We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Hotel, pleasant surprise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenue to your Saves list
Hotel Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josephsplatz 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avenue Hotel, pleasant surprise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was worried as I read some not so great reviews on Trip Avisor, but was pleasantly surprised by finding just the opposite. Even the photos the hotel shows of their rooms and restaurant space seem less than lovely, but again, it's just the opposite. You can't beat the location for the Christmas Market and exploring the Old Town. It's on a great street, with a Starbucks, train station, and expensive shops like Hermes, and it's budget friendly. The staff are all wonderful and ready to help in any way. We arrived and needed extra blankets, a hair dryer, even a room change, and they helped us right away. The breakfast was well diverse and filling, and the rooms and public areas were clean and comfortable. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was a nice place to stay. I would return there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over the street, but hear that one over the courtyard is quieter. Although we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Avenue Hotel is right in the heart of Nürnberg, making shopping and touring of the old city just steps from the door. It's about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the train station. Rooms are not flashy-new, but well maintained and perfectly clean. It seems that things were redecorated about twenty years ago, but I really liked the family-owned homey touch. The staff is very friendly, appearing that they can help you with any questions of the area. The sky-lighted open breakfast room is quite comfortable including a complete full breakfast and excellent coffee. My only problem was the WiFi. Although I wasn't able to get connected in my room, there is plenty of common space in the lobby/bar/dining room/conference room where connections are easy--it moves very slowly though. I chose this hotel because although the prices seem steep to me, they were the most reasonable prices I could find in the city. Location was key. I deffinately can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartenkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ideal for a short visit to a fascinating city, because the Avenue is the most reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of all the sights. Rooms are spacious, fresh and clean, and staff are helpful. Nearby multi-storey parking additional but secure. Don't be put off by the approach down a long corridor - it's much nicer inside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire_Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed there while visiting BioFach 2012 (Trade Fair) and I'm very happy about it. I went alone and had a nice room, it was confortable, spacious and very quiet. The staff was friendly at all time, breakfast was good and it had a lot of choices to eat and cleanliness was mostly good. The metro station is really close (2-minute walk) and everything around is save. There's a Starbucks in front of the hotel and Central Station is two stations away.

Something I liked is that the first day I arrived to the hotel the room carpet was not vaccumed, but it was late and I wanted to sleep so I complained next day and They took care about it and they asked me if everything was ok. I felt really good!

Something I didn't like is that next to the hotel entrance there is an entrance for an underground night club. Even thouhg I never saw any drunk or weird people, it doesn't look good.

Room Tip: I like single room 401. Room and bathroom were spacious. It felt really quiet, no noise from outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here with two business colleagues in December; we needed to find a hotel with a central location with three rooms during the Christmas Market period; this was one of the few with the rooms available at short notice. For the price, the rooms were good value; both wired and wireless internet was available for five Euros. My room faced onto the street at the back of the hotel and was quiet. The entrance to the hotel is uninspiring; a long corridor past the entrance to a basement night-club; however there was no noise. Judging from the decor (there was a Corby trouser press on the wall with a promotional leaflet advertising prices in Deutschmarks!) the hotel had been refurbished circa 1988 and the rooms, though clean, reflected this. There is a buffet breakfast from 06:30am which was ample, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A small bar area is off the side of the dining area; the staff were happy to open this up for us to have a few beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel; mine was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for on night with my son. Hotel was clean and great value for money. Breakfast was not so good but otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

We had 5 nights at the Hotel Avenue. It's in a fantastic location in old Nuremberg, within an easy walk to all the terrific sights and cafes, restaurants, shops and market. The entrance, next to a seedy looking night club, is off-putting and depressing, but the hotel staff were cheery, welcoming and helpful. All the reception staff we encountered spoke pretty good English (certainly better than we spoke German!).

Our room faced an inner courtyard, and was reasonably quiet (the staff said that the ones facing the street are noisier). We requested a non-smoking room, which was a joke. The room had an ashtray and matches, so obviously catered for smokers, and guests were certainly smoking in nearby rooms. There was no non-smoking floor, so we could smell cigarette smoke most of the time in our room, and even more so in the corridor.

Our double room was OK, clean and a reasonable size, but with a small and very basic bathroom (but also clean).

Overall the fittings and fixtures were poorer standard than we had encountered in other three star hotels in Germany, and compared to these other three star places, the hotel is overpriced, even allowing that breakfast was included in the price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#41 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#62 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenue

Address: Josephsplatz 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing