We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel service”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #5 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Thank you for your hospitality and kindness all staff were polite . especially receptions staff. Breakfast was prefect. Hotel was very clean , customer service was prefect , for next trip we will book it again in advance ,

Room Tip: If you add sleepers would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, stellvertretende Direktorin at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Shahin G,

Thank you for having taken the time to share with us your experiences during your stay at the Victoria! Great that our breakfast buffet was a pleasure for you. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again at the Victoria!

Best regards,
Katharina Mirsberger, associate director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 969 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

All the comforts of home. Very clean, very comfortable, and excellent location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great…..couldn't ask for anything more. The beds were super comfy. The Hotel is just above a great little Irish Pub. Perfect combination, nice hotel above a super pub…What more could you ask for…...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where2Nowtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear shawnandcandi,

Thank you so much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor!
Our special guest service and our exceptional team are the best combination to serve our guests with unique unforgettable moments during their stay in Nuremberg.
As specially our breakfast team often offers a new variety of food and drinks served in the morning.
The cleanliness of our hotel is one of the most important matters to us. Our housekeeping team is motivated to provide every guest with a spotless room and also the public area treated with lots of attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

All the best for you,
Katharina Mirsberger, associate director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

this hotel is inside the wall and very close to everything. a dunkin donut is opening close. many good shops are inside the wall as are the churches. a nice walk to the castle and albrecht durer house.

Room Tip: ask for a room in front so you can enjoy the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Donald R,

We are very pleased about your review on Tripadvisor and especially we are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Once you return back to Nuremberg it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Hotel Victoria.

Best regards,

Katharina Mirsberger,
associate director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Don't worry about getting there, if you're coming by train there's an underground passageway from the station to the hotel. If you're traveling by car you can park in front of the hotel and go in, they'll give you picture instructions on where to park your car.

We had the suite which was beautifully decorated and unique, a nice large room and bathroom. The location of the hotel could not have been better, inside the walls of "Old Nuremberg" a short walk to museums, castle etc.

The only reason for the average rating is due to the noise level. There's an Irish Pub on one side of the hotel and Paulaner Bar on the other. It got nosier as the night went on (we stayed on a Saturday). I don't blame the hotel for this, but all the same we couldn't sleep until 12:00am.

Breakfast had the best selection I've ever seen, cereals, breads, fruit, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, etc. Even the pickest of eaters will not go hungry!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite and were not sorry, tons of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Kathy A,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write us this great review about your stay at the Victoria! We are always very happy to get such compliments.
Our breakfast staff is always trying to serve fresh and healthy food for our guests.
As our hotel is located in the center of Nuremberg, it happens that you hear the people passing by during the night. Unfortunately we cannot influence this fact.
Furthermore, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the interior and design of the guestroom.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again once you return to Nuremberg!

Best regards,
Katharina Mirsberger,
associate director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Victoria for the Christmas Market; firstly the convenience of the hotel location is excellent, 12 minutes from airport arrivals at Nuremberg to front door of hotel via the U-Bahn is excellent; finding the hotel is easy as it stands right on the front of Koenigstrasse .

Location of the hotel is just inside the city walls next to the U-Bahn station entrance with the Handwerkhof (traditional market) right on the doorstep. The rear of the hotel faces onto the Neues Museum and the walking access to the main square is a simple stroll through an eclectic mix of charming Christmas stalls.

Rooms are modern and even offer a choice of pillow types for the bed; slightly confusing when you naively thought there was one type of pillow but a nice touch.

Hotel is modern in layout but retains a traditional European style, snaking corridors and hide away rooms; with modern plumbing and media access. Public rooms on the Ground Floor are small but adequate, this is a city hotel so you will be out most of the day.

The Dining Room was tastefully decorated for Christmas, offered an excellent breakfast menus (including Stollen for breakfast; don't think that is traditional German but I wont complain) and did a very quaint Christmas Advent Calendar 'lucky guest' at breakfast (sit at the table with the wining hidden ticket and you received a small gift); a nice touch which separates this hotel from the major chains.

Room was well decorated and spotlessly clean and at the rear of the hotel amazingly quiet for a city hotel. Room staff appeared to be well trained and paid attention to detail, always with a smile. Invariably a sign of a management team who pays attention to detail.

The Web of the hotel http://www.hotelvictoria.de/hotel_nuernberg/en/home.html is in English and gives a good representation of the rooms, WiFi was free as I booked direct with the hotel, good speed and reasonable connection for a meandering hotel built of brick and stone.

Overall, I struggled to find a good boutique Hotel in Nuremberg and I believe this came as near to the quality I was looking for as I could expect.

I would certainly use the hotel again if visiting the Christmas Markets, location excellent, quality of rooms and breakfast excellent and the front desk staff welcoming and well informed. A joy to stay at the Hotel and a good start to my Christmas; if you are not a fan of the big chain hotels and prefer a hotel that values its visitors then this is a good choice; I wish the Hotel well for 2014 they deserve success for all the hard work.

Room Tip: Best rooms will overlook the Neues Museum, away from the main traffic noise. These are called 'R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Steve003,

Thank you so much for the time you invested in writing us this detailed review on Tripadvisor!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during the pre-Christmas period.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the interior and design of the dining room.
Our team has always new ideas to make the stay of our guests more comfortable. As specially our breakfast team often offers a new variety of healthy food and drinks served in the morning. Also the cleanliness of our hotel is one of the most important matters to us. Our housekeeping team is motivated to provide every guest with a spotless room and also the public areas are treated with lots of attention.

Our location offers our guests the opportunity to reach every attraction very easily and to spend fabulous days in our great city.
We would be very happy to welcoming you again in Nuremberg and to spoil you with the special Victoria feeling!

Best regards,
Katharina Mirsberger, associate director

BTW: Stollen is a traditional German pastry from 1730 ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location, comfort, hospitality and piece of mind all in one place!
We visited the hotel few days before Christmas and our stay was simply everything we wanted.
The first thing that won us was the location - it opens up the entire Old Town district. Everything is within a walking distance with its masterpiece - the oldest Christmas market in Europe, located right in the center of it.
It is also a minute away from the station if you would like to go to the city.
The hotel itself is very bright and clean, the rooms are spacious and very well maintained. The staff is very knowledgeable and all requests were handled swiftly and quickly.
The breakfast was very rich, the choices and variety were numerous.
The bathrooms are just a little bit too small but the overall experience was very good.
If we are to visit Nuremberg again in the future we will definitely consider hotel Victoria as our number one choice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Nikolay G,

Thank you for having taken the time to share with us your experiences during your stay at the Victoria! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great that our breakfast buffet was a pleasure for you, we are happy to serve a big fresh variety of breakfast, so you can start your day like you wish.
As our hotel is a listed building from 1896, some of our rooms are smaller than others. We are subject to many regulations concerning remodeling measures but constantly investing in renovation works in the last years and will continue in the future.
Within this projects we will also re-organize some (bath) rooms regarding storage spaces etc.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

All the best,
Katharina Mirsberger,
associate director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was expecting something great after reading all the reviews, and so chose to stay here over a half price offer from Accor for an Ibis just around the corner.

It may well be that the problems are confined to Room 343 which is at the end of the corridor unlike all the other rooms on the floor. It was also next to what seemed like a fire escape. There are 4 floors in the building so I suspect that the room directly above may be the same.

In the morning, I was awakened by what sounded like breaking glasses at around 7 am in the morning. Sometime between 7am and 8am, we stepped out for breakfast and were greeted by a pile of dirty cups just outside the door. I then saw that the Service Room was nearby and guessed it must have been convenient for housekeeping to just dump the cups outside Room 343. There were also service trolleys lined up along the corridor for each of the three mornings that I was there. A strange thing as there was no housekeeper around and I wouldn’t expect housekeeping to be done so early in the morning. When we got back from breakfast, the trolleys were still there.

The room felt rather cold throughout the night even though the radiator dials were turned to the maximum. This may be because of the location outside of the main building.

We booked the room a few weeks in advance through the hotel web site and didn’t choose the cheapest room type. So I’m not sure why we were assigned this rather oddly located one.

Female travellers should also be aware that the bathroom is quite small and there is very little space for your toiletries bag etc in the area around the sink (see photo). There is no separate dresser and the long mirror next to the door would be blocked by the luggage rack.

There is a little sign placed on the sink informing you to ask the reception if you need the amenities specified in the sign. I needed a shower cap and personally went to the reception desk to ask for one. The front desk was helpful and nice but had to spend some time digging through all sorts of odds and ends kept in a box before she managed to retrieve one. She did explain that the shower caps were out of stock as they were no longer issued in German hotels (really?) and to check in with the reception again the following day. I was surprised that they didn’t have stock of an amenity that was specifically stated in their own little sign. On Day 2, I didn’t get the shower cap even though the Day 2 receptionist told me she’d send one to my room.

There is also another little sign saying that you could request various types of pillows but given my experience with the shower cap and a very sullen receptionist on my third trip there, I thought I would just keep my requests to absolute necessities.

They also do not provide soap and shampoo (not included in the little sign) but I asked anyway, and was told by sullen receptionist to use the shower gel affixed to the wall as shampoo.

Overall impression – I agree with BobZAtlanta that this system "reeks of cheapness" and is just too blatantly cost conscious for my liking.

On the positive side, the location of the lodging is excellent, which means this would be equally so for all the other hotels in the same area. There is an underpass from the train station to each of the exits on the other side of the road so picking any other hotel in the vicinity would give you the same ease of access. The breakfast was really good as everyone else said in their reviews. At least this part came true.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 343
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gonzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, associate director at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Gonzee,

Firstly we thank you for the time you invested in writing us this detailed review.
Only with the feedback of our guests we are able to improve our services!
Of course we are not happy about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Victoria.

Please allow me to explain you some of the mentioned facts:

Our housekeeping staff commence at 7 am to be able to clean all the public areas of the hotel before starting with the guest rooms.
As every housekeeping member has its own "office" on each floor where they also change clothes, the first way in the morning is to this location.
They then start their work (preparing trolleys e.g).
We totally agree with you that the trolleys without housekeeping staff give the impression of being unorganized; especially in the condition you saw them.
Dirty cups etc. should never be placed on the corridors.
We take your hint very seriously and already talked to all relevant persons to avoid that this happens again.

We also informed the responsible heating engineer to check the radiator in room 343!

As our hotel is a listed building from 1896, some of our rooms are smaller than others.
We are subject to many regulations concerning remodeling measures but constantly invested in renovation works in the last years and will continue in the future. Within this projects we will also re-organize some (bath) rooms regarding storage spaces etc.

Environmental protection is a very important issue for us - therefore we provide high quality hair & body wash cream in dispensers in every shower cabin of the hotel. For every other amenity needed by our guests, we use the little sign you mentioned.
We are sorry that our staff could not offer you the shower cap you requested and that the ecological measures we take seemed to you as they were cost reduction actions. This is not the target we are trying to reach - we decided to avoid little bottles of shampoo, lotion, etc. as we made the experience that most of the guests only use a very little part of it and the rest has to be thrown away and results in a burden for our environment.

Please be aware that we take due account of these important concerns!

We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast!
Perhaps we get another opportunity to convince you of our Victoria service!

All the best,

Katharina Mirsberger
associate manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
611 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,424 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Melter Hotel & Apartments
Melter Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Koenigstr. 80, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $120 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your stay at the Hotel Victoria in Nuremberg in a unique central location in perfect harmony between tradition and modernity. The privately run hotel located in the historical centre of Nuremberg that translates a over 120 year old tradition into modern hospitality. Experience a whole new world of business conferences in the very inspiring surrounding of Nuremberg historical area. The combination of ideal location, exceptional atmosphere and the natural kindness of our team offers you and your guests a very particular setting for your meeting or your event in Nuremberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing