We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Josephsplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Ranked #49 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights at this lovely hotel in an apartment which is great for families. The location is great the market place and the burg are not too far away. Most of the inner city is there at your convenience. The rooms are clean and cheerfully decorated. The breakfast room looks homely and Breakfast was great. The reception staff are nice and it is manned 24hours. The buildings are old in the city so some of the steps were a bit uneven, which added to the charm. Only down side was a small bathroom, which served its purpose but only two people can be in there. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sabtis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
51
38
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Nürnberg. It means the parking is not so easy (parking place is about 200 or 300 meters from hotel, you can stop by the hotel to drop off/pick up the luggage). The rooms are good, breakfast is excellent. The hotel misses something personal, so typical for romantic hotels group. One women in staff had problem with our names on guest card (hard to read) and was really unpleasant. But the rest of staff was really nice and friendly. Stay there if you want some good place to stay for good price.

Room Tip: if you stay in the room facing to street, count with closed windows during the night, you´re in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

En route from Prague to Frankfurt on a 16night Euro roadtrip. Hotel was easy to find with sat nav and you can run upstairs to the reception on 2nd floor to grab a sign to put in the car window which gives you 10-15mins grace to load/unload from your car. Parking is a few mins walk up the street reccommended by the reception. I parked in there but having driven up and down a while couldn't see if the bays were reserved or not - got a stroppy note on my windscreen in the morning though so clearly I got it wrong. Location is great and loads of nice bars and restaurants around. Sauna area and chill out roof was an added jewel. Check in receptionist was rather frosty and unwelcoming but the young girl serving breakfast and reception checkout made up for it and was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have spent a week in this city hotel. The location is just great, only a couple of steps away from the city center. Shopping is great, but because of its location parking is difficult.
Staff at the hotel is nice. Breakfast was good with choices of ham, cheese, egg, salmon.
Carpets looked a little old, and cleaning was "medium quality", and I think they did not once vacuum clean it during our stay.
We had a nice 2 floor appartment, with a view to the castle of Nuremberg, which was ideal for our family. Kids slept 1st floor, we slept in the upper sleeping room. Although it was the hottest season, and the room was at the attic, it was ok.

Parking Tip:
There is a parking space with a 10% discount rate available at "Adler" Parking space, which is 5min walk. But still expensive. You are allowed to park in front of the hotel to pack and unpack your luggage.
I used the car nearly every day, so what worked for me was: I parked in the evening on the street, - there are a couple of parking spaces available for free if parked after 6pm and until next morningn 9am.

If we come back to Nuremberg, I would choose this hotel again, because of the spacious "family room" and its good location.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the 2-bedroom appartments. If you book in the internet, there are some spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived in town late on Sat night without a reservation and found this hotel listed in Frommer's. We parked on the street and I went in to check it out. Reception is on the second floor, with elevator, very friendly. I asked to look at the room and couldn't believe how charming and comfortable it was, traditional German. It had the most beautiful hardwood furniture with a canopy bed. The bathroom was modern and great linens. Super clean. The breakfast was the same as most hotels in Germany: meat, cheeses, breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit.
The location is excellent, walking just a couple of blocks to the central market, historic district and good restaurants.
We parked overnight on the street for free and then moved the car to the suggested garage with hotel discount. (No English channels on TV) Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in June 2013 and throughly enjoyed the experience. Our expectation was that being described as an "apartment" on the booking site, we mistakenly thought it included kitchen facilities. Not to be, but this did not dampen our enjoyment of this establishment. There are heaps of eateries (especially Nordsee) close at hand. The staff were always attentive and friendly. Their uniforms of traditonal dress charming and in keeping with the flavour and decor of this hotel. The mainsonette that was our room had a lounge area and bathroom downstairs, and the bedroom with its own powder room upstairs. The double glazed openable windows kept any unwelcome street noise out, but let the noise of the birds and the bells in when we wanted them open. The housekeeping was of a very high standard. The numerous positive comments about the breakfast spread are all true. Congratulations to the kitchen staff. It's an excellent place to stay and explore the very surprising city of Nuremberg.

Room Tip: Our top floor room may be a little warm in the hot summer period as only fans are provided (no air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotus_B1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located in a quiet but central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is extensive and delicious. The tariff represents good value. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callingitlikeitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Avenue
Hotel Avenue
#62 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Steichele, Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#45 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#67 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Hauser
Hotel Hauser
#61 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Josephsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Josephsplatz

Property: Hotel Am Josephsplatz
Address: Josephsplatz 30 - 32, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Josephsplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Am Josephsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing