We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel at a great price! Modern New ibis Deco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
Ranked #22 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Super hotel at a great price! Modern New ibis Deco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Superb hotel which has been refurbished to the new modern Ibis Deco. Modern nice bathroom, clean and wonderfull sleep. Paid only 29 EUR when booking over 1 month in advance.

Limited parking spaces underground BUT be warned about parking on main road or in the local garage where the staff will forward you to if the hotel parking is full, very dodgy and many homeless people looking round the bins in the outside parking spaces, not secure at all. GET TO THE HOTEL APRKING EARLY SO YOU GET A SPACE!

Hotel is just of the main high street and a 10 minute walk to central station. Lots of local history nearby and historic buildings.

Very pleased we stayed here + Breakfast is worth a try as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubai-Mafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    404
    115
    24
    10
See reviews for
117
295
85
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

I travel frequently to Nuremberg because of business, normally I stay at another hotel, but this time (end of January 2010) I decided for the Ibis because of the good location.

I must say that I was extremely disappointed to be at this hotel because of the behaviour of a member of staff: one night because I could not sleep I decided to use the computer in the lobby (and the internet connection) so that I could do some work.
The connection was off and when I asked for some help to the only receptionist there (Ms Helmholz) she simply asked me why I needed the computer!!! Then she went on (in a very arrogant way) saying she was not a technician and that she was too busy doing other things.

When I politely remarked her that she should behave in different way, especially because she was dealing with customers, she said to me: “you are too unfriendly to stay at this hotel”.

I know the Ibis is not a 5 star hotel, but when I take my money to a hotel I believe I should be treated with some respect and not like garbage.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I wanted somewhere cheap to stay for a long weekend visit to the Christmas market this year - we weren't too bothered about having somewhere luxurious, we just wanted it to be clean, comfortable and within walking distance to the town centre. The Ibis didn't let us down on this front - it was the cheapest place i could find, and the location was very convenient - 10 minute walk from the train station, and also 10 minute walk to the heart of the old town. The room was warm and clean and the bed comfortable. Yes, the decor is a bit dated and it's not luxurious (the towels were a bit on the thin side for example) so if you're looking for somewhere special to stay, this isn't it - but if your hotel is just somewhere convenient to sleep at night, then you couldn's ask for anywhere better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

After reading previous reviews on this hotel I was a bit dubious after my employers booked me in to it, but I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the staff. The hotel was of a good standard, clean & tidy, the room and bathroom both more than adequately met my needs for the three nights I was there.
My luggage was delayed on it's way from Amsterdam and the reception staff went out of their way to track it down and get it to me. The hotel bar is pleasant and the food & drink good, the breakfast in the morning was more than adequate to set me up for the day, plenty of it and nice & fresh too.
The hotel is situated very conventiently for walking into the main town and surrounding areas.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Overall Standard
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaveL000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

Avoid this one! Looked like it was built in the 70's and not updated since. Small shabby rooms with heavily stained indoor/outdoor carpeting. Very noisy and smelly. Bathroom was even smaller with a 2'x3' tub and shower combo that leaked all over the room. No toilet amenities(soap, shampoo, etc.). About a 20 minute walk to the train station or the Christmas Markets but through a questionable neighborhood. One night we walked back to the hotel to find a group of men outside the entry and one of them vomiting all over the sidewalk. The kicker was our room rate. Guaranteed reservation was for 75 euros per night but were charged 94 euros a night. Complaints to the manager were met with a "take it or leave it" attitude. Never again!!!

  • Liked — lobby internet access
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

Stayed here overnight enroute from Vienna back to UK.

Booked this hotel as we are familiar with the Ibis chain, so we knew what to expect. The hotel is well located on the edge of the city centre and has underground parking for guests.

Unfortunately the hotel is in dire need for refurbishment; the bathroom in particular was manky. Shower tiles were coming off, there was dirt around the fixtures, the sink basin was broken and the room itself was tired.

I think this may be the reason why the room price is notably lower than other Ibis hotels.

Allowing smoking at breakfast was an uncomfortable experience and strange to UK guests, given the ban on smoking in public areas. Breakfast itself was a limited cold buffet, not to the standard of other Ibis hotels.

Shame as the reception staff were polite and spoke good English. The Ibis chain is predictable, but value for money. This time however, was a hotel to forget.

  • Liked — Location, secure parking
  • Disliked — rooms in need of refurbishment, no non-smoking area at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScratchyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2004

Fine hotel, nothing wrong with it. Room quiet and big enough and shower is Ok. Did not use the breakfast buffet. Ideal location, very close to the old centre of the city (which is quite beautiful). Hotel parking is €7,50 per night (not a very big parking garage).

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#17 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#20 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
#26 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer

Property: Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
Address: Steinbuehler Str. 2, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuremberg
#17 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#28 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2-star ibis Nurnberg City am Plaerrer, which was completely renovated in 2011, is located in the center of the old town. The hotel has 155 air-conditioned rooms with WIFI access and 4 meeting rooms for up to 162 people. You can surf the Internet for free in the lobby with our WIFI or using our Web Corner. Our friendly reception staff and the bar and snack service are available 24 hours a day. You can enjoy our extensive breakfast between 4am and midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nuernberg Centrum Hotel Nuremberg
Ibis Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing