur. The Meistersingerhalle, the NS-Dokumentationszentrum and the Industriekultur Museum are easily reached by tram. In addition to our 200 Comfort Rooms, all equipped with minibar and free Wi-Fi access, we offer a restaurant, a hotel bar with generous lounge, a pool area with sauna, our fitness area "Mercurialis Gym" as well as various rooms for festive events, conferences and seminars. Our guests include not only business travelers and conference participants, but also art and culture lovers, sightseeing visitors to the city and many international tourists. Over the summer we also welcome many cyclists. Families are always welcome. Children under the age of 15 stay for free in their parents’ room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast. We have one room which is wheelchair accessible and many allergy-friendly and non-smoker rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing