We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, attentive staff, very clean, comfortable bed, odd bath but very useable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avenue
Ranked #55 of 132 Hotels in Nuremberg
denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, attentive staff, very clean, comfortable bed, odd bath but very useable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Upon check in, we were greeted by the employee and her little, very curious dog. Very welcoming and pleasant, she quickly got us on our way to the 5th floor rooms. Corridors were a little narrow and there were some hallways to nowhere (they could reconfigure for bigger rooms, I would think). They gave us actual keys which was fine but removing the key from the lock confounded us for a moment. The room itself was decent sized for Central Europe and immaculately clean (almost looked like brand new carpet). It was outfitted with all the basics and a lot of counter space and electrical plugs -- this was great for setting up my computer and other electronic gear. The bath was tight but fully functional. The show was also small but clean and had a properly closing glass door (no water mess like some bath showers). Breakfast was very good and had a wide variety.

The location was excellent -- you could walk to just about anywhere in the centrum without much effort or time.

Upon check out, the manager gave us a rather new atlas to keep free of charge -- very nice and it was used often to compare to GPS. We were impressed with the staff.

Overall, I think this is a worthy choice for a budget-minded traveler that insists upon uber-clean rooms. Personally, I might choose to pay a little more in the future for slightly nicer accommodation but would gladly stay again if I didn't find just the right place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfooldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
29
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here when we visited the Christmas Market. The location could not have been better, just a few steps away from the pedestrian zone, lots of options for dining, shopping etc. The room was nice sized and very very clean.

all the staff were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good as well.

All in all, this is a good location for a visit to Nuremberg any time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was worried as I read some not so great reviews on Trip Avisor, but was pleasantly surprised by finding just the opposite. Even the photos the hotel shows of their rooms and restaurant space seem less than lovely, but again, it's just the opposite. You can't beat the location for the Christmas Market and exploring the Old Town. It's on a great street, with a Starbucks, train station, and expensive shops like Hermes, and it's budget friendly. The staff are all wonderful and ready to help in any way. We arrived and needed extra blankets, a hair dryer, even a room change, and they helped us right away. The breakfast was well diverse and filling, and the rooms and public areas were clean and comfortable. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was a nice place to stay. I would return there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over the street, but hear that one over the courtyard is quieter. Although we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Avenue Hotel is right in the heart of Nürnberg, making shopping and touring of the old city just steps from the door. It's about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the train station. Rooms are not flashy-new, but well maintained and perfectly clean. It seems that things were redecorated about twenty years ago, but I really liked the family-owned homey touch. The staff is very friendly, appearing that they can help you with any questions of the area. The sky-lighted open breakfast room is quite comfortable including a complete full breakfast and excellent coffee. My only problem was the WiFi. Although I wasn't able to get connected in my room, there is plenty of common space in the lobby/bar/dining room/conference room where connections are easy--it moves very slowly though. I chose this hotel because although the prices seem steep to me, they were the most reasonable prices I could find in the city. Location was key. I deffinately can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartenkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ideal for a short visit to a fascinating city, because the Avenue is the most reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of all the sights. Rooms are spacious, fresh and clean, and staff are helpful. Nearby multi-storey parking additional but secure. Don't be put off by the approach down a long corridor - it's much nicer inside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire_Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed there while visiting BioFach 2012 (Trade Fair) and I'm very happy about it. I went alone and had a nice room, it was confortable, spacious and very quiet. The staff was friendly at all time, breakfast was good and it had a lot of choices to eat and cleanliness was mostly good. The metro station is really close (2-minute walk) and everything around is save. There's a Starbucks in front of the hotel and Central Station is two stations away.

Something I liked is that the first day I arrived to the hotel the room carpet was not vaccumed, but it was late and I wanted to sleep so I complained next day and They took care about it and they asked me if everything was ok. I felt really good!

Something I didn't like is that next to the hotel entrance there is an entrance for an underground night club. Even thouhg I never saw any drunk or weird people, it doesn't look good.

Room Tip: I like single room 401. Room and bathroom were spacious. It felt really quiet, no noise from outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here with two business colleagues in December; we needed to find a hotel with a central location with three rooms during the Christmas Market period; this was one of the few with the rooms available at short notice. For the price, the rooms were good value; both wired and wireless internet was available for five Euros. My room faced onto the street at the back of the hotel and was quiet. The entrance to the hotel is uninspiring; a long corridor past the entrance to a basement night-club; however there was no noise. Judging from the decor (there was a Corby trouser press on the wall with a promotional leaflet advertising prices in Deutschmarks!) the hotel had been refurbished circa 1988 and the rooms, though clean, reflected this. There is a buffet breakfast from 06:30am which was ample, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A small bar area is off the side of the dining area; the staff were happy to open this up for us to have a few beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel; mine was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#70 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Lorenz Hotel Zentral
#84 of 132 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#51 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#3 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Hauser
Hotel Hauser
#62 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenue

Property: Hotel Avenue
Address: Josephsplatz 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 132 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing