We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Ranked #52 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights to visit the Christkindlmarkt. The location is pretty decent, about 10mins walk (through the main station) from the southern end of the old town. The rooms and facilities are well maintained and clean, the swimming pool and sauna have a good size. Overall a nice stay which I can recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42_Dont_Panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Inhaber at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundlche Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Hauses. Meine Mitarbeiter und ich haben uns darüber sehr gefreut. Nur ein Hinweis, den Sie geben, hat mich etwas überrascht: Auch ich brauche 10 Minuten, um zu Fuß von unserem Hotel zur südlichen Altstadt zu gelangen. In dieser Zeit kaufe ich mir jedoch noch eine Zeitung in der Bahnhofsbuchhandlung und gönne mir einen Espresso im Stehen an einer der schnuckligen Cafebars im Bahnhof. Ich stimme Ihnen zu: 10 Minuten Gehzeit kann man schon auch brauchen, wenn man es gemütlich Richtung Altstadt angeht. aber etwas zügiger geht es zur Not auch.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen und flottem Schritt wünscht ein gesundes und erfolgreiches Neues Jahr

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber und das Team des Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    137
    74
    30
    12
See reviews for
75
90
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
753 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night during Oktoberfest tour with Bayern Trips. Very comfortable, quiet and convenient location. Excellent breakfast. One block from Train Station. We had dinner first evening in restaurant. Good salad bar - I was getting tired of dumplings and gravy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel D, Geschäftsführer at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind answer. My staff and me are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Nuremberg at our hotel. I hope you had a pleasant return flight back to Canada.

We would be pleased to welcome you the next time when you are visiting Germany.

Yours sincerely

Peter Loew, your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Great location right across from central train station and in walking distance from old downtown with lots of restaurants and bars.
Good meeting room facilities with average equipment and ok catering. Hotel rooms quite large but rooms facing the train station fairly noisy. Breakfast buffet ok (mix of continental and american buffet style).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Withopeneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carouge, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Things you will never hear in this hotel:

"I'm just running up to my room to fetch something."

Running up to your room could mean a half-marathon, snaking through winding passages, and a journey through a myriad of different decor styles that will leave you bewildered.

During my one-night stay I often thought what a good idea it would be to take a pack of candy with you, dropping ones as you make your way to your room in order to find your way back.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I guess the location is convenient.

One last thing: in a hotel that size, a gym is essential. Why they only have a solarium, a sauna and a pool is beyond me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Was visiting Nuremberg for 4 days for business and shacked up in the hotel during my stay. Excellent staff service in the hotel, with adequate services and facilities provided in the room.

A very old hotel so do expect the hallways to be very narrow and full of staircases. Unforunately I came around during summer and there was no fan or air conditioning in the room itself (although the reception was nice enough to provide a standing fan). Room a little dusty as well from the carpeting.

Location wise, very very very near to the town area (which is a huge plus) and very accessible to all the visiting sites in Nuremberg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TehTarikDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel was booked for us as part of a large tour group we were with. I found nothing disappointing with it but neither did I find it great. it is what you would expect from a tourist-class hotel. The service is good and friendly. We asked to be moved from a smoking to a non-smoking room and it was done promptly and efficiently. The layout is quite confusing with narrow halls and stairways. It did not bother my wife and me but if you have difficulty walking, I'd suggest asking for a room closer to the front of the hotel. It is located behind the train station so keep that in mind for convenience. On the downside, if you happen to have a room on that side of the hotel, you could be bothered by the announcements coming from the station's loud speakers. In addition, the hotel charges 8 euro per hour of internet access. Suggestion - check out the fruit shop a couple of blocks down the road. I should also note that I left a bag full of electronic accessories and they forwarded it to our next hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domrcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We were 3 girls and a dog and on our way home deicded to spend 1 night in Nürnberg. The hotel is basically behind the central station, very close to the city center. The room we had (2246) was really huge and held the 4 of us easily, although there was no air-conditionning.
To find your way around this really huge hotel needs some getting used to. You do have a small free inside pool, free sauna and steam shower. We did use all of this and had a lot of fun, especially as there were not many people in the hotel. This whole relaxing area may become uncomfortable should there be a lot of people.
The staff (check-in, check-out and room service) were really nice and treated us excpetionnaly well, we had nothing to complain about.
Breakfast was good, with a variety of hot and cold choices overall a continental breakfast which was included in our room price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nuernberg Am Hauptbahnhof
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nuremberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nuernberg Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Nurnberg City
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
#66 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fackelmann
Hotel Fackelmann
#41 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Property: Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Address: Pillenreuther Str. 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur is located in the heart of Nuremberg, a former medieval imperial town and now a bustling, young metropolis. We offer hotel-own parking and are only a few steps away from the main train station. The subway lines to the exhibition center and the airport (direct lines, no transfers) and the tram station to the zoo Tiergarten are just around the corner. The historic district with it´s famous "Christkindlesmarkt" in december, the Staatstheater theatre and the Germanische National Museum is located within a short and easy 5-minute walk from Ringhotel Loew’s Merkur. The Meistersingerhalle, the NS-Dokumentationszentrum and the Industriekultur Museum are easily reached by tram. In addition to our 200 Comfort Rooms, all equipped with minibar and free Wi-Fi access, we offer a restaurant, a hotel bar with generous lounge, a pool area with sauna, our fitness area "Mercurialis Gym" as well as various rooms for festive events, conferences and seminars. Our guests include not only business travelers and conference participants, but also art and culture lovers, sightseeing visitors to the city and many international tourists. Over the summer we also welcome many cyclists. Families are always welcome. Children under the age of 15 stay for free in their parents’ room and enjoy a complimentary breakfast. We have one room which is wheelchair accessible and many allergy-friendly and non-smoker rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing