We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“uninviting decor in room with missing features; ordinary breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #24 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“uninviting decor in room with missing features; ordinary breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Le Méridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg in a grand deluxe king room for two nights in early December and found the hotel’s ambiance and accommodation quality less than inspiring. On the positive side, the personnel at the front desk were excellent, and the location is excellent: right at the Frauentor and a long segment of the city walls, it offers easy access to the Tourist Info office, the main train and U-Bahn stations, the pedestrian shopping and restaurant area that leads to the Lorenzer Platz.

The rooms have been recently redecorated in a dull palate of gray and gold. The pictures on the website make them seem more inviting than the reality, which is cold and uninviting rather than clean and contemporary. The furniture is sparse, the reading chairs are uncomfortable, the closet and drawer space (in the bottom of the closet only) is barely adequate. Our room lacked the upholstered bench at the foot of the bed, pictured in the web photos. This would have been very useful for holding a suitcase. The bathroom is cramped, and the area for toiletries is too small.

The hotel is not a very good value. We were perhaps overly sensitive to this because we arrived just after five nights in Berlin’s Hotel Adlon, at 250 Euros/night including sumptuous breakfast buffet and free WiFi. At the Grand, we paid 249 Euros (advance, non-refundable) for the room alone, plus 22 Euros per person per day for the breakfast buffet and 19 Euros for WiFi per day, for one device!

The breakfast buffet was large but ordinary, with the exception that the selection of local cold sausages, cured meats and various pickled vegetables was quite nice. The breakfast room is noisy and in early December filled with noisy groups of women tourists in Nuremberg for the holiday markets. The tables were not cleared promptly by the overwhelmed waitstaff, and it was difficult to get anyone’s attention to obtain coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear GHgrrl
Thank you for the time to review your stay in the Grand Hotel. As you may know, the Grand Hotel belongs to the Le Meridien Brand, one out of nine Brands Starwood operates. Le Meridien stands for chic, cultured and discovery, all what we offer. Unfortunately you do not like the design of the hotel, others do, so I only can say that it is not your taste. You visited the hotel during the Xmas market, our prime time and all other hotels, such as ours, are nearly full every day and in the morning it is very busy for breakfast, so there is not a lot we can do about it. I appreciate that you liked the associates, the location and parts of our breakfast buffet. Wishing you all the best for 2013.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    386
    164
    32
    33
See reviews for
141
356
100
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orry-la-Ville, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

this 4* hotel is very well situated : just in front of the main railway station of Nuremberg, if you arrive by train, you don't need a taxi, just to cross the place of the railway station. The hotel is nice, well furnished. my room was a bit small and the view into the inside of the hotel was not nice and sometimes with some rumors. the service and the people at reception are exceptionnaly kind with you. The restaurant is also top, with good wines, a bit expansive but high level. The dear steak for example is excellent, the oysters as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eisenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear eisenstein
Thank you for your review and the nice comments about our associates and the restaurant which you rate so high. The iiner court yards are on the agenda to be renovated in not too far distance. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager

t
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fantastic location, opposite the main train station and right at the entrance of old town Nuremberg. During Christmas, the Christkindle markets are a 5min stroll from the hotel through old town. There are many eating options outside of the restaurant, including bars for cheap drinks and also an Aldi supermarket just down the road.

We booked a deluxe room and were put on the 4th floor, facing the train station and right next to the lift that went down to the sauna level. The room was tiny, and the bathroom was pretty compact too. They do use the small space well but it was a lot smaller than what I was expecting. The room was noisy due to the traffic. The closed windows and curtains drawn do block out some of the noise but not entirely. The constant sirens did keep me awake the first night.

The television in the room did not move and we needed to plug in our laptop for work purposes. After speaking to front desk they advised they would see if we could be moved in the morning. The next morning they moved us to a room where the television moved and the difference in the room was amazing! The new room, same room category we were advised, was at the end of the hall on the 4th floor.

We opened the room door and there was a hallway approx. 8 - 10meters leading into the room. The room itself was spacious with a quiet courtyard view. The bathroom in the new room was huge, with a lovely bathtub and stunning layout. It was just worlds apart from the first room we were put in?

We ate at the restaurant for lunch one day and it was very nice. At this time there was only us and 1 other table so it was a lovely, quiet and romantic lunch. We had the lunch special menu which I thought was fantastic value for the quality of food and the atmosphere.

The only real downside we found in this hotel was that, like nearly all other German hotels we have been in, you have to pay for internet and it is not cheap.
The thing that did bother me the most about this is that even in the business centre you could not access free internet.
If a hotel is going to market itself as a 4 star or above property, and charge room rates as a 5 star property then they should be offering certain services and amenities in the rate; such as, free internet!

Overall, once the change of room was made, this hotel was fabulous with a great location, friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room on a higher floor to avoid street noise such as constant sirens. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blimeytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear blimeytravelbug
thank you very much for your very detailed review. I am glad that we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our Junior suites which was fully to your liking. I also appreciate that you liked the restaurant and the food on offer and that you describe this as good value for money. With the internet there is not a lot we can do. It is company policy to charge for this service and unfortunately we receive compalints about this once in a while. My team and I would be happy to welcome you back once you are in town.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

As I travel at winter time, location is super important and it is close to the train station and the old city. The staff is kind, friendly and helpful but the rooms are quite small so if you are travelling for business this will do, otherwise check it before you book ...all in all,an old fashioned classic hotel. enjoy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Elvira V
As you mentioned rightly, the Le Meridien Grand Hotel is an old classic hotel with over 100 years of history. We do have 6 different room categories our guests can choose with various room sizes and if somebody requires a spacious room it is adviseable to check beforehand, since we are not always able to offer an upgrade. I want to thank you for review and remain.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms here are very spacious. Our family had adjoining rooms. Our daughters are (14 and 12). The rooms are very quiet even the ones on the main street. The breakfast buffet is outstanding with many choices. The hotel is a very convenient walk to old town. It is also very easy to take public transportation to the rally grounds and Courtroom 600.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear madagee
thank you for your review and your nice comments. As I can see you explored a bit of the town and you saw courtroom 600, which attract people to the city from all over the world.
Wishing you and your loved ones all the best for 2013.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vittorio Veneto, Italia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

this hotel is really good.the atmosphere takes u back to the beginning o the '900.
the rooms are big enough and really comfortable and clean. the location is perfect, close to the train station and the staff is really kind.
price is good and services as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, General Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Bigha
out hotel was built in 1897 and fortunately we kept the charme of an old traditional Grand Hotel.
A big thank you on behalf of all employees for your praise. My team and I would be happy if you would visit us again. Until then with best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of this hotel was the main draw for us since it was just across the street from the main train station and a 10 minutes' walk from the Christmas market. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful, all making for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RSSkopje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear RSSkopje
Thank you for your positive review. My team and I wish you all the best for 2013 and hope to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#32 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing