We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Very clean rooms, quiet. The breakfast was adequate - nice china and tableware. The staff was friendly and most helpful - even though we speak little German. Within a few minutes' walk to the train station. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaje54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
16
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

Our stay was very nice. WIFI connection was weak but survivable. It is convenient walk to the central part of the city. We were at the castle in about ten minutes walking with packs. Will stay again

  • Liked — cleanliness and convenience
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank footsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

Just had 3 nights here and the hotel is just fine if you don't want to spend much and you don't want to be in the busy city centre. Located right on the subway network just 5 minutes from the airport and city centre, buy a "DayTicketPlus" and 2 adults can use all the public transport for a whole day or all weekend if bought on a Saturday, cost 6.20 euros.
If you want to walk it's approx 30 min easy walk to the old town. The rooms are warm,quiet,comfortable and come with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is best described as "adequate". There is plenty of choice but not a lot of any one item so things tended to run out fairly quickly. There are a few tables in a no smoking area which is a bonus in Germany. The only downside to this hotel was the service. The welcome was not particularly friendly and no info was given at check in. Service at breakfast was ok if you timed it right, get there when it's busy and you won't get any coffee like we did one morning. Check out was equally as unfriendly although efficient. The room maids were friendly though. Even for German standards the service was a bit "distant" but you can cope with it for a couple of days, you certainly wouldn't stay a week here ! Nuremburg itself was mostly ok. The christmas market was always busy and rather expensive. It may be the oldest market in Germany but certainly not the best. Not really a lot to see in the city so 1 or 2 days here is all you need. We took a train ride to Augsburg (about 1 hour by ICE) and we thought the market and the city were superior to Nuremburg. One tip in Nuremberg is not to eat and drink on the christmas market. Go down the main shopping streets and you can find gluwein for 1e and a half meter bratwurst for only 2.50e and far better quality and value than the market itself. It is also less crowded.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocHoliday22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2002

We stayed there about 2 years ago. Clean and comfortable rooms, professional staff. Parking in back (very important in this town). Just a few blocks from the Metro. Good breakfast bar.

We'd use them again.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.4 mi away
acomhotel nurnberg
acomhotel nurnberg
#25 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#50 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azimut Hotel Nuremberg
Azimut Hotel Nuremberg
#62 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Behringers City Hotel Nurnberg
Behringers City Hotel Nurnberg
#94 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Burgschmiet
Hotel Burgschmiet
#14 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#79 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Willibaldstr. 7, 90491 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing