We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location with reasonable room rate”
Review of Hotel Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenue
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed here with two business colleagues in December; we needed to find a hotel with a central location with three rooms during the Christmas Market period; this was one of the few with the rooms available at short notice. For the price, the rooms were good value; both wired and wireless internet was available for five Euros. My room faced onto the street at the back of the hotel and was quiet. The entrance to the hotel is uninspiring; a long corridor past the entrance to a basement night-club; however there was no noise. Judging from the decor (there was a Corby trouser press on the wall with a promotional leaflet advertising prices in Deutschmarks!) the hotel had been refurbished circa 1988 and the rooms, though clean, reflected this. There is a buffet breakfast from 06:30am which was ample, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A small bar area is off the side of the dining area; the staff were happy to open this up for us to have a few beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel; mine was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for on night with my son. Hotel was clean and great value for money. Breakfast was not so good but otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

We had 5 nights at the Hotel Avenue. It's in a fantastic location in old Nuremberg, within an easy walk to all the terrific sights and cafes, restaurants, shops and market. The entrance, next to a seedy looking night club, is off-putting and depressing, but the hotel staff were cheery, welcoming and helpful. All the reception staff we encountered spoke pretty good English (certainly better than we spoke German!).

Our room faced an inner courtyard, and was reasonably quiet (the staff said that the ones facing the street are noisier). We requested a non-smoking room, which was a joke. The room had an ashtray and matches, so obviously catered for smokers, and guests were certainly smoking in nearby rooms. There was no non-smoking floor, so we could smell cigarette smoke most of the time in our room, and even more so in the corridor.

Our double room was OK, clean and a reasonable size, but with a small and very basic bathroom (but also clean).

Overall the fittings and fixtures were poorer standard than we had encountered in other three star hotels in Germany, and compared to these other three star places, the hotel is overpriced, even allowing that breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank MERYJEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht an der Straße, wenn in Nürnberg große Veranstaltungen laufen
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lumi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: keine Präferenzen
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
#47 of 126 in Nuremberg
176 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#48 of 126 in Nuremberg
131 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#44 of 126 in Nuremberg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lorenz Hotel Zentral
#80 of 126 in Nuremberg
75 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
129 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenue

Address: Josephsplatz 10, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range: $84 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing