We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #31 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel is ideally located downtown, around 20minutes from the airport and across the road from the train station. I was upgraded to a suite. Checkin was smooth, check out took a little longer with some mistakes on the bill. The receptionist kindly invited me to have a coffee "on the house" while she sorted out the paper work and came back within 10 minutes. I chose the hotel after noosing at the SPG website which mainly showed a renovated hotel. My room wasn't, not sure if it's an exception. The hotel should be more realistic with the pictures they put on the SPG website and the reality. Nevertheless it was a very confortable stay.. Services efficient. Bed was a little tired and bumpy but acceptable (though usually in Meridiens: beds are amazing). Breakfast offers a wide selection of foods. Internet reception in my room was bad, had to connect via the cable in the room

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Mallory M
thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you appreciate our central location. a part from 3 rooms and 2 suites, all remaining 187 bedrooms were renovated in 2009. The 5 rooms mentioned will follow next next. My apologies for the bad internet connection, we are working on this and we will upgrade our system.
My team and O hope that will stay with us again once you are in town and remain,
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I am a little spoiled and so I always find something to picker on when I stay somewhere but I could not here....service was awesome ... food was great ....room was comfortable. ..room service was fast and not too expensive. ..maybe softer pillows would be a good idea

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank nonameavailablehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear nonameavailablehere
since you always pick on something, my team and I take it as a real great compliment, thank you for your review and your nice comments. Next time you stay with us, please ask for soft pillows and we will provide them for you.
All the best
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Conveniently located right opposite the Nurnberg Station. Very easy access to local transportation. I stayed 1 night on June 22 for a bbusiness conference and was impressed with the room and the Hotel facilities. It is an excellent choice even for leisure travellers due to the proximity to station. Breakfast was really good and Internet speed was excellent. Beds where very comfortable. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Sachin1375
thank you for your review and recommending us to others. It is nice to read that you valued our location so much and that you liked the services on offer.
My team and I are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had to travel to Nuremberg recently for business. Not familiar with the city, I checked a few websites for hotel recommendations. The only hotel name that popped out was Le Meridien. I have had several good experiences at Le Meridien hotels (Barcelona, NY), so thought it would be a safe bet. I was wrong.

When we checked in, we could tell that at one time, this had been a beautiful old hotel. But it was also clear that its time had passed. The renovations to the grand old marble lobby appeared to have been done in the style of 1981. And it did not get any better in the rooms.

Our rooms had wonderfully tall ceilings, but that was the extent of its positive attributes. The furniture and carpet were pretty bad. The carpet was in shades of brown and black and designed to look like a globe. The effect was pretty horrendous. The furniture was clearly cheap and already showing its age; the same was true of the closet fittings. The bathroom seemed to be original (shades of pink with black accent tiles), but on closer inspection, the tiles looked new. Not sure why anyone would choose that combination in this day and age. And the size and layout made it terribly inconvenient. You could not turn the shower on without getting soaked. There was no place, except the top of the toilet and a small glass shelf above the sink, to put your toiletries.

The room service menu was so limited and unappetizing that I chose to forego dinner rather than order something.

Everyone was nice. The service we did request seemed efficient. And I cannot blame the employees for the style of the rooms.

The only benefit was the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYBizTraveler11612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear NYBizTraveler11612

I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and that the design of the hotel lobby, rooms, carpet and the bathroom did not match your taste.
I passed on your comments regarding the offerings from our room service menue to our F&B Manager and our Headchef and we will make changes in due course. It is nice to read that
that you liked the service and the price on offer.
My team and I still hope that you will return to us again once you are in town and remain, yours sincerely, Jürgen Sziegoleit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location was excellent! Right outside the old city and across from the train station. We had a room facing the inside courtyard and appreciated the quietness. The staff were wonderful and the hotel spotless. Sadly the hotel charges outrageous prices for Wifi and very expensive meals. Better to eat across the street (2 minutes) in the old city. Unfortunately we stayed during a heat wave and typical for European standards, the air conditioning was lacking. Otherwise a great stay and the hotel met all of our needs!

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Jennine55,
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your compliments about our staff and the hotel. As you mentioned we did experience an unusual heat wave with more than 35°C in the beginning of June and unfortunately our AC system is not adapted to such high temperatures. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and we hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was perfect for so many reasons. It is directly across from the train station. The room was large and very nicely furnished. The staff could not have been more helpful in all aspects of our stay. It is literally a block from the entrance to the "Old" historic Nuremberg. We stayed 3 days and explored the entire town. Staying at this hotel made it possible to walk everywhere including the Imperial Castle. The street musicians alone the walk were fantastic. We had some great meals in the town and always returned to have a late night cocktail in the hotels cozy corner bar. It was a wonderful way to cap off the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan4judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Fan4judge,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and will definitely pass them on to them.
We would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We were absolutely surprised by this Le Meridien, as it seem to be the odd cousin who doesn't belong.

Housekeeping staff barge into our room with her own key while we are inside. We specifically asked her to wait outside and was on the way to getting the door. But I guess that wasn't necessary as she has the key to our room.

We also found a dirty towel with gray spots in the bathroom among the change of new, supposedly clean towels.

And room service was absolutely horrible. We ordered a tomato sauce spaghetti which only tasted of salt. The staff was nice enough to hear our complaint and change it for us. Only that the second plate was watery, almost like they just decided to add water to tone down the saltiness. I hardly touched the spaghetti, barely ate dinner and paid the bills.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisor987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela W, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Advisor987654321,
We are very sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience in our hotel and we would like to sincerely apologize for that. You may be certain that this is not the common standard of our hotel. We have informed the responsible staff in Housekeeping and Room Service about the incidents to make sure that they will not recur.
We would really like to convince you that we can do better if you are willing to give us a second chance in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Daniela Wurm
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
939 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#3 of 126 in Nuremberg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,406 reviews
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#21 of 126 in Nuremberg
176 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $119 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing