We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Ranked #45 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

NUREMBERG: Romantik Hotel
Wehave just returned from a four night stay at the romantik hotel in Nuremberg. (Myself, my wife and three children aged 10,7and 5 years) l was worried initially because of the size of the family but this hotel provided us with accomodation the size of a comfortable two bedroom apartment. It was unbelievable the amount of space we had. Breakfast was good. The staff were brilliant too. Quite frankly, the comfort the hotel provided compared to cost was one of the high points of our eight days stay in Germany. The children enjoyed every minute of their stay.
We are returning to Germany in November to attend a family birthday party and we are definitely going to stay at the same hotel. It was value for money
K.O. Osagie

  • Liked — Space and comfort
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dolorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
55
43
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

I don't really stay in many 2-star hotels so I'm not sure how to rate this one. If you're paying out of your own pocket and want to be in the middle of town, and prefer quaint to well-appointed, go for it.

Pros:
- Cute
- Middle of town, shopping/walking
- Quiet
- Breakfast was a lot better than expected
- Cheap

Cons:
- Bed smaller than when I was 8
- So much pine furniture I felt like I was in Unpainted Arizona
- TV set was from the 70s.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BenDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg - South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

A pity I was travelling without my wife - the double four poster bed and romantic surroundings are meant to be shared. This is a delightful, smallish hotel with an elevator for those needing one, and very helpful friendly staff. Hidden behind an unpromising front door the charm starts the moment you enter. Close to all the Alstadt 'action' of Nuremburg it was as convenient as could be, an easy walk from the Hauptbahnhof and had every amenity I could have asked for. Spotlessly clean, and ultra comfortable it's probably the best value I found of the six hotels I used on this trip. Arriving just as the late (for spring!!) March 2007 snow and rain blanketed Germany, I was greatful for the bathroom heating and extractor to dry out soaked leather shoes and jacket - and the loan umbrella the hotel offered for going walkabouts. The breakfast included was plentiful and varied, served in a delightfull room overlooking the Platz. If you can get in, you won't be sorry.

  • Liked — The decor and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BigMac-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and loved it. We had room 319, which had 2 large windows overlooking the street - this was really nice because of the summer heat. We were able to catch some breezes to cool our room. The room was also quite large with a nice desk area and a sitting area.

As others have said, the staff was very helpful and breakfast was really good. We stayed at this hotel about a week into our trip and had some laundry to do - the hotel staff had it sent out and less than 24 hours later, it was delivered to our room. Couldn't have been easier.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J_Correa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

The other reviews really say it all. This is really great hotel in perfect location to all the sites. The Romantik Hotel chain REQUIRES that each hotel is 100% owned and operated by a family. Because of this you, get outstanding personal service and the feeling you are important. Each room is different. The one we stayed in was large with a large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. One thing not mentioned is the roof top sun lounge - it's really nice.

One mistake that we made was not understanding that in Europe most places do not have air conditioning including businesses. The Romantik does have AC. With the high summer time temps and humidity, it is very hot. Be at least mentally prepared!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Russ-Entrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed in this little gem of a hotel during the World Cup. All of our party loved the character and the charm of the hotel and it's employees.

The rooms are nice, clean and very comfortable, pity not all of them were air conditioned, as it was quite warm during our stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay, and always full of character.

The breakfast was nice, continental buffet with Croissants, cold meets, yogurts, bread, fruit etc.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, only 15 minute drive from Nuremberg airport, and walking distance to all bars, restaurants, and train and tube stations. So an excellent location for exploring other parts of Germany, for example we went to Frankfurt for the match and this was just over a 2 hour train journey.

Overall a pleasant stay and would definitely come back! And to add to an enjoyable stay, the market square had a great atmosphere during the world cup, with all nations coming together and enjoying themselves and the football without any trouble!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank danrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2006

Stopped for 4 days in Feb on a business/social trip with my wife. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Room clean and good size. Old style German rather than bland international style.

Breakfast standard German fare and plentiuful. Breakfast room on first floor and south facing (into square). No evening meals but there are a dozen good restraunts within 100 metres. The staff can make recommendations and give directions

Very usefull was the business suite. Computer with internet access and printer. Also wifi which does not quite reach the top floor:-( Use of internet, computer and printer was free.

I do recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet central hotel with character. I booked for a room for next year's conference before leaving.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank phaedsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Avenue
Hotel Avenue
#62 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Hotel Agneshof
#16 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#56 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
Deutscher Kaiser Nuremberg
#66 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Burghotel Nurnberg
Burghotel Nurnberg
#36 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Josephsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Josephsplatz

Property: Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Address: Josephsplatz 30 - 32, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Josephsplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Josephsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing