We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but...”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #4 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but...”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I loved this hotel. I was able to get a nice size room for a very reasonable price. While the outside is old world charm, the inside is modern with a big flat screen TV. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.. The breakfast was one of the best I've had while traveling in Europe. The location is perfect for getting around Nuremberg. The Tourist Office is right across the street. There are shops and restaurants nearby for all budgets.

However, the hotel is yards from the pedestrian tunnel to the main train station. While this is extremely convenient for getting around, it is also where everybody walks by after partying late at night. If you get a room facing Konigstrasse on a Saturday night, sleep is not an option.

I would still highly recommend Hotel Victoria, but ask for a room off the main street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistance at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Giddes,
Thank you so much for your kind words and your recommendation.
It makes us very happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay at the Victoria.
Our team has an eye for details and everybody takes care about each guest.
We want to make the geusts feel like at home and create a welcoming atmosphere.
Of course we have a good location directly at the entrance of the old town. And we know that sometimes it could be a bit louder in the night. Therefore we have very good sound proved windows. But if you want to open it please let us know for your next stay that you want to have a room in the back so we can allocate a room for you. Once you return back to Nuremberg we would be happy to welcome you again!
Kind regards, Anja Tiefel - Manager''s Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    263
    53
    5
    4
See reviews for
164
380
58
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level Contributor
114 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location is great, close to the main railway station, at one end of the main street with lots of shops, bars, restaurants, ... It is an easy walk to the main sites of the old city: market, churches, old buildings, castle.
Parking is available in a nearby building (+/- 100 meters) at a cost of 11 euros per day.
Staff was smiling, very friendly and helpful in providing advices to make the most of our overnight stay.
Our room was on the far end of corridors decorated with good taste. It was not too large, facing the Neues Museum square. It was quiet and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small but well designed.
Free WiFi available in the lobby. We did not try it in our room as we were told that being in a far corner it would not work properly.
Delicious and plentiful breakfast: eggs, sausages, cheese, fruits, cakes, and so on, all of good quality.
The staff's warmness combined with the hotel location are unbeatable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistance at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Chagoule,
Thank you so much for your loveley words! It is fantastic to hear that you liked your stay. We have a great team and everybody takes care about each guest who stays with us. Our guests should feel like at home and it makes us happy that we could creat such an atmosphere.
Once you are back in Nuremberg it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back!
Have a great time.
Kind regards, Anja Tiefel - Manager's Assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

OUr room has a bay window that has a fantastic view of the old City Wall. Hotel Victoria's location is most suitable for traveller by train; just right outside the train station.
Hotel staff very helpful to code with all our needs.
The last day we're in Nuremberg, my wife left her charm bracelet in the change room of a fashion shop. By the time that we found out, it's already passed opening time and we have to leave town on an early train.
The hotel staff contacted the shop on our behalf, sent a valet to pick it up and courier back to our home in Toronto Canada.
Wow, this kind of service is just outstanding; and we doulbt any 5-star hotel chain can do much better.
Hope we could drop by again in the near future. Thanks very much again.
You have made my wife a very happy person indeed!

Lawrence & Vienna Tse
Toronto Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAWRENCE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistant at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear LAWRENCE T,
Thank you for your stay at the Victoria and for the time you invetigated to write this kind words!
It was a pleasure for us to help you in that situation! We take care about every guest and want to be there for each individual person. It makes us happy to get such a feedback! Thank you so much! Once you return to Nuremberg we will be happy to welcome you back!
Best regards and a great time,
Anja Tiefel - Manager's Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was very clean, had a great shower, and the hotel staff was friendly. The location was AMAZING! The breakfast was also good. We just loved Nurnberg, and this hotel was within walking distance of the market, the main street, and the great restaurants. It was super close to the train station too. We turned in early and watched a movie on our iPad, played games, drank out of the mini bar (which was really well stocked), and it was so comfortable. There was a band in the courtyard outside, but they stopped playing by 10:00. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistant at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Erica C,
Thank you for your stay with us and for the kind words and the recommendation.
We really enjoy to hear such compliments and we are happy that you had a great stay at the Hotel Victoria. Specially our breakfast team has always new ideas to offer each day a good variety in healthy food and they are always doing their best to bring our guest a lovely start into the day. Once you return back to Nuremberg we would be happy to welcome you back!
Kind regards, Anja Tiefel - Manager's Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is close to the main station. It make me to travel easily with heavy luggage. Hotel room is comfortable and has good view to main station and tower. Breakfast is good and staff is nice and willing to help us for all question/ request.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yihsiang86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistance at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Yihsiang86,
Thank you for your stay in the Hotel Victoria. It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you.
We do always our best to offer a great service. Our breakfast team has so often new ideas to make the buffett even more special and the reception members do their best to describe everything about Nuremberg. If you want to return back to Nuremberg and to us we look forward to welcome you back! Kind regards, Anja Tiefel - Manager's Assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was touring through Germany on my way to a conference in Italy. I picked Nuremberg as one of my overnite stops, mostly because I wanted to see the courtroom where the War Crimes Trial was held and the Nazi Parade Grounds.

I couldn't have picked a better place to overnight. When I got off the train, I asked the info desk at the station the directions to the Hotel Victoria. The girl said to go out the door and across the street. There it was. Too convenient.

The hotel is very nice. The room was a fair size for a single, as European hotel rooms go. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. And I had one of those large square pillows. Since I was there one night, it was OK.

There is free wifi in the lobby that has great speed, as free wifis go.

Jenny and Bianca at the desk were very helpful. They helped me get to my local sites easily. They were extra nice.

The breakfast was traditional European. Lots of food. Very good.

The only downside: the room had one of those tiny showers. You know, the one where you can't bend over to wash your feet. But that's European showers for ya.

Overall, an excellent pick for my stop.

Room Tip: My room was in the front of the hotel. There happened to be a football game that night. I think so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeepaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistant at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear GeepaUSA ,
It is very nice to get such a kind feedback. Thank you for the time you have taken for all the details. If you want to visit us in the future we offer different pillows mabe you want to choose another one. Also we have different room categories. For example all our Relax Rooms have a bath in the bathroom and the Comfort Rooms offer more space. So we want to offer for each guest with his own wishes a service which is as individual as possible. We look forward to welcome you again in the case you want to come back to Nuremberg.
Best regards, Anja Tiefel - Managers's Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I can recommend this hotel to any visitor to the city, may it be for work or vacation. Nice location, nice rooms , friendly staff, nice breakfast. Only downside maybe if you travel by car regarding the parking space. It's ca 200m away from hotel and costs extra 11€ per day. Room rates are very different depending on the travel dates and if there is a fair goin on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangkut1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic1896, Manager's Assistant at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Mangkut1970,

Thank you for visiting us and for the time you spent to write this postive feedback.
It is nice to hear that you like the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. It is true it is not easy to offer a car park in the middle of the Center of Nuremberg. However we are happy that we have the possibility to offer a carpark in a walking distance from about 100 meters.
We do our best to offer an idividual service and take care about everyone who stays with us.
Once you return to Nuremberg we look forward to welcome you back!
Kind regards,
Anja Tiefel - Managers's Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
577 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
510 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Hotel FIVE
Hotel FIVE
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Koenigstr. 80, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#2 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your stay at the Hotel Victoria in Nuremberg 
in a unique central location in perfect harmony
 between tradition and modernity. The privately run hotel located in the historical centre of Nuremberg that translates a 100 year old tradition into modern hospitality. Experience a whole new world of business conferences in the very inspiring surrounding of Nuremberg historical area. The combination of ideal location, exceptional atmosphere and the natural kindness of our team offers you and your guests a very particular setting for your meeting or your event in Nuremberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing